Catalog

Search our Catalog

May We Suggest

May We Suggest?This blog provides customized book recommendations to our patrons. To get your own, just fill out the May We Suggest form and you can expect results within 10 days. You can also like May We Suggest on facebook.

Jesmyn Ward Winner of National Book Award

Salvage the bones: a novel by Jesmyn Ward was announced on Wednesday as the winner of the National Book Award for fiction. The novel — about a poor, rural African American family living in Mississippi and facing obstacles no less then Hurricane Katrina — was considered "a long shot, at best" to win the prestigious award according to a CNN article. Ward, herself a Katrina survivior, was surprised and delighted. Now on the radar, critics are quickly praising it as a "classical tragedy."

Smoke and Bone

Daughter of smoke & bone by Laini Taylor takes the paranormal romance genre and serves it up with a mad-cap creativity all its own. If I explained the plot it might sound ordinary: Tough as nails girl with unknown parents. Mysterious angel figure. Girl consorts with demons (or does she?). Forbidden romance ensues. But trust me, it's not ordinary. Scorpion mice, a wishmonger looking for teeth, castles inside of a cage. This is a fast paced read that is wholly original with a heroine that's easy to root for. My only complaint is that it ends just as it gets rolling, and the sequel's not out yet.

Book Club Choices: November 2011

Has your book group considered reading a book and watching the movie?

The good earth [videodisc] by A Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer Picture

The good earth [kit] by Pearl S. Buck; introduced and edited by Peter Conn

To kill a mockingbird [kit] by Harper Lee

Sew Up a Home Makeover

Sew up a home makeover : 50 simple sewing projects to transform your space by Lexie Barnes — This book not only contains a wide variety of sewing projects, it also includes important information on how to plan for a makeover. It's easy to get inspired but forget to think about the function of the space or to plan a realistic budget, and those items and more are covered here. Home makeover projects often involve not only your sewing kit, but items from your tool bench, and this book makes it easy to plan for those needs. Included are ideas for children's rooms at various ages, a craft room, as well as many a la carte projects.

Best of 2011

Lists, lists, and more lists. As 2011 draws to an end everyone seems to be creating "Best of" lists. For readers of all ages and tastes, holiday gift suggestions:

High-Impact Low-Carbon Gardening

High-impact, low-carbon gardening : 1001 ways to garden sustainably by Alice Bowe — Most of the time when I choose plants for my garden, I go by what their blooms look like, what fruit (or veg) they will bear, and how they will complement the other plants in my garden. This book looks at it from another angle: will the plant improve my garden's ecological credentials? will it help manage water? Also included here are tips for choosing sustainable materials, eliminating perennial weeds, substituting more eco-friendly alternatives for classic favorite plants, and more.

Grow Herbs

Grow herbs by Jekka McVicar — This guide to herbs has info on a lot more than just growing them. It also includes some history, basic information about what herbs are, designing an herb garden, propagation and harvesting techniques, a list of 100 top herbs for use in the kitchen,  recipes and instructions for use in cooking and throughout the home (for cleaning, remedies, relaxation, and more).

Books & Authors

Have you tried Canton Public Library's online resources to find information about books, authors, reviews and read-alikes 24/7? Our database Books & Authors is a reader’s advisory tool available to Canton Public Library users via the library's databases. Canton library cardholders can create a free account in Books & Authors to create and save reading lists, access reviews or write a review for books in the database and much more. You can browse by titles, authors and genres; plus the Who? What? When? and Where? search allows users to get really specific in terms of finding just the right read.

Murder Will Out: More Read-Alikes for Janet Evanovich

With the much anticipated movie release of Janet Evanovich's One For the Money in January, 2012 fans of Stephanie Plum may enjoy listening to these authors.

Agatha Raisin and the quiche of death [sound recording] by M.C. Beaton

Merry Wives of Maggody [sound recording] by Joan Hess

Murder on a girls' night out [sound recording] by Anne George