Catalog

Search our Catalog

Historical Fiction

Canton Seniors Book Discussion: January - June 2015

The Canton Seniors Book Discussion Group meets on the fourth Thursday of the month from 2:00PM-3:00PM in Canton Public Library's Group Study Room A.  Over the next six months we will be discussing a variety of fiction and non-fiction titles.

January 22   Canada by Richard Ford

February 26   90 Minutes in Heaven: a True Story of Life and Death by Don Piper with Cecil Murphey

March 26   The Sea by John Banville

April 23    Sight Reading by Daphne Kalotay


June 25   The Paris Architect by Charles Belfoure

Murder Will Out: Award Winners 2014

Looking for a good read?  Check out some of this year's award winning Mystery titles for best book.

Edgar A. Poe Award for Best Novel, Anthony Award for Best Mystery Novel, Dilys Award, Barry Award Best Novel, The Squid, The Macavity Award Best Novel

Ordinary grace: a novel by William Kent Krueger.   Best known for his Conor O'Cork series, Mr. Krueger's stand-alone novel about a young woman's murder and its' impact on family, friends, and community garnered six awards this year.







Nero Wolf Award for Best American Mystery

Murder as a fine art by David Morrell


Agatha Christie Award for Best Historical Mystery

A question of honor by Charles Todd.  


Shamus Award Best P. I. Paperback Original (Private Eye Writers of America)

P. D. James, crime novelist, dies at age 94

Phyllis Dorothy James, Baroness James of Holland Park, OBE, FRSA, FRSL, known as P. D. James, an English crime writer. died Thursday, November 27, 2014 at the age of 94.  The creator of Commander Adam Dalgliesh of Scotland Yard, James has won a Macavity for A TASTE FOR DEATH, the Edgar Grand Master Award, the Cartier Diamond Dagger and an Anthony Award for TALKING ABOUT DETECTIVE FICTION. PBS Masterpiece Mystery recently broadcasted DEATH COMES TO PEMBERLEY, James latest series featuring Jane Austen's well known PRIDE AND PREJUDICE characters,  Elizabeth Bennett and Fitzwilliam Darcy .

Suggested Reads for Tenth Grade

Here are some suggested reads for tenth grade, with fiction, historical fiction, graphic novels and everything in between. make sure to also check out our other high school lists!

Fiction

The story of Owen: dragon slayer of Trondheim by E. K. Johnston

The midnight dress by Karen Foxlee

The summer prince by Alaya Dawn Johnson

If I ever get out of here: a novel with paintings by Eric Gansworth

Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

Historical Fiction

Code name Verity by Elizabeth Wein

Suggested Reads for 9th Grade

There are a ton of great books for ninth grade readers; here are a few from the last several years that really stand out.

Fiction

Dodger by Terry Pratchett


Killer of enemies by Joseph Bruchac


A brief history of Montmaray by Michelle Cooper


The fault in our stars by John Green


Reality Boy by a novel by A.S. King

Nonfiction

Popular a memoir: Vintage wisdom for a modern geek by Maya Van Wagenen

Hole in my life by Jack Gantos

Suggested Reads for 8th Grade

There are so many great books out there for eight graders! Below are some particularly good ones from recent years, spanning fiction, nonfiction, graphic novels, and everything in between.

Fiction

The earth, my butt, and other big, round things by Carolyn Mackler

Far far away by Tom McNeal, a sinister take on Hansel and Gretel


Akata witch by Nnedi Okorafor, essentially Harry Potter set in Nigeria

Eat, brains, love by Jeff Hart


Graceling by Kristin Cashore

Historical Fiction

How I became a ghost: a Choctaw trail of tears story by Tim Tingle

Nonfiction

Canton Seniors Book Discussion: September 25, 2014

Canton Seniors Book Group will meet on Thursday, September 25 from 2:00-3:00PM in Canton Public Library's Group Study Room A.  We will be discussing Mark Zusak THE BOOK THIEF.  Copies of the book can be requested at the Information Services Desk.

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak.  1939. Nazi Germany. Death has never been busier and is going to become even more so.  Orphaned Liesel Meminger is living outside of Munich, scratching out a meager existence for herself by stealing when she encounters something she can't resist-books. With the help of her accordion-playing foster father, Liesel learns to read and shares her stolen books with her neighbors during bombing raids as well as with the Jewish man hidden in her basement.

Read-alikes for THE LIGHT BETWEEN OCEANS

The movie rights have been purchased for M. L. Stedman's THE LIGHT BETWEEN OCEANS.  wonderful book about a lighthouse keeper and his wife. Tom is a WW I veteran, one of the 'lucky ones', he has lost a limb nor his mind but he deliberately seeks the solitude of an island off Australia.  He meets and marries, Isabel. But times on the island are tough for Isabel as she suffers multiple miscarriages and a stillbirth in just four years time. When a boat with a dead man and a young baby washes ashore, Isabel convinces Tom to let her keep the baby as their own, but the consequences to her actions may be dire.  Similar books are:

The sandcastle girls: a novel by Chris Bohjalian

The orchardist: a novel by Amanda Coplin

The secret keeper: a novel by Kate Morton

The house I loved by Tatiana de Rosnay

Savvy Seniors

Wayne County Regional Library for the Blind and Physically Handicapped's Brown Bag Book Club will meet Tuesday, August 12, Noon to 2 PM.

This month they are discussing The Chaperone by Laura Moriarty and Orange is the New Black by Piper Kerman.

 Coffee will be served. Please bring your own lunch. Meetings are typically held on the second Tuesday of each month at the Library for the Blind, 30555 Michigan Avenue in Westland.

Murder Will Out: July 2014

Carol Carr's India Black,  Lyndsay Faye's Timothy Wilde, and Karen Keskinen's Jaymie Zarling are back. Reed Farrell Coleman is wrapping up Moe Praeger's stories so this book is a flashback to Moe's first detecting job. Looking for something new, try Ian Hamilton's or Ingrid Thoft's debut novels.


Black current by Karen Keskinen


India Black and the Shadows of Anarchy by Carol K. Carr

Seven for a secret by Lyndsay Faye

Onion Street: a Moe Prager mystery by Reed Farrel Coleman

The wild beasts of Wuhan: an Ava Lee novel by Ian Hamilton

Loyalty by Ingrid Thoft

Sleuth It: Dead and Done V

Historical mysteries let the reader be picked up and be transported to different times and places. A good story is a painless way to get into the period, and, if it features a unsolved crime or two, give a look at history’s darker underside.

Silver lies by Ann Parker

Walking the perfect square: a novel by Reed Farrel Coleman

Jane and the unpleasantness at Scargrave Manor by Stephanie Barron

A plague on both your houses by Susanna Gregory

Maisie Dobbs by Jacqueline Winspear

Sleuth It: Dead and Done VI

Historical mysteries let the reader be picked up and be transported to different times and places. A good story is a painless way to get into the period, and, if it features a unsolved crime or two, give a look at history’s darker underside.

The queen's head by Edward Marston

One corpse too many by Ellis Peters

Veil of lies: a medieval noir by Jeri Westerson

Wine of violence by Priscilla Royal

Death comes as epiphany by Sharan Newman

Sleuth It: Mystery Meet Up

Here is a list of books discussed at the Mystery Meet-Up Connect Your Summer 2013, which was part of the 2013 Canton Public Library's Summer Reading Program for all ages.

A cold day in paradise by Steve Hamilton

Iron Lake by William Kent Krueger



Blood alone by James R. Benn

As if by magic by Dolores Gordon-Smith

The hell screen by I.J. Parker

A duty to the dead by Charles Todd

Murder on Nob Hill by Shirley Tallman

Murder Will Out: February 2014