Catalog

Search our Catalog

Fiction

Fiction books

New Book Club in a Bag Kit

The Paris wife [kit]: a novel by Paula McLain — Hadley Richardson is a quiet twenty-eight-year-old who has all but given up on love and happiness-until she meets Ernest Hemingway. Following a whirlwind courtship and wedding, the pair set sail for Paris, where they become the golden couple in the fabled Lost Generation. Though deeply in love, the Hemingways are ill prepared for the hard-drinking and fast-living life of Jazz Age Paris. Surrounded by beautiful women and competing egos, Ernest struggles to find the voice that will earn him a place in history, pouring all the richness and intensity of his life with Hadley and their circle of friends into the novel that will become The Sun Also Rises. Hadley, meanwhile, strives to hold on to her sense of self as the demands of life with Ernest grow costly and her roles as wife, friend, and muse become more challenging

New Adult Genre

The books in the New Adult Genre are designed to interest twenty-somethings. The main character will often be leaving home for the first time, going to college, or starting on their first steady job. While mostly written by twenty-somethings for twenty-somethings, these books do have crossover appeal for romance readers--even those who have left their twenties behind them.

Finding it by Cora Carmack

If you stay by Cole, Courtney

Rule: a Marked Men novel by Jay Crownover

Foreplay by The Ivy Chronicles Book 1 Sophie Jordan

Beautiful disaster: a novel by Jamie McGuire

One Week Girlfriend: a novel by Monica Murphy

Murder Will Out: November 2013

If you enjoy history with your mystery or like Edward Marston's or Patricia McIntosh's mysteries, try Priscilla Royal. Fans of Joan Hess or Mary Logue will want to read Annelise Ryan's Mattie Winston series. Christopher Spielberg's The Russian Donation won Germany's Friedrich Glauser prize for best debut crime novel. Foodies should try L. J. Washburn's Fresh Baked Mystery series and for something completely different Betty Webb's features Teddy Gunter, Zookeeper at Gunn Zoo.

The sanctity of hate: a medieval mystery by Priscilla Royal

Lucky stiff by Annelise Ryan

The Russian donation by Christoph Spielberg ; translated by Gerald Chapple

Wedding cake killer: a fresh-baked mystery by Livia J. Washburn

The llama of death: a Gunn Zoo mystery by Betty Webb

Canton Seniors Book Discussion Group January-June 2014

Looking for a lively book discussion? The Canton Seniors Book Discussion Group meets on the fourth Thursday of the month from 2:00-3:00PM in Group Study Room A at Canton Public Library. 

January 23              Annie's Ghosts: A Journey into a Family's Secret by Steve Luxenberg

February 27           The Closers by Michael Connelly

March 27                Detroit: An American Autopsy by Charlie LeDuff

April 24                   The Sandcastle Girls by Chris Bohjalian

May 22                     Crank by Ellen Hopkins

June 26                    The Elegance of the Hedgehog by Muriel Barbery

Lunch & a Book November 2013

On Thursday November 14 at noon, we will be discussing:

The Paris wife: a novel by Paula McLain — Hadley Richardson is a quiet twenty-eight-year-old who has all but given up on love and happiness-until she meets Ernest Hemingway. Following a whirlwind courtship and wedding, the pair set sail for Paris, where they become the golden couple in the fabled Lost Generation. Though deeply in love, the Hemingways are ill prepared for the hard-drinking and fast-living life of Jazz Age Paris. Surrounded by beautiful women and competing egos, Ernest struggles to find the voice that will earn him a place in history, pouring all the richness and intensity of his life with Hadley and their circle of friends into the novel that will become The Sun Also Rises. Hadley, meanwhile, strives to hold on to her sense of self as the demands of life with Ernest grow costly and her roles as wife, friend, and muse become more challenging.

Canton Seniors Book Discussion: November 21, 2013

Canton Seniors Book Discussion group will meet on Thursday, November 21 at 2:00-3:00 PM in Group Study Room A. (Note: We are meeting 1 week earlier. The library will be closed on Thanksgiving Day, November 28.) Copies of the book are distributed at the meeting or request a copy at the Adult Help Desk. No registration required. This month we are discussing:

The Paris wife: a novel by Paula McLain.  Portrays the love affair and marriage between Ernest Hemingway and Hadley Mowrer from their Chicago meeting in 1920 to their lives during the Jazz Age in Paris, but as Ernest struggles to find his literary voice, Hadley tries to define her role in their relationship as wife, friend, and muse

Alice Munro wins Nobel prize in Literature

Ian Willms for The New York TimesThe New York Times reports that Alice Munro has won the Nobel prize in Literature. Munro has been writing short stories and novels for more than 50 years. Mona Simpson, writing in a 2005 Atlantic article sums up her appeal this way: "Her work is remarkable for its evenness of quality--it's hard to remember a weak story. Of course, it's this very consistency that makes discussion of Munro's work increasingly difficult. 'Bravo again!' one wants to shout, almost helplessly, after reading each new collection." She is not as famous or well-known as many other authors that have been around that long. Her writing is accessible and enjoyable. Which is not always the case with Nobel-winning authors.

K. A. Barson at Ann Arbor Bookstore Nicola's Books

45 pounds (more or less) by K.A. Barson — K. A. Barson will be at Nicola's Books on Tuesday, October 8 at 6:30PM to talk about her recent book, answer questions, and autograph her book.

Murder Will Out October 2013

Aunt Agatha's Bookstore in Ann Arbor is hosting two author events in November.

Tuesday, November 5 at 7:00 PM — Chris Grabenstein will be joining the Aunt Agatha Book Group. He'll talk about his New Jersey set series featuring John Ceepak, as well as his books for young adults. He's written two with James Patterson; two featuring Riley Mack and most recently, Escape from Mr. Lemoncello's Library.

Friday, November 8 at 2:00 PM — Julia Spencer-Fleming & Tasha Alexander will participate in Aunt Agatha's Book Group's discussion moderated by Andrew Grant. Julia has a terrific new Clare & Russ mystery and Tasha has a new Lady Emily mystery.

Tom Clancy, 1947-2013

Best-selling author Tom Clancy has died. He published twenty-eight books and has an new novel yet to be released. Seventeen of his novels made the New York Times best-sellers list and many of them hit the number one slot. Several of his books, including The Hunt for Red October, Patriot Games and The Sum of all Fears, were made into block-buster films. His many fans will long remember the enjoyment given to them by his detailed thrillers.

Murder Will Out: October 2013

The 2013 Anthony Awards were recently announced at BoucherCon 2013. The winners are:

Best Novel

The beautiful mystery by Louise Penny

Best First Novel

The expats: a novel by Chris Pavone

Canton Seniors Book Discussion: October 24, 2013

Canton Seniors Book Group will meet on Thursday, October 24 from 2:00-3:00PM in Canton Public Library's Group Study Room A. We will be discussing Say Nice Things About Detroit by Scott Lassiter. Copies of the book are distributed at the meeting or request a copy at the Adult Help Desk. No registration required.

Say Nice Things About Detroit by Scott Lasser.  After his divorce and the death of his son David Halpert escapes to his hometown Detroit, and becomes involved in a murder investigation when he learns about the shooting of his high school girlfriend Natalie and her black half-brother, Dirk, and becomes romantically involved with Natalie's sister.

If you like Kate Morton

especially The Secret Keeper and The Distant Hours, try these titles:

A place of secrets: a novel by Rachel Hore

The Ashford affair by Lauren Willig

Season of storms by Susanna Kearsley

Sarah's key by Tatiana de Rosnay

Five quarters of the orange by Joanne Harris

Teen Action Thrillers To Die For

Variant by Robison Wells

The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

Don't turn around by Michelle Gagnon

Mind games by Kiersten White

I hunt killers by Barry Lyga

Confessions of a murder suspect by James Patterson and Maxine Paetro

The night she disappeared by April Henry

Unwind by Neal Shusterman

Look What's In Large Print - September, 2013

September and it's back to school. Maybe time to re-read a classic. A book read at seventeen isn't the same book read decades later...


The Europeans [Large print]: a sketch
by Henry James


The End of the Affair [large print]
by Graham Greene


Wuthering Heights [Large print]
by Emily Brontë


Pride and Prejudice [large print]
by Jane Austen


Lord Jim [Large print]
by Joseph Conrad ; edited by Cedric Watts and Robert Hampson

(All images: eLibrary. Web. 29 Aug. 2013.)

2013 Michigan Author Award

The Michigan Library Association will present Laura Kasischke with the 2013 Michigan Author Award during their Annual Conference in Lansing on October 18, 2013. Kasischke has published eight novels, authored eight books of poetry and received the National Book Critics Circle Award for Poetry in 2012. Her most recent book is a compilation of short stories entitled If a stranger approaches you.

Kasischke grew up in Grand Rapids, currently resides in Chelsea and is an Allan Seager Collegiate Professor of English Language & Literature at the University of Michigan. Throughout her diverse body of work, Kasischke ties her characters to the state of Michigan.

New Book Club in a Bag Kit

Say nice things about Detroit [kit] by Scott Lasser — In a racially polarized, economically collapsing city a man struggles with the double shooting death of a high school classmate and her brother while still mourning the death of his own teenage son and coping with his mother's dementia. A starred review Booklist suggests: "Forget the grime and crime, political corruption and economic decay. Lasser's Detroit may be a troubled city, but it is one whose vibrant soul is writ large in the small actions of its loyal citizens. With a serene and steady hand, Lasser's spare but intense tale is a smart, intimate homage to the power of second chances."