Catalog

Search our Catalog

Veterans

Read-alikes for THE LIGHT BETWEEN OCEANS

The movie rights have been purchased for M. L. Stedman's THE LIGHT BETWEEN OCEANS.  wonderful book about a lighthouse keeper and his wife. Tom is a WW I veteran, one of the 'lucky ones', he has lost a limb nor his mind but he deliberately seeks the solitude of an island off Australia.  He meets and marries, Isabel. But times on the island are tough for Isabel as she suffers multiple miscarriages and a stillbirth in just four years time. When a boat with a dead man and a young baby washes ashore, Isabel convinces Tom to let her keep the baby as their own, but the consequences to her actions may be dire.  Similar books are:

The sandcastle girls: a novel by Chris Bohjalian

The orchardist: a novel by Amanda Coplin

The secret keeper: a novel by Kate Morton

The house I loved by Tatiana de Rosnay

Memorial Day Drive for VA Hospital

To commemorate Memorial Day, the Canton Public Library will accept donations to benefit the Veterans Hospital in Ann Arbor. The VA Hospital has requested packages of men's t-shirts and underwear, specifically in sizes XXL and larger, as well as donations of gift cards for stores like Meijer, Wal-Mart and gas stations. You may drop your donation off at the library from May 18-31. Thank you for supporting our veterans.

Canton Seniors Book Discussion August 23, 2012

Canton Seniors Book Discussion group will meet on Thursday, August 23 from 2:00-3:00 PM in Canton Public Library's Group Study Room A. This month we are reading:

One was a soldier: a Clare Fergusson/Russ van Alstyne mystery by Julia Spencer-Fleming

Memorial Day Supply Drive a Huge Success

Thanks to the generosity of our community, we were able to provide over 20 boxes of supplies and $330 in gift cards and donations for homeless veterans, collected through our Memorial Day drive. The Veterans Hospital of Ann Arbor volunteer specialist Sandy Jacobs packed her van with your donations to distribute to homeless and needy veterans in the area. Thank you for your contributions.

Book Club Choices: May 2011

Has your book group tried our Book Club in a Bag kits? Each kit has 8 books, a resource guide with book discussion questions, author information, and articles relating to the book. A complete list of kits is available at: Book Club in a Bag. To reserve a kit for your group, contact the Adult Reference Desk at (734) 397-0999.

An unfinished life [Large print kit] by Mark Spragg

Water for elephants: [kit] a novel by Sara Gruen

Last U.S. Vet­eran of World War I Laid to Rest

Arlington National CemeteryU. S. Army Corporal Frank Woodruff Buckles lived to be 110, the last of nearly 5 million U.S. veterans of a dimly remembered war — a generation now laid to rest. Buckles, who fibbed his way into the Army at 16, was a rear-echelon ambulance driver in war-ravaged France, miles behind the battlefront. (Source: Washington Post)

Canton Salutes all Service Personnel

A Salute to Service will be held on Veterans Day, Thursday November 11th at the Village Theatre. Active military personnel and veterans will be honored for their dedicated service. Doors open at 6:00PM for an exhibition of military memorabilia prior to a formal stage presentation at 7:00PM. Active duty military and veterans can also enjoy a free meal Thursday at Applebee's or Famous Dave's. Thanks for serving our country.

Traveling Museum Features WWII POWs Held in the Midwest

The popular TRACES traveling buseum makes a return trip to CPL on May 22 from 9 a.m. to noon with the story of 372,000 German POWs held in U.S. Army-operated work camps in the Midwest during World War II. Learn how these men worked alongside U.S. citizen German immigrants to build roads, harvest crops and roof barns. Some POWs returned to the Midwest after the war to live.