Catalog

Search our Catalog

Suspense

Last Chance to Nominate

Just a reminder that this coming Sunday, August 1, will mark the end of Crimespree Magazine’s nominating period for the 2010 Crimespree Awards. You are invited to choose as many as five mystery/crime novels in each of three categories:
  • Favorite Book of the Year
  • Favorite First Book of the Year
  • Best Book in an Ongoing Series
All novels must have been published in 2009.

So don’t wait. Send your nominations to jon@crimespreemag.com. Winners will be announced during opening night ceremonies at Bouchercon in San Francisco< (October 14-17).

Killer Thrillers

Vote Now! National Public Radio’s recent request that readers submit the names of what they believe are “the most pulse-quickening and suspenseful novels ever” apparently generated a list of more than 600 thrilling works. “A panel of experts then combined audience preference with their own judgment to narrow that list down to a manageable roster of some 200 favorites,” according to an NPR press release. You’re now invited to choose just 10 books from that list, with the goal being to narrow its count down to 100 titles.

Vote for your favorites. The poll will remain open until Monday, July 26, with the “100 last books standing” to be revealed on Monday, August 2. A printable list of the choices is available.

"No one seated after the film begins."

Alfred Hitchcock's Psycho premiered in theaters on June 16, 1960, fifty years ago. I still remember sitting slouched down in my seat, ready to cover my eyes. You just knew as Janet Leigh pulled into the Bates Motel something wicked was coming her way. They don't call Alfred Hitchcock the Master of Suspense for nothing! He created terror in your heart, kept you at the edge of your seat, waiting, waiting...then sent you reeling back because you didn't see that coming!

The Other Side of the Door

If you have never read a Nicci French novel, now is the time to give it a try! This husband-wife team consistently write such fantastic British suspense fiction that as soon as you read the first page, you can barely put the book down until you reach the last. In this newest novel, The Other Side of the Door, a young woman finds her summer fling boyfriend dead and proceeds to do everything that she can to hide the body and remove all traces of evidence. As the story moves quickly along, you'll find yourself thinking that you know what's happened only to reach the twists at the end of the novel that always manage to surprise. This is definitely not a book to be missed.

Best Mysteries of 2009

Janet Rudolph of Mystery Fanfare announced her picks for Best Mysteries of 2009. Her number one choice: Dog On It by Stephen Quinn.

Suspense, Mystery, Murder

Fans of Denise Mina or Minette Walters should try:

Canton Seniors Book Discussion - February 24, 2010

This month, the Canton Seniors Book Group will discuss the Everyone's Reading 2010 selection, Presumed Innocent by Scott Turow.  Copies of the book will be distributed at the January 27, 2010 meeting or can be picked up at the Canton Public Library's Adult Reference Desk after January 27th.  Participants must register with the Senior Adult Department at the Summit by calling 734-394-5485. If you have questions, contact Joyce Simowski or Elaine Skrzynski at the Canton Public Library (734-397-0999).

George Pelecanos Wins 2008 Hammett Award

The North American Branch of the Association of Crime Writers announced that The Turnaround by George Pelecanos (Little, Brown), has been named the winner of the organization's annual Hammett Prize for a work of literary excellence in the field of crime writing.

Repairman Jack

F. Paul Wilson's latest Repairman Jack book, Ground Zero, will be released this week. In his recent newsletter, Wilson described the book: "A woman has been posting anonymously on 9/11 Truther sites...you know, the folks (like Van Jones) who think the Trade Tower attack was all a government conspiracy. Well, she says they're right about the conspiracy, but it wasn't Bush or Cheney manufacturing a second Pearl Harbor to get us into Iraq...and it wasn't Big Oil...and it wasn't the New World Order… The truth is stranger, darker, and more evil than anyone can imagine. Those behind the plot will do anything to stop her. But they've made a fatal miscalculation. They don't know about Jack. ...They don't know this woman has a guardian who is armed to the teeth and can be just as cold-blooded as they. Maybe more so. Many Truths are revealed in GROUND ZERO .

Thriller/Suspense: An Audiobook Selection

Do you need something to keep your mind awake and alert during a long commute? Or perhaps a thrilling tale to make your boring household tasks go by a bit more quickly? These suspenseful audiobooks are just the thing to keep you  on the edge of your seat.

'Cool Canadian Crime'

For several months now David Cole has been interviewing Canadian writers of crime, mystery, and/or suspense for Mystery Fanfare in his column Cool Canadian Crime. Cole recently interviewed Vicki Delany, a favorite of mine. Scare the Light Away Delany's debut novel was highly acclaimed when it was published in 2005.

2009 Dagger Awards Announced

The Crime Writers Association has announced the 2009 CWA Gold Dagger Awards' shortlist.  The winners will be announced on October 21, 2009 at the SpecSavers Crime Thriller Awards in London and will be shown on ITV3 later in the month.

Murder Will Out - Agatha Christie Read-Alikes

If you like mysteries where all of the main characters are stuck in some kind of confined environment (a large, scary, old house) trying to solve some kind of crime or love the Agatha Christie novels when Poirot dramatically explains the crime's solution at the end of his books to the group of suspects, should enjoy these authors/characters:

Margery Allingham's
Albert Campion 

Carolyn Hart's Henrie O'

M. C. Beaton's Agatha Raisin 

Kerrytown BookFest 2009

The 7th Annual Kerrytown BookFest is coming to the Ann Arbor Farmer's Market on Sunday, September 13 from 11:00AM-5:00PM. Jane & Michael Stern, authors of Roadfood will speak at Noon and at 2:00PM Aunt Agatha's presents Mysteries to Cook By with JoAnna Carl, Julie Hyzy, and Miranda Bliss a.k.a. Casey Daniels. Featured guest, Jeffery Deaver will speak at 4:00PM.