Catalog

Search our Catalog

Fiction

Fiction books

What We're Reading: October 2011

The Canton Public Library staff is reading:

The dovekeepers: a novel by Alice Hoffman

The marriage plot by Jeffrey Eugenides

Motor City shakedown by D.E. Johnson

Room: a novel by Emma Donoghue

Book Club in a Bag Kit

The Hunger Games [kit] by Suzanne Collins — Sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen accidentally becomes a contender in the annual Hunger Games, a grave competition hosted by the Capitol where young boys and girls are pitted against one another in a televised fight to the death.

Book Club in a Bag Kit

The three Weissmanns of Westport [kit] by Cathleen Schine — A modern tale inspired by Sense and Sensibility finds financially strapped literary sisters Miranda and Annie moving in with divorcee Betty in a run-down Connecticut beach cottage, where they find love among the suburban aristocracy. A witty and light selection for book groups.

National Book Festival

If you weren't able to attend the National Book Festival in Washington D.C. on September 24-25, videos of the event including authors' talks are now available. Historian and author David McCullough appeared at the 2011 National Book Festival, as did Sylvia Nasar, Cassandra Clare, Wally Amos, Sara Paretsky, and more.

New Bengali Books

Looking for books in Bengali? We have them. New Bengali books received in 2011 include:

Ādhunika ramaṇīdera ādhunika rānnā by Sādiẏā Rahamāna Munnī

Bandha darajā kholā darajā by Sunīla Gaṅgopādhyāẏa

Karporeṭa bhālobāsā by Śahīdula Haka Khāna

Saṃsiddha: galpagrantha = Sangshiddha = Accomplished by Runu Haka, Śabanama Āmīra, Sāherā Āphajā, Phārajānā Āhmeda, Pheradausa Jesamīna

Lunch Lady and the League of Librarians

Lunch Lady and the league of librarians by Jarrett J. Krosoczka — Do you ever wonder what your school lunch lady does when she isn't serving you food? Is it possible she has a secret identity? Check out this book for a hilarious look at the secret crime fighting deeds of Lunch Lady and her trusty side-kick, Betty. Enjoy!

Lunch & a Book May 2012

On Thursday May 10th from Noon to 1PM we'll be discussing

To kill a mockingbird by Harper Lee — Scout Finch, daughter of the town lawyer Atticus, has just started school. She's known how to read and write, though, ever since she and her older brother Jem can remember. Bored with school, Scout and Jem decide on a project — to make Boo Radley, the town's notorious recluse, come out. But Scout's carefree days come to an end when a black man in town is accused of raping a white woman — and Atticus is the only man willing to defend him.

Lunch & a Book

On Thursday, March 8th, at Noon we will be discussing:

The postmistress by Sarah Blake — The lives of two women in a small Cape Cod town are impacted by the radio broadcasts of Frankie Bard, an American journalist in London who hopes that by revealing details of World War II she will encourage the United States to take up the cause.

What Would You Do If

A murder of crows flew off to the forbidden Impassable Wilderness with the baby brother you were supposed to be watching? This is just the first difficult quandary that Prue is forced to deal with in Wildwood by Colin Meloy (lead singer and songwriter for The Decemberists). Well, as you might guess, Prue does elect to sneak into the wilds, followed by a nosy classmate, Curtis. This intrepid duo soon learn they have entered a realm in the midst of violent upheaval. One part of the dark and magical wood is warring with at least one other section. A simple rescue mission explodes into mortal battles featuring incredible creatures and humans as various factions vie for power and control. Honeyed deceit, brutal honesty, and difficult choices force Prue and Curtis to mature quickly.

Creative Writing Short Stories

This Summer, Teen Creative Writing students were asked to write a story based on a selected list of genres. Each story developed over the course of the six week class, beginning with gathering ideas, a rough draft, and the final product represented in the audio recordings of the finished products below.

The Mirror World

by Arsh Kaiser

Synopsis: When his parents purchase a strange mirror as a gift for his sister, Sam discovers that there's more to a reflection than he ever imagined.


Download MP3

The Normal Ghost Tracer

by Kriya Shah

Synopsis: A young girl befriends an interesting boy who teaches her how to understand ghosts. Together they begin a quest to help the dead and the living understand and accept each other.


Download MP3

Clown Mania

by Nabeel Baig

Synopsis: Imagine a world run exclusively by clowns. This funny account of a world gone crazy offers a silly overview of a year in the life of President Daffy the Clown.


Download MP3

They Wouldn't Believe Me

by Abdulhafeez Peracha

Synopsis: An out-of-this-world visit to Canton Public Library


Download MP3

Ghost Keeper

by Sravya Emmadi

Synopsis: A teenage girl alone in an old house discovers the unexpected and goes on an adventure.


Download MP3

Murder Will Out: Carol Higgins Clark

Willard Library in Battle Creek is pleased to present An Evening with Carol Higgins Clark, Thursday, October 13th at 7:00 PM (doors open at 6:00 PM) at the Burnham Brook Community Center.

Mobbed: a Regan Reilly Mystery by Carol Higgins Clark — Best-selling mystery author Carol Higgins Clark will talk about her Regan Reilly detective series, take questions, and sign books. The program is free of charge and all are welcome! Burhnam Brook Community Center is located at 200 W. Michigan Avenue, Battle Creek, MI 49017. Please call 269-968-8166 with any questions.

Halloween Reads

Get ready for Halloween with some easy-to-read titles. These spook-tacular books are shelved in the Readers section in the Children's Department. A CPL librarian can show you just where to find them. Happy Halloween!

A fairy-tale fall by Apple Jordan; illustrated by Francesco Legramandi

Monster parade: a sticker rerader by Shana Corey; illustrated by Will Terry

Pooh's Halloween pumpkin by Isabel Gaines; illustrated by Josie Yee

Mystery Series Week

The Purple Moon Press has declared October 2-11 Mystery Series Week-2011. Of course, every mystery fan is familiar with the Sherlock Holmes series by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle and Dame Agatha Christie's Hercules Poiroit, Miss Marple, or Tommy and Tuppence. If you are looking for something new, there are dozen of series such as Ian Rankin's Inspector Rebus, or Janet Evanovich's comic Stephanie Plum. For more reading suggestions, check Canton Public Library's mystery posts and May We Suggest.

[Image Source: Google/Purple Moon Press]

Murder Will Out: Meet William Kent Krueger

Northwest Angle: a novel by William Kent Krueger — Meet William Kent Krueger, author of the Cork O'Connor mystery series on Thursday, October 6 at 7:00 PM at Aunt Agatha's in Ann Arbor. Mr. Krueger will discuss and sign his new Cork O'Connor novel, Northwest Angle.

Book Gems: Fiction

If you missed our Book Gems program last night, you can still take a peek at the titles we highlighted:

Not all tarts are apple by Pip Granger — This charming book set in 1953 London focuses on Rosie, the 7-year-old narrator, and the colorful characters in her Soho neighborhood. Try this if you like cozy British mysteries — especially if you care more about the setting and characters than the mystery itself.

Then she found me by Elinor Lipman — Restrained high school Latin teacher April Epner is dismayed when her extroverted birth mother finds her in this wry, unsentimental comedy of manners. A good choice for readers of Anne Tyler or Elizabeth Berg.

Selznick Creates Another Masterpiece

You will enter a world of breath-taking beauty and spellbinding mystery when you open Wonderstruck, a world so rich and captivating that you won't want to leave it even when you come to the last page. Two stories revolving around hearing-impaired characters are artfully intertwined. One is set in 1977, is told in text and follows Ben, who suddenly loses his mother and never knew his father. The second, depicted richly in shaded pencil drawings that act like a camera, opens in 1927 as young Rose plans to run away from her stifling father and find her glamorous mother in Manhattan. Ben soon flees his aunt's house in Gunflint Lake, Minn. in a attempt to find his father in New York City.

ZooZical a Musical Story

Have you ever wondered what zoo animals do when the visitors go home? Do they go to sleep, eat lots of food, play games? Well the zoo animals of ZooZical decide to put on a musical after all their visitors go home. In their musical, they sing some classic songs, but in a new, zooified way. Check out ZooZical, and enjoy they amazing talents of the giraffes, lions, kangaroos and one very special hippo.

This may even inspire you to read about more talented animals!