Catalog

Search our Catalog

early twentieth century

Read-alikes for THE LIGHT BETWEEN OCEANS

The movie rights have been purchased for M. L. Stedman's THE LIGHT BETWEEN OCEANS.  wonderful book about a lighthouse keeper and his wife. Tom is a WW I veteran, one of the 'lucky ones', he has lost a limb nor his mind but he deliberately seeks the solitude of an island off Australia.  He meets and marries, Isabel. But times on the island are tough for Isabel as she suffers multiple miscarriages and a stillbirth in just four years time. When a boat with a dead man and a young baby washes ashore, Isabel convinces Tom to let her keep the baby as their own, but the consequences to her actions may be dire.  Similar books are:

The sandcastle girls: a novel by Chris Bohjalian

The orchardist: a novel by Amanda Coplin

The secret keeper: a novel by Kate Morton

The house I loved by Tatiana de Rosnay

Norman Rockwell Artist of Life

Starting March 8th and ending May 31st, the DIA will be hosting paintings by the artist Norman Rockwell.  He spent his time painting scenes from the world around him, many of his paintings having a small town feel to them that was both welcoming and enduring.  His recognizable art lives on all around us and brings us back to a time when soda fountains were all the rage and kids really did do the darndest things. For a chance to see Mr.