Catalog

Search our Catalog

May We Suggest

May We Suggest?This blog provides customized book recommendations to our patrons. To get your own, just fill out the May We Suggest form and you can expect results within 10 days. You can also like May We Suggest on facebook.

The Vegetable Gardener's Container Bible

The vegetable gardener's container bible : how to grow a bounty of food in pots, tubs, and other containers by Edward C. Smith — Do you like to grow in containers but haven't done much with vegetables before? Don't have a lot of space but still want a veggie garden? This book has lots of information about how to grow various vegetables in containers, including how to choose which plant to put in which pot, how to amend the soil for optimal veg growth and development, how to care for container gardens, managing pests and disease, what to do with your container veg gardens at the end of the season, and more.

National Chocolate Day

October 28 is National Chocolate Day so bake something special for your special someone. You'll find lots of wonderful cookbooks dedicated to chocolate at the library.

Intensely chocolate: 100 scrumptious recipes for true chocolate lovers by Carole Bloom

Chocolate epiphany: exceptional cookies, cakes, and confections for everyone by Francois Payard; with Anne E.

Do You Find School Boring?

Well then, you might try enrolling in either Master Dreadthorn's School for Wayward Villains or Blatt School for the Insanely Gifted. Granted, you must be the child of a notorious evil entity, such as Dracula, The Big Bad Wolf, or a warlock and be lacking in evil to normally qualify for entry into the former school, but heck, you could always give it a shot. "Gifted" has a lot of definitions. The deciding factor for entry into the later school is that you have the ability to invent something the headmaster might want to steal from you, thereby increasing his fame, fortune, and power — but you don't know this of course. Trust me, if you do have the opportunity to attend one of these schools, you will gain a whole new perspective on education.

Villain School : good curses evil by Stephanie S. Sanders — Join Rune, Jez, and Wolf Junior as they try to succeed at a nearly impossible Plot in order to avoid being expelled for not being bad enough.

The School for the Insanely Gifted by Dan Elish — Wild rides, literally, are in store for you with Daphna, Harkin, and Cynthia as they embark on an international search for Daphna's missing mother and prepare for the school's upcoming "Insanity Cup" competition. Don't miss this action-packed adventure fantasy. If you liked The Mysterious Benedict Society, you will love this for sure.

Fast, fun, reads, both of these weird school books are sure to please!

Pavement Chalk Artist

Pavement chalk artist : the three-dimensional drawings of Julian Beever by Julian Beever — As we enter into fall, we long for the sunny days of summer where we could hang out in the driveway and draw with chalk til our hearts content. Have no fear! You can relieve the joy of chalk art through this book. We have a copy in both Children's and Adult nonfiction, so be sure to check it out. I guarantee you will be blown away!

Knitting Vintage

Knitting vintage : 30 knitting projects inspired by period fashions by Claire Montgomerie — Many of us admire vintage styles, but it can be challenging to find actual vintage knits in good condition in the right size for a reasonable price. This book offers patterns for sweaters, hats, and other accessories in vintage styles inspired by the twenties through the eighties. It may be difficult to think of the 80s as vintage, but the Striped Mohair Sweater is not to be missed.

Book Gems: Nonfiction

On September 29, the librarians of CPL presented the hidden 'gems' in the stacks; books you might never have heard of but that you won't want to miss. In the video below, Lisa tells us about several good nonfiction titles:

Did you miss the program the first time around? Did we miss some hidden gems? Tell us if you'd like us to do this program again in the comments. Also, enjoy the full list of nonfiction books below:

Devil in the details: scenes from an obsessive girlhood by Jennifer Traig — As a teenager in California during the eighties, Traig's obsessive compulsive disorder made her disinfect everything around her. She looks back with an unflinching eye — sharing even the most painful details — but she does it with humor and compassion. If you like memoirs/essays of David Sedaris or Augusten Burroughs, or Rhoda Janzen’s Mennonite in a little black dress this is for you.


Truck: a love story
by Michael Perry — In this delightful memoir Michael Perry describes a year of his life in rural Wisconsin with the understated writing style typical of a northerner. The truck in the title is a decrepit 1951 L-120 International pickup and its history and repairs are woven in to Perry’s life as he muses on a variety of topics including: growing vegetables, writing, and falling in love. For readers of Garrison Keillor’s books or Barbara Kingsolver’s Animal, Vegetable, Miracle.

Fantasy and Supernatural

Here are some great new books if you are a fan of sci-fi, fantasy, and/or supernatural stories, especially those with a touch of romance.

The girl of fire and thorns by Rae Carson

Entwined by Heather Dixon

The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater

A Chicken in Every Yard

A chicken in every yard : the Urban Farm Store's guide to chicken keeping by Robert and Hannah Litt — The title of this book refers to the idea not that every yard must have chickens, but that every yard could. You can raise chickens virtually anywhere, and this book shows just how to do it. The authors have included a wealth of information gleaned from their own experience, including choosing the right breed, building a coop, feeding, preventing and treating diseases, recipes to use your chickens' eggs and more. They also include an all-important section on working with neighbors, family, and authorities to make your chicken-raising experience successful and positive for everyone.

What We're Reading: October 2011

The Canton Public Library staff is reading:

The dovekeepers: a novel by Alice Hoffman

The marriage plot by Jeffrey Eugenides

Motor City shakedown by D.E. Johnson

Room: a novel by Emma Donoghue