Catalog

Search our Catalog

Historical Fiction

Murder Will Out: November 2013

If you enjoy history with your mystery or like Edward Marston's or Patricia McIntosh's mysteries, try Priscilla Royal. Fans of Joan Hess or Mary Logue will want to read Annelise Ryan's Mattie Winston series. Christopher Spielberg's The Russian Donation won Germany's Friedrich Glauser prize for best debut crime novel. Foodies should try L. J. Washburn's Fresh Baked Mystery series and for something completely different Betty Webb's features Teddy Gunter, Zookeeper at Gunn Zoo.

The sanctity of hate: a medieval mystery by Priscilla Royal

Lucky stiff by Annelise Ryan

The Russian donation by Christoph Spielberg ; translated by Gerald Chapple

Wedding cake killer: a fresh-baked mystery by Livia J. Washburn

The llama of death: a Gunn Zoo mystery by Betty Webb

Canton Seniors Book Discussion Group January-June 2014

Looking for a lively book discussion? The Canton Seniors Book Discussion Group meets on the fourth Thursday of the month from 2:00-3:00PM in Group Study Room A at Canton Public Library. 

January 23              Annie's Ghosts: A Journey into a Family's Secret by Steve Luxenberg

February 27           The Closers by Michael Connelly

March 27                Detroit: An American Autopsy by Charlie LeDuff

April 24                   The Sandcastle Girls by Chris Bohjalian

May 22                     Crank by Ellen Hopkins

June 26                    The Elegance of the Hedgehog by Muriel Barbery

Canton Seniors Book Discussion: November 21, 2013

Canton Seniors Book Discussion group will meet on Thursday, November 21 at 2:00-3:00 PM in Group Study Room A. (Note: We are meeting 1 week earlier. The library will be closed on Thanksgiving Day, November 28.) Copies of the book are distributed at the meeting or request a copy at the Adult Help Desk. No registration required. This month we are discussing:

The Paris wife: a novel by Paula McLain.  Portrays the love affair and marriage between Ernest Hemingway and Hadley Mowrer from their Chicago meeting in 1920 to their lives during the Jazz Age in Paris, but as Ernest struggles to find his literary voice, Hadley tries to define her role in their relationship as wife, friend, and muse

Sleuth It: Dead & Done IX

Historical mysteries let the reader be picked up and be transported to different times and places. A good story is a painless way to get into the period, and, if it features a unsolved crime or two, give a look at history’s darker underside.

The empty mirror: a Viennese mystery by J. Sydney Jones

Hangman blind by Cassandra Clark

Some danger involved: a novel by Will Thomas

Murder on Astor Place by Victoria Thompson

The janissary tree by Jason Goodwin

Sleuth It: Dead & Done VIII

Historical mysteries let the reader be picked up and be transported to different times and places. A good story is a painless way to get into the period, and, if it features a unsolved crime or two, give a look at history’s darker underside.

Sweet poison by David Roberts

Christine Falls: a novel by Benjamin Black

The day the music died: a mystery by Ed Gorman

The hell screen by I.J. Parker

Shadow trade by Alan Furst

Sleuth It: Dead & Done VII

Historical mysteries let the reader be picked up and be transported to different times and places. A good story is a painless way to get into the period, and, if it features a unsolved crime or two, give a look at history’s darker underside.

Bellfield Hall by Anna Dean

Pride and prescience, or, A truth universally acknowledged by Carrie Bebris

Mute witness by Charles O'Brien

A beautiful blue death by Charles Finch

A conspiracy of paper by David Liss

Sleuth It! Mystery MeetUp

If you weren't able to attend Mystery MeetUp and earn your Sleuth It Badge as part of Connect Your Summer 2013, Canton Public Library's Summer Reading program for all ages, here is the list of books we talked about.

A cold day in paradise by Steve Hamilton

Iron Lake by William Kent Krueger



Blood alone by James R. Benn

As if by magic by Dolores Gordon-Smith

The hell screen by I.J. Parker

A duty to the dead by Charles Todd

Murder on Nob Hill by Shirley Tallman

Sleuth It: Mystery MeetUp

Are you a fan of mystery/suspense novels? Interested in sharing some of your favorite authors with other Mystery fans? Maybe it’s time to try a new mystery writer and you're looking for suggestions? Join us as we talk books on Saturday, July 27 from 2:00-3:00PM in Canton Public Library's Purple Room.

Sleuth It: Dead & Done VI

Historical mysteries let the reader be picked up and be transported to different times and places. A good story is a painless way to get into the period, and, if it features a unsolved crime or two, give a look at history’s darker underside.

The queen's head by Edward Marston

One corpse too many by Ellis Peters

Veil of lies: a medieval noir by Jeri Westerson

Wine of violence by Priscilla Royal

Death comes as epiphany by Sharan Newman

Sleuth It: Dead & Done V

Historical mysteries let the reader be picked up and be transported to different times and places. A good story is a painless way to get into the period, and, if it features a unsolved crime or two, give a look at history’s darker underside.

Silver lies by Ann Parker

Walking the perfect square: a novel by Reed Farrel Coleman

Jane and the unpleasantness at Scargrave Manor by Stephanie Barron

A plague on both your houses by Susanna Gregory

Maisie Dobbs by Jacqueline Winspear

Sleuth It: Dead and Done IV

Historical mysteries let the reader be picked up and be transported to different times and places. A good story is a painless way to get into the period, and, if it features a unsolved crime or two, give a look at history’s darker underside.

The Germanicus mosaic by Rosemary Rowe

Mark of the lion by Suzanne M. Arruda

One for sorrow by Mary Reed & Eric Mayer

Some welcome home: an Elizabeth Pepperhawk/Avivah Rosen mystery by Sharon Wildwind

Callander Square: a Charlotte and Thomas Pitt novel by Anne Perry

Look What's In Large Print July 2013

In celebration of our nation's 237th birthday and the 150th anniversary of the Battle at Gettysburg...

American creation [Large print]: triumphs and tragedies at the founding of the Republic by Joseph J. Ellis

Benjamin Franklin [large print] by Edmund S. Morgan

Bunker Hill [large print]: a city, a siege, a revolution by Nathaniel Philbrick

The killer angels [Large print] by Michael Shaara

Samuel Adams [Large print]: a life by Ira Stoll

Sleuth It: Dead & Done III

Historical mysteries let the reader be picked up and be transported to different times and places. A good story is a painless way to get into the period, and, if it features a unsolved crime or two, give a look at history’s darker underside.

Thirteenth night: a medieval mystery by Alan Gordon

The Bughouse affair: a Carpenter and Quincannon mystery by Marcia Muller, Bill Pronzini

What angels fear by C.S. Harris

The inspector and Mrs. Jeffries by Emily Brightwell

Venus in copper by Lindsey Davis

Sleuth It: Dead & Done II

Historical mysteries let the reader be picked up and be transported to different times and places. A good story is a painless way to get into the period, and, if it features a unsolved crime or two, give a look at history’s darker underside.

A free man of color by Barbara Hambly

A test of wills by Charles Todd

Crocodile on the sandbank by Elizabeth Peters

Hawkwood: a Regency crime thriller by James McGee

Murphy's law: a Molly Murphy mystery by Rhys Bowen

Upper Peninsula Fiction

Cold: a novel by John Smolens


North of nowhere: an Alex McKnight mystery by Steve Hamilton


Anatomy of a murder by Traver, Robert, 1903-


Returning to earth by Jim Harrison


Without a trace by Colleen Coble


Ursula, under: a novel by Ingrid Hill


Red jacket: a Lute Bapcat mystery by Joseph Heywood


A cold day in paradise by Steve Hamilton

Sleuth It: Dead & Done I

Historical mysteries let the reader be picked up and be transported to different times and places. A good story is a painless way to get into the period, and, if it features a unsolved crime or two, gives a look at history’s darker underside.

As if by magic by Dolores Gordon-Smith

Everybody kills somebody sometime by Robert J. Randisi

The reeve's tale by Margaret Frazer

Blood alone by James R. Benn

India Black by Carol K. Carr

Death of a chancellor: a murder mystery featuring Lord Francis Powerscourt by David Dickinson

If You Like Historical Fiction...

If you like your history fictionalized may we suggest...

At the king's command by Susan Wiggs

Caleb's crossing by Geraldine Brooks

Doc: a novel by Mary Doria Russell

A fierce radiance: a novel by Lauren Belfer

Luncheon of the boating party by Susan Vreeland

The Paris wife: a novel by Paula McLain

The shadow of the wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafón ; translated by Lucia Graves