Catalog

Search our Catalog

marriage

Read-alikes for THE LIGHT BETWEEN OCEANS

The movie rights have been purchased for M. L. Stedman's THE LIGHT BETWEEN OCEANS.  wonderful book about a lighthouse keeper and his wife. Tom is a WW I veteran, one of the 'lucky ones', he has lost a limb nor his mind but he deliberately seeks the solitude of an island off Australia.  He meets and marries, Isabel. But times on the island are tough for Isabel as she suffers multiple miscarriages and a stillbirth in just four years time. When a boat with a dead man and a young baby washes ashore, Isabel convinces Tom to let her keep the baby as their own, but the consequences to her actions may be dire.  Similar books are:

The sandcastle girls: a novel by Chris Bohjalian

The orchardist: a novel by Amanda Coplin

The secret keeper: a novel by Kate Morton

The house I loved by Tatiana de Rosnay

Canton Seniors Book Discussion: August 28, 2014

Canton Seniors Book Group will meet on Thursday, August 28 from 2:00-3:00pm in Canton Public Library's Group Study Room A. We will be discussing M. L. Stedman's THE LIGHT BETWEEN OCEANS. Request a copy at the Information Services Desk.

Older Adults October, 2012

In a rut, looking to change, improve, grow?   Attend   AARP online retreat  "5 Weeks to a New Life" without leaving home.  The five webinars focus on marriage, money, and personal growth.

Busy Moms Book Club

The April title selection for the Busy Moms Book has been changed to Committed: A Skeptic Makes Peace With Marriage by Elizabeth Gilbert. In the follow up to Eat, Pray, Love (2006), Gilbert examines her reluctant marriage to Felipe, the Brazilian businessman she met at the end of her post-divorce travels, and considers her doubts about the institution of marriage. Join us Thursday April 15th in the Children's Purple Room at 11 am for what should be an interesting discussion.

Eat, Pray, Love...then Marry!

In the follow-up to her bestseller, Eat, Pray, Love and soon-to-be movie by the same name starring Julia Roberts, author Elizabeth Gilbert continues her journey where she left off. Committed is about her relationship with the man she met in her first memoir. This time around, both she and Felipe grapple with reconciling their fears of succeeding in a marriage.

Perfection: a Memoir

On Friday January 8, the guest on Oprah will be Julie Metz, author of Perfection: a Memoir of Betrayal and Renewal. On a January afternoon, her life changes forever. As Julie begins to put her life back together after her tragic loss of her husband of 12 years, she learned of his affairs. Determined to know the truth and come to terms with it, she confronts each of the women. This is a story of starting over; not from a place of perfection, but peace.

The Natural Laws of Good Luck

The Natural Laws of Good Luck: a memoir of an Unlikely Marriage is a beautiful memoir about a cross-cultural marriage (he is Chinese and she is American). The author, Ellen Graf, is honest and non-judgmental in sharing her and her husband's joys and challenges with language, culture, and marriage. I recommend this to anyone who has ever been in a relationship they found challenging or who enjoys reading about culture and relationships.

He's Just Not That Into You

This same-titled-book-turned-movie is based on a line delivered by one of the characters in a Sex and the City episode, "Pick-A-Little, Talk-A-Little," from 2003. It makes a single-woman wonder: if I like the guy, why is he sending me mixed messages?

Marriage on fire!

Looking for something inspirational to boost your marriage relationship? "Fireproof" is the definite date night movie that brings realism and enlightment to what a marriage is all about. Take it one step further and check out the book "Love Dare", the guide used in the movie to restore a broken marriage.