Catalog

Search our Catalog

Mystery

Look What's In Large Print: April 2014

Agatha Christie's mysteries are being re-released in large print. Anna Quindlen's latest is a fictional story of about a 60 something photographer coming to terms with her life.  Extremely private throughout his career, the new Johnny Carson biography by Harry Bushkin, Carson's lawyer from 1970-1988, reveals the complexity of Mr. Carson. Elo's first novel links the commercial fishing industry, the perfume industry, and conservation in a hunt for justice. The Cold War was warming up and President Truman saw the need to recruit European scientists to America.  He specifically stated no Nazi scientists should be recruited, Operation Paperclip tells what really happened.

Still life with bread crumbs [Large print]: a novel by Anna Quindlen

The regatta mystery, and other stories [large print] by Agatha Christie

Johnny Carson [large print] by Henry Bushkin

North of Boston [Large print] by Elisabeth Elo

Murder Will Out: April, 2014

This month's selections span the continent...

The devil's interval by Linda Lee Peterson

Foal play by Kathryn O'Sullivan

Detroit shuffle by D.E. Johnson

Crooked numbers by Tim O'Mara







Enigma of China by Qiu Xiaolong

What We're Reading March, 2014

If you enjoy tense thrillers try…



Down the darkest road by Tami Hoag

Heartless by Alison Gaylin

Silent scream by Karen Rose

Stolen by Allison Brennan

The house on Tradd Street by Karen White

If You Enjoy Suspense...

If you enjoy Christian Fiction filled with suspense...

Fatal judgment: a novel by Irene Hannon

Unspoken by Dee Henderson

What lies within: a novel by Karen Ball

Intervention: a novel by Terri Blackstock

When a secret kills: a novel by Lynette Eason

New Book Club in a Bag Kit

Defending Jacob: a novel [kit] by William Landay — Andy Barber has been an Assistant District Attorney in his suburban Massachusetts county for more than 20 years. He is respected in his community and happy at home with his wife, Laurie, and son, Jacob. But after a shocking crime shatters their New England town, Andy is blindsided by what happens next: His 14-year-old son is charged with the murder of a fellow student.

Canton Seniors Book Discussion: February 27, 2014

Canton Seniors Book Discussion group will meet on Thursday, February 27 in Group Study Room A. Copies of the book are distributed at the meeting or request a copy at the Adult Help Desk. No registration required. This month we are discussing Michael Connelly's THE CLOSERS.

The Closers: a novel by Michael Connelly — Harry Bosch, Homicide Detective Los Angeles Police Department has been called out of retirement to join LAPD's Open/Unsolved Unit and he will bring his usual tenaciousness to the job regardless of the cost.

Murder Will Out: January, 2014

This month introduces four new authors to Canton Public Library's Mystery shelves and the latest in James Benn's World War II series featuring Billy Boyle, attaché to General Dwight D. Eisenhower.

Anonymous sources by Mary Louise Kelly

The abomination: a novel by Jonathan Holt

The Andalucian friend: a novel by Alexander Söderberg

Aunty Lee's delights by Ovidia Yu

A blind goddess by James R. Benn

Year 2013 Top Fiction Picks

Every year all of Canton Public Library's Information Services Librarians share their favorite 2013 fiction reads, a mixture of Adult, Teen, and Children's fiction books.

And the mountains echoed by Khaled Hosseini



The goldfinch by Donna Tartt






The dinner: a novel by Herman Koch ; translated from the Dutch by Sam Garrett






Sisterland: a novel by Curtis Sittenfeld

Murder Will Out: December 2013

2013 Award Winning Mysteries you may have missed:

The beautiful mystery by Louise Penny — Best Novel: Anthony Award & Macavity Award

Don't ever get old by Daniel Friedman — Best First Novel: Macavity Award

The Blackhouse: a novel by Peter May — Best Novel: Barry Award

A killing in the hills by Julia Keller — Best First Novel: Barry Award

Taken by Robert Crais — Best Hardcover: Shamus Award

Black Fridays by Michael Sears — Best First P.I. Novel: Shamus Award

If You Like Faye Kellerman

Faye Kellerman's Peter Decker and Rina Lazarus balance jobs and family while solving crimes. Authors such as J. A. Jance, Mary Logue, Iris Johansen, J. D. Robb and Catherine Coulter couples trying to find balance in their lives between their relationship and their jobs.

Judgment call by J.A. Jance

Blood country: a Claire Watkins mystery by Mary Logue

The face of deception by Iris Johansen

Naked in death by J.D. Robb

The cove by Catherine Coulter

If You Like Legal Thrillers

Prime witness by Steve Martini

The Lincoln lawyer: a novel by Michael Connelly

Running from the law by Lisa Scottoline

The fifth assassin by Brad Meltzer

The cheater by Nancy Taylor Rosenberg

Murder Will Out: November 2013

If you enjoy history with your mystery or like Edward Marston's or Patricia McIntosh's mysteries, try Priscilla Royal. Fans of Joan Hess or Mary Logue will want to read Annelise Ryan's Mattie Winston series. Christopher Spielberg's The Russian Donation won Germany's Friedrich Glauser prize for best debut crime novel. Foodies should try L. J. Washburn's Fresh Baked Mystery series and for something completely different Betty Webb's features Teddy Gunter, Zookeeper at Gunn Zoo.

The sanctity of hate: a medieval mystery by Priscilla Royal

Lucky stiff by Annelise Ryan

The Russian donation by Christoph Spielberg ; translated by Gerald Chapple

Wedding cake killer: a fresh-baked mystery by Livia J. Washburn

The llama of death: a Gunn Zoo mystery by Betty Webb

Canton Seniors Book Discussion Group January-June 2014

Looking for a lively book discussion? The Canton Seniors Book Discussion Group meets on the fourth Thursday of the month from 2:00-3:00PM in Group Study Room A at Canton Public Library. 

January 23              Annie's Ghosts: A Journey into a Family's Secret by Steve Luxenberg

February 27           The Closers by Michael Connelly

March 27                Detroit: An American Autopsy by Charlie LeDuff

April 24                   The Sandcastle Girls by Chris Bohjalian

May 22                     Crank by Ellen Hopkins

June 26                    The Elegance of the Hedgehog by Muriel Barbery

Murder Will Out October 2013

Aunt Agatha's Bookstore in Ann Arbor is hosting two author events in November.

Tuesday, November 5 at 7:00 PM — Chris Grabenstein will be joining the Aunt Agatha Book Group. He'll talk about his New Jersey set series featuring John Ceepak, as well as his books for young adults. He's written two with James Patterson; two featuring Riley Mack and most recently, Escape from Mr. Lemoncello's Library.

Friday, November 8 at 2:00 PM — Julia Spencer-Fleming & Tasha Alexander will participate in Aunt Agatha's Book Group's discussion moderated by Andrew Grant. Julia has a terrific new Clare & Russ mystery and Tasha has a new Lady Emily mystery.