Catalog

Search our Catalog

Mystery

Author Appearance: Adam Johnson

The Orphan Master's Son: a novel by Adam Johnson — Author Adam Johnson will speak at Nicola's Books on Tuesday, January 24 at 7:00 PM in Ann Arbor.

Murder Will Out: 2012 Edgar Award Nominations Announced

The Mystery Writers of America have announced its nominees for the 2012 Edgar Awards for the best mystery writing in fiction, non-fiction, television, and production.

Boxcar Children Series Being Moved

This popular children's series is moving from the series section to its new home in J Fiction. It will be found under the author's last name, Warner. We appreciate your patience and understanding while these items are temporarily unavailable in order to change the spine labels.

Adventure and Mystery Books

Enjoy books like The 39 Clues? Looking for something else with adventure and mystery? Try some of these:

NERDS: National Espionage, Rescue, and Defense Society by Michael Buckley

A world without heroes by Brandon Mull

The name of this book is secret by Pseudonymous Bosch

Vintner's Wine and Mysteries Book Discussion

Vintner's Wine and Mysteries Book Discussion Group will meet every other month (i.e. even-numbered months) in 2012. The first meeting at Vintner's Canton Winery will be on Tuesday, February 21, 2012 from 7:00-8:00 PM.

Registration is required and will begin on January 21, 2012. The February reading selection will be available for pickup at the Canton Public Library's Help Desk on January 21.

Murder Will Out: Alexander McCall Smith

The No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency by Alexander McCall Smith — Fans of Alexander McCall Smith, author of several series, including The No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency series, 44 Scotland Street, and Isabel Dalhousie's novels will enjoy this recent interview by Connie Fletcher in BookList Online (12/01/2011).

Vintner's Book Discussion Will Not Meet in December

Wine and Mysteries Book Discussion, which meets monthly at Vintners Winery, will not be meeting in the month of December. Have a festive, safe and fun Christmas holiday! A few recommended titles to help you enjoy this season are:

The Christmas cookie club: a novel by Ann Pearlman

Hot toddies: mulled wine, buttered rum, spiced cider, and other soul-warming winter drinks by Christopher O'Hara; photographs by William A. Nash

Murder Will Out: More Mystery Book Awards

The End of the Wasp Season: a novel by Denise Mina — has received the Martin Beck Award for best translation. Romantic Times Book Reviewers Awards for Mystery, Suspense, and Crime were recently announced in Orlando, Florida.

Poetry-Fiction

Edgar Allan's official crime investigation notebook by Mary Amato — There's a thief at Wordsworth Elementary School and Edgar is determined to find out who it is! But this thief doesn't just stop with the classroom goldfish. Soon other classroom items disappear, and the culprit is leaving poems behind for clues. A fun mystery that will surprise readers at how much fun poetry can be.

Book Club Choices: December 2011

The perfect book for a book discussion is one that's not too easy, not too hard, that will hold the interest of a diverse group of readers and will also inspire a lively discussion. For additional book club resources check out CPL's Book Club in a Bag kits.

The true memoirs of Little K by Adrienne Sharp

The tiger's wife: a novel by Téa Obreht

Best of 2011

Lists, lists, and more lists. As 2011 draws to an end everyone seems to be creating "Best of" lists. For readers of all ages and tastes, holiday gift suggestions:

Murder Will Out: More Read-Alikes for Janet Evanovich

With the much anticipated movie release of Janet Evanovich's One For the Money in January, 2012 fans of Stephanie Plum may enjoy listening to these authors.

Agatha Raisin and the quiche of death [sound recording] by M.C. Beaton

Merry Wives of Maggody [sound recording] by Joan Hess

Murder on a girls' night out [sound recording] by Anne George

Murder Will Out: If you read Joanna Fluke

If you're a foodie who enjoys listening to audiobooks and a fan of Joanna Fluke's Hannah Swenson's mysteries you might enjoy:

Death in paradise [sound recording] by Carolyn Hart

The merlot murders [sound recording]: a wine country mystery by Ellen Crosby

A dilly of a death [sound recording] by Susan Wittig Albert

Murder and Mayhem in Michigan

Imagine this: unexplained deaths, mysterious suspects, murky alibis and suspenseful prose, all happening in — Ann Arbor, Michigan? Author Harry Dolan has written two books (below) featuring the mystery magazine editor, David Loogan, and his detective sidekick, Elizabeth Waishkey, set in the famous college town. As an extra, Stephen King has recommended them. Be forewarned: reading books set in local communities may lead to murder mystery roadtrips.

Bad things happen by Harry Dolan

Very bad men by Harry Dolan