Catalog

Search our Catalog

Romance

What We're Reading: October 2014

Lately, I've been reading non-fiction. A well-written narrative not only informs, it entertains.  Did you know Canton Public Library has a new book discussion group?  The Nonfiction Book Group will meet the third Saturday of the month.  Their first meeting is November 15 at 10:00 AM.

The First World War in 100 objects by John Hughes-Wilson ; IWM consultant, Nigel Steel ; editor, Mark Hawkins-Dady

The history of rock 'n' roll in ten songs by Greil Marcus

Music in the shadows: noir musical films by Sheri Chinen Biesen

Seven elements that changed the world: an adventure of ingenuity and discovery by John Browne

In the kingdom of ice: the grand and terrible polar voyage of the USS Jeannette by Hampton Sides

Canton Seniors Book Group: October 23, 2014

Canton Seniors Book Groups meets Thursday, October 23 from 2:00-3:00PM in Canton Public Library's Group Study Room A.  We will be discussing JoJo Moyes' ME BEFORE YOU.  Request a copy at the Information Services Desk.

ME BEFORE YOU by JoJo Moyes.  Me Before You brings to life two people who couldn't have less in common, Louisa Clark a very ordinary girl and former Master of the Universe, Will Trevor.  It's a heartbreakingly romantic novel that asks, 'What do you do when making the person you love happy also means breaking your own heart?' .

Read-alikes for THE LIGHT BETWEEN OCEANS

The movie rights have been purchased for M. L. Stedman's THE LIGHT BETWEEN OCEANS.  wonderful book about a lighthouse keeper and his wife. Tom is a WW I veteran, one of the 'lucky ones', he has lost a limb nor his mind but he deliberately seeks the solitude of an island off Australia.  He meets and marries, Isabel. But times on the island are tough for Isabel as she suffers multiple miscarriages and a stillbirth in just four years time. When a boat with a dead man and a young baby washes ashore, Isabel convinces Tom to let her keep the baby as their own, but the consequences to her actions may be dire.  Similar books are:

The sandcastle girls: a novel by Chris Bohjalian

The orchardist: a novel by Amanda Coplin

The secret keeper: a novel by Kate Morton

The house I loved by Tatiana de Rosnay

Sink Your Teeth In: Fiction Featuring WereBeasts

Be it a furry romance, or a spine-tingling horror novel, these part-human, part-beast creatures have taken hold of our literary imaginations!

Red moon: a novel by Benjamin Percy

Dead until dark by Charlaine Harris

Moon called by Patricia Briggs

Darkness devours by Keri Arthur

Beauty and the werewolf by Mercedes Lackey

Bullet by Laurell K. Hamilton

Bound to shadows by Keri Arthur

Foodie Romances

Currant Creek Valley by RaeAnne Thayne

Hot under pressure by Louisa Edwards

A Madaris bride for Christmas by New York Times bestselling author Brenda Jackson

You're the one by Robin Kaye

Burning down the spouse by Dakota Cassidy

Harvest moon by Robyn Carr

Love Stories: Great Romantic Films

Penelope [videodisc] by Summit Entertainment and Stone Village Pictures present a Type A Films ; Tatira Active Film production in association with Grosvenor Park Productions

Miss Pettigrew lives for a day [videodisc] by Keylight Entertainment Group ; Kudos Productions Ltd.

I could never be your woman [videodisc] by I Could Never Ltd. ; Bauer Martinez Studios ; Scott Rudin Productions

Four weddings and a funeral [videodisc] by Polygram Filmed Entertainment and Channel Four Films [present] ; a Working Title production

The proposal [videodisc] by Touchstone Pictures presents a Mandeville Films production, an Anne Fletcher film

50 first dates [videodisc] by Columbia Pictures presents a Happy Madison/Anonymous Content and Flower Films production, a film by Peter Segal

Romantic Comedies

Breakfast at Tiffany's [videodisc] by Paramount Pictures presents a Jurow-Shepherd production


Bridget Jones [videodisc]: the edge of reason by Universal Pictures and Studio Canal and Miramax Films present a Working Title production


Amélie [videodisc] by Claudie Ossard & UGC présentent une coproduction Victoires Productions, Tapioca Films-France 3 Cinéma, MMC Independent GmbH avec la collaboration de la Sofica Sofinergie 5 et le soutien de la Filmstiftung avec la participation de Canal+, un film de Jean-Pierre Jeunet


You've got mail [videodisc] by Warner Bros. presents a Lauren Shuler Donner production


The Philadelphia story [videodisc] by produced by Joseph L. Mankiewicz ; directed by George Cukor ; screenplay by Donald Ogden Stewart

Look What's In Large Print: June 2014

This month's focus is on historical novels.  A well-written historical fiction offers a good story, a strong sense of place, and provides readers an understanding of another time.

Look What's In Large Print: April 2014

Agatha Christie's mysteries are being re-released in large print. Anna Quindlen's latest is a fictional story of about a 60 something photographer coming to terms with her life.  Extremely private throughout his career, the new Johnny Carson biography by Harry Bushkin, Carson's lawyer from 1970-1988, reveals the complexity of Mr. Carson. Elo's first novel links the commercial fishing industry, the perfume industry, and conservation in a hunt for justice. The Cold War was warming up and President Truman saw the need to recruit European scientists to America.  He specifically stated no Nazi scientists should be recruited, Operation Paperclip tells what really happened.

Still life with bread crumbs [Large print]: a novel by Anna Quindlen

The regatta mystery, and other stories [large print] by Agatha Christie

Johnny Carson [large print] by Henry Bushkin

North of Boston [Large print] by Elisabeth Elo

Warm up with a Romance

Thrill ride by Julie Ann Walker — Ex-navy SEAL Rock Babineaux is as Cajun as they come---spicy, sexy, and more than a bit wicked. But would he actually betray his country? Even his friends on the special-ops Black Knights team aren't sure they can trust him. Now the target of a massive manhunt, Rock knows the only way to protect the team---especially his partner, Vanessa---is to run...


Coming undone by Lauren Dane — More than friends, Brody and Elise discover in each other what they need--wild, physical passion without commitment. But it’ll take a shadow from Elise’s past to make them look beyond what they need to what they truly desire.


Hot pursuit: a Sugarland blue novel by Jo Davis — Years ago, Taylor was part of a botched hostage situation that ended with him being hailed as a tough-as-nails hero, even though the pain, fear, and shame from that terrible day still haunt him. Cara Evans couldn’t care less about Taylor’s pain. In the moment he became a so-called hero, she lost someone she dearly loved. Yet neither of them is prepared for the instant attraction that flares between them--or the danger that’s soon hot on their heels.

Janet Dailey, 1944-2013

Prolific romance author Janet Dailey has died at the age of 69. Her books were warm, all American romances which appealed to a large audience, selling as many as 300 million copies. Her latest book is Merry Christmas, Cowboy.

While her books did not receive critical acclaim, Ms. Dailey preferred to listen to the opinions of her readers and was quoted as saying, “One of the things that to me is the biggest compliment any writer can get is hearing from the ones who say, ‘I used to think reading was boring until I picked up one of your books.’ That’s great, because I know that if they read my books they’re going to read other books; they’re going to go back to reading again.”

Christmas Romances

Romance authors love to pen novels and stories set in and around Christmas and we love to read them. This year there is a bumper crop of these seasonal tales, so grab your hot cocoa and enjoy.

Sleigh bells in the snow by Sarah Morgan

The Christmas he loved her by Juliana Stone

Carla Kelly's Christmas collection: four stories filled with romance and Christmas cheer by Carla Kelly

The cowboy's Christmas baby by Carolyn Brown

Lady Jenny's Christmas portrait by Grace Burrowes

Take me home for Christmas by Brenda Novak

New Adult Genre

The books in the New Adult Genre are designed to interest twenty-somethings. The main character will often be leaving home for the first time, going to college, or starting on their first steady job. While mostly written by twenty-somethings for twenty-somethings, these books do have crossover appeal for romance readers--even those who have left their twenties behind them.

Finding it by Cora Carmack

If you stay by Cole, Courtney

Rule: a Marked Men novel by Jay Crownover

Foreplay by The Ivy Chronicles Book 1 Sophie Jordan

Beautiful disaster: a novel by Jamie McGuire

One Week Girlfriend: a novel by Monica Murphy