Catalog

Search our Catalog

England

What We're Reading: November, 2014

An event in autumn by Henning Mankell ; translated from the Swedish by Laurie Thompson.  Fans of Mankell's Swedish detective, Kurt Wallander, will enjoy this story set just before Wallander's final case. 

The teacher wars: a history of America's most embattled profession by Dana Goldstein.  Everyone has an opinion about America's public schools and the responsibility of its' teachers. Would you be surprised to learn teachers have been similarly embattled for nearly two centuries?

A share in death by Deborah Crombie. This is the first in Crombie's long running Duncan Kincaid/Gemma James series.  It's been on my To Read list for awhile and I thought it's time had come. Nominated for an Agatha Award.

Canton Seniors Book Group: October 23, 2014

Canton Seniors Book Groups meets Thursday, October 23 from 2:00-3:00PM in Canton Public Library's Group Study Room A.  We will be discussing JoJo Moyes' ME BEFORE YOU.  Request a copy at the Information Services Desk.

ME BEFORE YOU by JoJo Moyes.  Me Before You brings to life two people who couldn't have less in common, Louisa Clark a very ordinary girl and former Master of the Universe, Will Trevor.  It's a heartbreakingly romantic novel that asks, 'What do you do when making the person you love happy also means breaking your own heart?' .

Sleuth It: Dead and Done VII

Historical mysteries let the reader be picked up and be transported to different times and places. A good story is a painless way to get into the period, and, if it features a unsolved crime or two, give a look at history’s darker underside.

Bellfield Hall by Anna Dean

Pride and prescience, or, A truth universally acknowledged by Carrie Bebris

Mute witness by Charles O'Brien

A beautiful blue death by Charles Finch

A conspiracy of paper by David Liss

Murder Will Out May, 2014

Publishers, psychologist, police, politicians, and plants.  What do they have in common?  Murder...

A dangerous fiction: a novel by Barbara Rogan

Dante's wood: a Mark Angelotti novel by Lynne Raimondo

Dead man's time by Peter James

Deadly devotion: a novel by Sandra Orchard

Death of a chef by Alexander Campion

Murder Will Out: November 2013

If you enjoy history with your mystery or like Edward Marston's or Patricia McIntosh's mysteries, try Priscilla Royal. Fans of Joan Hess or Mary Logue will want to read Annelise Ryan's Mattie Winston series. Christopher Spielberg's The Russian Donation won Germany's Friedrich Glauser prize for best debut crime novel. Foodies should try L. J. Washburn's Fresh Baked Mystery series and for something completely different Betty Webb's features Teddy Gunter, Zookeeper at Gunn Zoo.

The sanctity of hate: a medieval mystery by Priscilla Royal

Lucky stiff by Annelise Ryan

The Russian donation by Christoph Spielberg ; translated by Gerald Chapple

Wedding cake killer: a fresh-baked mystery by Livia J. Washburn

The llama of death: a Gunn Zoo mystery by Betty Webb

Murder Will Out October 2013

Aunt Agatha's Bookstore in Ann Arbor is hosting two author events in November.

Tuesday, November 5 at 7:00 PM — Chris Grabenstein will be joining the Aunt Agatha Book Group. He'll talk about his New Jersey set series featuring John Ceepak, as well as his books for young adults. He's written two with James Patterson; two featuring Riley Mack and most recently, Escape from Mr. Lemoncello's Library.

Friday, November 8 at 2:00 PM — Julia Spencer-Fleming & Tasha Alexander will participate in Aunt Agatha's Book Group's discussion moderated by Andrew Grant. Julia has a terrific new Clare & Russ mystery and Tasha has a new Lady Emily mystery.

Sleuth It: Dead & Done VII

Historical mysteries let the reader be picked up and be transported to different times and places. A good story is a painless way to get into the period, and, if it features a unsolved crime or two, give a look at history’s darker underside.

Bellfield Hall by Anna Dean

Pride and prescience, or, A truth universally acknowledged by Carrie Bebris

Mute witness by Charles O'Brien

A beautiful blue death by Charles Finch

A conspiracy of paper by David Liss

Sleuth It! Mystery MeetUp

If you weren't able to attend Mystery MeetUp and earn your Sleuth It Badge as part of Connect Your Summer 2013, Canton Public Library's Summer Reading program for all ages, here is the list of books we talked about.

A cold day in paradise by Steve Hamilton

Iron Lake by William Kent Krueger



Blood alone by James R. Benn

As if by magic by Dolores Gordon-Smith

The hell screen by I.J. Parker

A duty to the dead by Charles Todd

Murder on Nob Hill by Shirley Tallman

Sleuth It: Dead & Done I

Historical mysteries let the reader be picked up and be transported to different times and places. A good story is a painless way to get into the period, and, if it features a unsolved crime or two, gives a look at history’s darker underside.

As if by magic by Dolores Gordon-Smith

Everybody kills somebody sometime by Robert J. Randisi

The reeve's tale by Margaret Frazer

Blood alone by James R. Benn

India Black by Carol K. Carr

Death of a chancellor: a murder mystery featuring Lord Francis Powerscourt by David Dickinson

Canton Seniors Book Discussion: August 22, 2013

Canton Seniors Book Group will meet on Thursday, August 22 from 2:00-3:00 PM in Canton Public Library's Group Study Room A. We will be discussing Kate Atkinson's Case Histories. Copies of the book are distributed at the meeting or request a copy at the Adult Help Desk. No registration required.

Case histories: a novel by Kate Atkinson

Murder Will Out

Have you ever read a book, loved it, and can't understand why no one else has read this wonderful author? Here are some of my unknowns, or little knowns, you really should try: Deborah Grabien's JP Kincaid Chronicles, Luiz Alfredo Garcia-Roza's Brazilian Inspector Espinoza, Margaret Frazer's Joliffe series is a spin-off of the Sister Frevisse stories, and fans of Stieg Larsson's books should try Ake Edwardson's Inspector Erik Winter.

Rock & roll never forgets by Deborah Grabien

The silence of the rain by Luiz Alfredo Garcia-Roza