Catalog

Search our Catalog

Mystery

If You Like Faye Kellerman

Faye Kellerman's Peter Decker and Rina Lazarus balance jobs and family while solving crimes. Authors such as J. A. Jance, Mary Logue, Iris Johansen, J. D. Robb and Catherine Coulter couples trying to find balance in their lives between their relationship and their jobs.

Judgment call by J.A. Jance

Blood country: a Claire Watkins mystery by Mary Logue

The face of deception by Iris Johansen

Naked in death by J.D. Robb

The cove by Catherine Coulter

If You Like Legal Thrillers

Prime witness by Steve Martini

The Lincoln lawyer: a novel by Michael Connelly

Running from the law by Lisa Scottoline

The fifth assassin by Brad Meltzer

The cheater by Nancy Taylor Rosenberg

Murder Will Out: November 2013

If you enjoy history with your mystery or like Edward Marston's or Patricia McIntosh's mysteries, try Priscilla Royal. Fans of Joan Hess or Mary Logue will want to read Annelise Ryan's Mattie Winston series. Christopher Spielberg's The Russian Donation won Germany's Friedrich Glauser prize for best debut crime novel. Foodies should try L. J. Washburn's Fresh Baked Mystery series and for something completely different Betty Webb's features Teddy Gunter, Zookeeper at Gunn Zoo.

The sanctity of hate: a medieval mystery by Priscilla Royal

Lucky stiff by Annelise Ryan

The Russian donation by Christoph Spielberg ; translated by Gerald Chapple

Wedding cake killer: a fresh-baked mystery by Livia J. Washburn

The llama of death: a Gunn Zoo mystery by Betty Webb

Canton Seniors Book Discussion Group January-June 2014

Looking for a lively book discussion? The Canton Seniors Book Discussion Group meets on the fourth Thursday of the month from 2:00-3:00PM in Group Study Room A at Canton Public Library. 

January 23              Annie's Ghosts: A Journey into a Family's Secret by Steve Luxenberg

February 27           The Closers by Michael Connelly

March 27                Detroit: An American Autopsy by Charlie LeDuff

April 24                   The Sandcastle Girls by Chris Bohjalian

May 22                     Crank by Ellen Hopkins

June 26                    The Elegance of the Hedgehog by Muriel Barbery

Murder Will Out October 2013

Aunt Agatha's Bookstore in Ann Arbor is hosting two author events in November.

Tuesday, November 5 at 7:00 PM — Chris Grabenstein will be joining the Aunt Agatha Book Group. He'll talk about his New Jersey set series featuring John Ceepak, as well as his books for young adults. He's written two with James Patterson; two featuring Riley Mack and most recently, Escape from Mr. Lemoncello's Library.

Friday, November 8 at 2:00 PM — Julia Spencer-Fleming & Tasha Alexander will participate in Aunt Agatha's Book Group's discussion moderated by Andrew Grant. Julia has a terrific new Clare & Russ mystery and Tasha has a new Lady Emily mystery.

Murder Will Out: October 2013

The 2013 Anthony Awards were recently announced at BoucherCon 2013. The winners are:

Best Novel

The beautiful mystery by Louise Penny

Best First Novel

The expats: a novel by Chris Pavone

Canton Seniors Book Discussion: October 24, 2013

Canton Seniors Book Group will meet on Thursday, October 24 from 2:00-3:00PM in Canton Public Library's Group Study Room A. We will be discussing Say Nice Things About Detroit by Scott Lassiter. Copies of the book are distributed at the meeting or request a copy at the Adult Help Desk. No registration required.

Say Nice Things About Detroit by Scott Lasser.  After his divorce and the death of his son David Halpert escapes to his hometown Detroit, and becomes involved in a murder investigation when he learns about the shooting of his high school girlfriend Natalie and her black half-brother, Dirk, and becomes romantically involved with Natalie's sister.

Elmore Leonard, 1925-2013

Author Elmore Leonard, age 87, died at his home at Bloomfield Hills. Perhaps best known for his gritty crime novels such as Get Shorty, Leonard was also a master of western stories such as 3:10 to Yuma which was made into a film in 2007 starring Russell Crowe. A long-time resident in the Detroit area, he won many writing awards in his lifetime including the Grand Master Award of the Mystery Writers of America.

Where in Canton are LB and Clarke? Answers

LB and Clarke thank everyone who helped identify the pictures they took around Canton.
LB and Clarke closeup
  1. Canton Historical Museum. Corner of Canton Center and Heritage Park Rd
  2. The rock in front of Salem High School
  3. Morning Glory Whisper bench in front of Family Christian Bookstore, Ford and Sheldon
  4. Cherry Hill Village Theater
  5. Canton Township Administration Building
  6. Center of Canton at intersection of Canton Center & Cherry Hill roads
  7. Front of Canton Public Library

Sleuth It: Dead & Done IX

Historical mysteries let the reader be picked up and be transported to different times and places. A good story is a painless way to get into the period, and, if it features a unsolved crime or two, give a look at history’s darker underside.

The empty mirror: a Viennese mystery by J. Sydney Jones

Hangman blind by Cassandra Clark

Some danger involved: a novel by Will Thomas

Murder on Astor Place by Victoria Thompson

The janissary tree by Jason Goodwin

Where in Canton are LB and Clarke? #7

LB's cousin, Clarke, came to visit and LB took him on a tour all over Canton. They forgot to label their pictures, so put your sleuth skills to the test and help the bears remember where in Canton they visited.

Read the clue, look at the picture and send your guess to sleuthit@cantonpl.org with the subject line "Where in Canton #7", then claim your Sleuth it! badge. All correct entries will be entered in a drawing for a prize at the end of the contest. Please one entry per picture.
*If you missed any pictures, you can still submit an entry for them until noon on Friday, August 16. Just look under the Sleuth it! badge Activities.*

Clue #7: Home again!

LB and Clarke 7

If You Like Iris Johansen or Tami Hoag

If you enjoy suspense with romantic interest, are a fan of Iris Johansen, Tami Hoag, or Catherine Coulter try...

Love me to death: a novel of suspense by Allison Brennan

Trust me by Brenda Novak

Show no mercy by Cindy Gerard

Shiver by Karen Robards

Die for me by Karen Rose

Sworn to silence by Linda Castillo

Live to tell by Wendy Corsi Staub

Sleuth It: Dead & Done VIII

Historical mysteries let the reader be picked up and be transported to different times and places. A good story is a painless way to get into the period, and, if it features a unsolved crime or two, give a look at history’s darker underside.

Sweet poison by David Roberts

Christine Falls: a novel by Benjamin Black

The day the music died: a mystery by Ed Gorman

The hell screen by I.J. Parker

Shadow trade by Alan Furst

Where in Canton are LB and Clarke? #6

LB's cousin, Clarke, came to visit and LB took him on a tour all over Canton. They forgot to label their pictures, so put your sleuth skills to the test and help the bears remember where in Canton they visited.

Read the clue, look at the picture and send your guess to sleuthit@cantonpl.org with the subject line "Where in Canton #6", then claim your Sleuth it! badge. All correct entries will be entered in a drawing for a prize at the end of the contest. Please one entry per picture.

Clue #6: Sat on a bench in the very center of Canton watching cars go by.
LB and Clarke 6

Sleuth It: Dead & Done VII

Historical mysteries let the reader be picked up and be transported to different times and places. A good story is a painless way to get into the period, and, if it features a unsolved crime or two, give a look at history’s darker underside.

Bellfield Hall by Anna Dean

Pride and prescience, or, A truth universally acknowledged by Carrie Bebris

Mute witness by Charles O'Brien

A beautiful blue death by Charles Finch

A conspiracy of paper by David Liss

Sleuth It! Mystery MeetUp

If you weren't able to attend Mystery MeetUp and earn your Sleuth It Badge as part of Connect Your Summer 2013, Canton Public Library's Summer Reading program for all ages, here is the list of books we talked about.

A cold day in paradise by Steve Hamilton

Iron Lake by William Kent Krueger



Blood alone by James R. Benn

As if by magic by Dolores Gordon-Smith

The hell screen by I.J. Parker

A duty to the dead by Charles Todd

Murder on Nob Hill by Shirley Tallman