Catalog

Search our Catalog

california

If You Like Steve Hamilton, Harlan Coben or Robert Crais

Old bones: a Gideon Oliver mystery by Aaron Elkins

The vanished: a nameless detective novel by Bill Pronzini

Starvation Lake: a mystery by Bryan Gruley

Open season by C.J. Box

The cold dish by Craig Johnson

Black fly season by Giles Blunt

The blue edge of midnight by Jonathon King

In the bleak midwinter by Julia Spencer-Fleming

Murder Will Out: November 2013

If you enjoy history with your mystery or like Edward Marston's or Patricia McIntosh's mysteries, try Priscilla Royal. Fans of Joan Hess or Mary Logue will want to read Annelise Ryan's Mattie Winston series. Christopher Spielberg's The Russian Donation won Germany's Friedrich Glauser prize for best debut crime novel. Foodies should try L. J. Washburn's Fresh Baked Mystery series and for something completely different Betty Webb's features Teddy Gunter, Zookeeper at Gunn Zoo.

The sanctity of hate: a medieval mystery by Priscilla Royal

Lucky stiff by Annelise Ryan

The Russian donation by Christoph Spielberg ; translated by Gerald Chapple

Wedding cake killer: a fresh-baked mystery by Livia J. Washburn

The llama of death: a Gunn Zoo mystery by Betty Webb

Canton Seniors Book Discussion Group January-June 2014

Looking for a lively book discussion? The Canton Seniors Book Discussion Group meets on the fourth Thursday of the month from 2:00-3:00PM in Group Study Room A at Canton Public Library. 

January 23              Annie's Ghosts: A Journey into a Family's Secret by Steve Luxenberg

February 27           The Closers by Michael Connelly

March 27                Detroit: An American Autopsy by Charlie LeDuff

April 24                   The Sandcastle Girls by Chris Bohjalian

May 22                     Crank by Ellen Hopkins

June 26                    The Elegance of the Hedgehog by Muriel Barbery

Gold!

165 years ago, on January 24, 1848, gold was discovered at Sutter's Mill setting off the California Gold Rush. People began flocking to the state later that year, but the majority didn't arrive until the next year — hence the term "forty-niners." All told, the news drew some 300,000 people from all over the world (Latin America, Europe, Australia and China) between the years 1849 and 1855, to seek their fortune in California.

The age of gold: the California Gold Rush and the new American dream by H.W. Brands

The California Gold Rush and the coming of the Civil War by Leonard L. Richards

Days of gold: the California Gold Rush and the American nation by Malcolm J. Rohrbough

Roaring camp: the social world of the California Gold Rush by Susan Lee Johnson

Year 2012 Top Fiction Picks

Our favorite reads this year from the Adult and Children/Tweens/Teens Librarians:

The age of miracles: a novel by Karen Thompson Walker

The art forger: a novel by B.A. Shapiro

The dog stars by Peter Heller

Before I go to sleep: a novel by S.J. Watson

City of thieves: a novel by David Benioff

Every day by David Levithan

The expats: a novel by Chris Pavone

Murder Will Out

Have you ever read a book, loved it, and can't understand why no one else has read this wonderful author? Here are some of my unknowns, or little knowns, you really should try: Deborah Grabien's JP Kincaid Chronicles, Luiz Alfredo Garcia-Roza's Brazilian Inspector Espinoza, Margaret Frazer's Joliffe series is a spin-off of the Sister Frevisse stories, and fans of Stieg Larsson's books should try Ake Edwardson's Inspector Erik Winter.

Rock & roll never forgets by Deborah Grabien

The silence of the rain by Luiz Alfredo Garcia-Roza

The Golden Gate Bridge Turns 75

San Francisco's Golden Gate Bridge turns 75 on May 27. On that day in 1937 over 200,000 people crossed the bridge on foot and roller skates. The bridge links the City of San Francisco with Marin County. Singer Tony Bennett immortalized the Golden Gate Bridge in the song "(I Left My Heart) In San Francisco". Construction on the bridge began on January 5, 1933 and ultimately cost $35million. Take a virtual walk across the bridge, read about the history of this world famous bridge, or watch the Golden Gate Bridge being constructed.

Golden Gate Bridge [videodisc] by a Ben Loeterman Productions, Inc. film

Murder Will Out: International Thriller Writers Awards Nominations Announced

The International Thriller Writers (ITW) has announced the nominees for its 2011 Thriller Awards. Winners will be announced during ThrillerFest VI, to be held at New York City’s Grand Hyatt Hotel from July 6 to 9. For a complete list of the nominations go to ITW's website.

Best Hardcover Novel

The reversal: a novel by Michael Connelly

Edge: a novel by Jeffery Deaver

Tickets Available for Michael Connelly's Author Talk

Note: Tickets for this event are sold out as of Thursday, April 7, 2011.

Everyone's Reading author, Michael Connelly will talk about his life and experience writing The Lincoln Lawyer, part of the Mickey Haller series. Mr. Connelly will speak on Thursday, April 14 at 2:00PM at The Community House in Birmingham and at 7:30PM at The Jewish Community Center in West Bloomfield. Tickets are free and available to Canton Public Library cardholders at the library's Adult Reference Desk.

Copies of The Lincoln Lawyer will be available for purchase and signing, courtesy of the Book Beat bookstore.

"Always Say Goodbye"

Stuart Kaminsky, a former Grandmaster of the Mystery Writers of America and author of many mystery series and stand-alone novels, died Friday, October 9, 2009 at the age of 75. His four series featuring Lew Fonesca, Abe Lieberman,Toby Peters,and Inspector Porfiry Rostnikov were extremely popular. Kaminsky's Inspector Rostnikov novel A Cold Red Sunrise received the 1989 Edgar Award for Best Novel. He earned six other Edgar nominations, most recently for the 2005 non-fiction book "Behind the Mystery: Top Mystery Writers Interviewed", which was also nominated for an Anthony Award, a Macavity Awards, and an Agatha Award.

Murder Will Out - Agatha Christie Read-Alikes

If you like mysteries where all of the main characters are stuck in some kind of confined environment (a large, scary, old house) trying to solve some kind of crime or love the Agatha Christie novels when Poirot dramatically explains the crime's solution at the end of his books to the group of suspects, should enjoy these authors/characters:

Margery Allingham's
Albert Campion 

Carolyn Hart's Henrie O'

M. C. Beaton's Agatha Raisin