Catalog

Search our Catalog

Historical Fiction

Suggested Reads for Tenth Grade

Here are some suggested reads for tenth grade, with fiction, historical fiction, graphic novels and everything in between. make sure to also check out our other high school lists!

Fiction

The story of Owen: dragon slayer of Trondheim by E. K. Johnston

The midnight dress by Karen Foxlee

The summer prince by Alaya Dawn Johnson

If I ever get out of here: a novel with paintings by Eric Gansworth

Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

Historical Fiction

Code name Verity by Elizabeth Wein

Suggested Reads for 9th Grade

There are a ton of great books for ninth grade readers; here are a few from the last several years that really stand out.

Fiction

Dodger by Terry Pratchett


Killer of enemies by Joseph Bruchac


A brief history of Montmaray by Michelle Cooper


The fault in our stars by John Green


Reality Boy by a novel by A.S. King

Nonfiction

Popular a memoir: Vintage wisdom for a modern geek by Maya Van Wagenen

Hole in my life by Jack Gantos

Suggested Reads for 8th Grade

There are so many great books out there for eight graders! Below are some particularly good ones from recent years, spanning fiction, nonfiction, graphic novels, and everything in between.

Fiction

The earth, my butt, and other big, round things by Carolyn Mackler

Far far away by Tom McNeal, a sinister take on Hansel and Gretel


Akata witch by Nnedi Okorafor, essentially Harry Potter set in Nigeria

Eat, brains, love by Jeff Hart


Graceling by Kristin Cashore

Historical Fiction

How I became a ghost: a Choctaw trail of tears story by Tim Tingle

Nonfiction

Canton Seniors Book Discussion: September 25, 2014

Canton Seniors Book Group will meet on Thursday, September 25 from 2:00-3:00PM in Canton Public Library's Group Study Room A.  We will be discussing Mark Zusak THE BOOK THIEF.  Copies of the book can be requested at the Information Services Desk.

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak.  1939. Nazi Germany. Death has never been busier and is going to become even more so.  Orphaned Liesel Meminger is living outside of Munich, scratching out a meager existence for herself by stealing when she encounters something she can't resist-books. With the help of her accordion-playing foster father, Liesel learns to read and shares her stolen books with her neighbors during bombing raids as well as with the Jewish man hidden in her basement.

Read-alikes for THE LIGHT BETWEEN OCEANS

The movie rights have been purchased for M. L. Stedman's THE LIGHT BETWEEN OCEANS.  wonderful book about a lighthouse keeper and his wife. Tom is a WW I veteran, one of the 'lucky ones', he has lost a limb nor his mind but he deliberately seeks the solitude of an island off Australia.  He meets and marries, Isabel. But times on the island are tough for Isabel as she suffers multiple miscarriages and a stillbirth in just four years time. When a boat with a dead man and a young baby washes ashore, Isabel convinces Tom to let her keep the baby as their own, but the consequences to her actions may be dire.  Similar books are:

The sandcastle girls: a novel by Chris Bohjalian

The orchardist: a novel by Amanda Coplin

The secret keeper: a novel by Kate Morton

The house I loved by Tatiana de Rosnay

Savvy Seniors

Wayne County Regional Library for the Blind and Physically Handicapped's Brown Bag Book Club will meet Tuesday, August 12, Noon to 2 PM.

This month they are discussing The Chaperone by Laura Moriarty and Orange is the New Black by Piper Kerman.

 Coffee will be served. Please bring your own lunch. Meetings are typically held on the second Tuesday of each month at the Library for the Blind, 30555 Michigan Avenue in Westland.

Murder Will Out: July 2014

Carol Carr's India Black,  Lyndsay Faye's Timothy Wilde, and Karen Keskinen's Jaymie Zarling are back. Reed Farrell Coleman is wrapping up Moe Praeger's stories so this book is a flashback to Moe's first detecting job. Looking for something new, try Ian Hamilton's or Ingrid Thoft's debut novels.


Black current by Karen Keskinen


India Black and the Shadows of Anarchy by Carol K. Carr

Seven for a secret by Lyndsay Faye

Onion Street: a Moe Prager mystery by Reed Farrel Coleman

The wild beasts of Wuhan: an Ava Lee novel by Ian Hamilton

Loyalty by Ingrid Thoft

Murder Will Out: January 2014

This month introduces four new authors to Canton Public Library's Mystery shelves and the latest in James Benn's World War II series featuring Billy Boyle, attaché to General Dwight D. Eisenhower.

Anonymous sources by Mary Louise Kelly

The abomination: a novel by Jonathan Holt

The Andalucian friend: a novel by Alexander Söderberg

Aunty Lee's delights by Ovidia Yu

A blind goddess by James R. Benn

Sleuth It: Dead and Done VII

Historical mysteries let the reader be picked up and be transported to different times and places. A good story is a painless way to get into the period, and, if it features a unsolved crime or two, give a look at history’s darker underside.

Bellfield Hall by Anna Dean

Pride and prescience, or, A truth universally acknowledged by Carrie Bebris

Mute witness by Charles O'Brien

A beautiful blue death by Charles Finch

A conspiracy of paper by David Liss

Sleuth It: Dead and Done VIII

Historical mysteries let the reader be picked up and be transported to different times and places. A good story is a painless way to get into the period, and, if it features a unsolved crime or two, give a look at history’s darker underside.

Sweet poison by David Roberts

Christine Falls: a novel by Benjamin Black

The day the music died: a mystery by Ed Gorman

The hell screen by I.J. Parker

Shadow trade by Alan Furst

Sleuth It: Dead and Done IX

Historical mysteries let the reader be picked up and be transported to different times and places. A good story is a painless way to get into the period, and, if it features a unsolved crime or two, give a look at history’s darker underside.

The empty mirror: a Viennese mystery by J. Sydney Jones

Hangman blind by Cassandra Clark

Some danger involved: a novel by Will Thomas

Murder on Astor Place by Victoria Thompson

The janissary tree by Jason Goodwin

Look What's In Large Print: Suspense

If you enjoy the novels of Lee Child, David Baldacci, James Lee Burke, Joseph Finder, or Vince Flynn and like the readability of Large Print try...

Buried secrets [Large print] by Joseph Finder

The innocent [Large print] by David Baldacci

American assassin [Large print] by Vince Flynn

Alibi [Large print] by Joseph Kanon

Hot pursuit [Large print] by Suzanne Brockmann

The third bullet [Large print]: a Bob Lee Swagger novel by Stephen Hunter

Sleuth It: Dead and Done II

Historical mysteries let the reader be picked up and be transported to different times and places. A good story is a painless way to get into the period, and, if it features a unsolved crime or two, give a look at history’s darker underside.

A free man of color by Barbara Hambly

A test of wills by Charles Todd

Crocodile on the sandbank by Elizabeth Peters

Hawkwood: a Regency crime thriller by James McGee

Murphy's law: a Molly Murphy mystery by Rhys Bowen

Sleuth It: Dead and Done IV

Historical mysteries let the reader be picked up and be transported to different times and places. A good story is a painless way to get into the period, and, if it features a unsolved crime or two, give a look at history’s darker underside.

The Germanicus mosaic by Rosemary Rowe

Mark of the lion by Suzanne M. Arruda

One for sorrow by Mary Reed & Eric Mayer

Some welcome home: an Elizabeth Pepperhawk/Avivah Rosen mystery by Sharon Wildwind

Callander Square: a Charlotte and Thomas Pitt novel by Anne Perry

Sleuth It: Dead and Done V

Historical mysteries let the reader be picked up and be transported to different times and places. A good story is a painless way to get into the period, and, if it features a unsolved crime or two, give a look at history’s darker underside.

Silver lies by Ann Parker

Walking the perfect square: a novel by Reed Farrel Coleman

Jane and the unpleasantness at Scargrave Manor by Stephanie Barron

A plague on both your houses by Susanna Gregory

Maisie Dobbs by Jacqueline Winspear

Sleuth It: Dead and Done VI

Historical mysteries let the reader be picked up and be transported to different times and places. A good story is a painless way to get into the period, and, if it features a unsolved crime or two, give a look at history’s darker underside.

The queen's head by Edward Marston

One corpse too many by Ellis Peters

Veil of lies: a medieval noir by Jeri Westerson

Wine of violence by Priscilla Royal

Death comes as epiphany by Sharan Newman

Sleuth It: Mystery Meet Up

Here is a list of books discussed at the Mystery Meet-Up Connect Your Summer 2013, which was part of the 2013 Canton Public Library's Summer Reading Program for all ages.

A cold day in paradise by Steve Hamilton

Iron Lake by William Kent Krueger



Blood alone by James R. Benn

As if by magic by Dolores Gordon-Smith

The hell screen by I.J. Parker

A duty to the dead by Charles Todd

Murder on Nob Hill by Shirley Tallman