Catalog

Search our Catalog

Fiction

Fiction books

For Those Who Liked Eragon

The false prince by Jennifer A. Nielsen


Sabriel by Garth Nix


The Amulet of Samarkand by Jonathan Stroud


Dragon keeper by Carole Wilkinson


Dragonflight by Anne McCaffrey


The eye of the world by Robert Jordan


Dragons of autumn twilight by Margaret Weiss and Tracy Hickman ; poetry by Michael Williams ; interior art by Denis Beauvais

New Book Club in a Bag Kit

1984: a novel [kit] by George Orwell ; with an afterword by Erich Fromm — Written in 1948, George Orwell's classic novel created a chilling future where Big Brother and the Thought Police monitored every move. And while the year 1984 has come and gone, Orwell's haunting vision of the world remains timeless.

Murder Will Out: September 2014

As a mystery reader, have you noticed how often food is described in the story?  Someone is always sitting down to a meal or being called from a meal.  The following feature caterers, bakers, and recipes.

What We're Reading: September, 2014

This month is a mix of history, mystery, a book about books and reading, growing old, and second chances.

Can't we talk about something more pleasant? by Roz Chast

The Mountaintop School for Dogs and other second chances by Ellen Cooney

The 40s: the story of a decade by The New Yorker ; edited by Henry Finder with Giles Harvey ; introduction by David Remnick

The shelf: from LEQ to LES by Phyllis Rose

Buried in a bog by Sheila Connolly

If you like Christopher Paolini, Terry Goodkind and J.R.R. Tolkien

try these:

Joust by Mercedes Lackey


The eye of the world by Robert Jordan


Lamentation by Ken Scholes


Acacia: a novel by David Anthony Durham


A game of thrones by George R.R. Martin

Lunch and a Book September 2014

On Thursday, September 11 at noon, we will be discussing:

1984: a novel by George Orwell ; with an afterword by Erich Fromm — Written in 1948, George Orwell's classic novel created a chilling future where Big Brother and the Thought Police monitored every move. And while the year 1984 has come and gone, Orwell's haunting vision of the world remains timeless.

For more insight on this work, take a look at these interviews with Cory Doctorow or Christopher Hitchens.

Canton Seniors Book Discussion: September 25, 2014

Canton Seniors Book Group will meet on Thursday, September 25 from 2:00-3:00PM in Canton Public Library's Group Study Room A.  We will be discussing Mark Zusak THE BOOK THIEF.  Copies of the book can be requested at the Information Services Desk.

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak.  1939. Nazi Germany. Death has never been busier and is going to become even more so.  Orphaned Liesel Meminger is living outside of Munich, scratching out a meager existence for herself by stealing when she encounters something she can't resist-books. With the help of her accordion-playing foster father, Liesel learns to read and shares her stolen books with her neighbors during bombing raids as well as with the Jewish man hidden in her basement.

Read-alikes for THE LIGHT BETWEEN OCEANS

The movie rights have been purchased for M. L. Stedman's THE LIGHT BETWEEN OCEANS.  wonderful book about a lighthouse keeper and his wife. Tom is a WW I veteran, one of the 'lucky ones', he has lost a limb nor his mind but he deliberately seeks the solitude of an island off Australia.  He meets and marries, Isabel. But times on the island are tough for Isabel as she suffers multiple miscarriages and a stillbirth in just four years time. When a boat with a dead man and a young baby washes ashore, Isabel convinces Tom to let her keep the baby as their own, but the consequences to her actions may be dire.  Similar books are:

The sandcastle girls: a novel by Chris Bohjalian

The orchardist: a novel by Amanda Coplin

The secret keeper: a novel by Kate Morton

The house I loved by Tatiana de Rosnay

Murder Will Out: Bill Morris at Nicola's Books

Author Talk:  Thursday, August 14 at 7:00PM

Detroit native Bill Morris will be at Nicola's Books in Ann Arbor for a reading and signing of his new novel, 'Motor City Burning'. Detroit comes alive in a powerful and thrilling novel set amidst the chaos of the race riots and the serenity of Tiger Baseball on Opening Day 1968.

Savvy Seniors

Wayne County Regional Library for the Blind and Physically Handicapped's Brown Bag Book Club will meet Tuesday, August 12, Noon to 2 PM.

This month they are discussing The Chaperone by Laura Moriarty and Orange is the New Black by Piper Kerman.

 Coffee will be served. Please bring your own lunch. Meetings are typically held on the second Tuesday of each month at the Library for the Blind, 30555 Michigan Avenue in Westland.

Murder Will Out: August, 2014

A beleaguered NYPD detective, a housekeeper, a reformed hacker, a widowed FBI agent, a psychic tarot card reader, a forensic scientists, and a demoted Detective Inspector. What do they have in common?  Each is the lead character in one of these debut mysteries.

Never alone by C.J. Carpenter



Death comes to the village by Catherine Lloyd


The quantum breach by Denver Acey

Ice shear by M.P. Cooley

The White Magic Five and Dime by New York times bestselling author Steve Hockensmith with Lisa Falco

Everyone lies by A.D. Garrett

New Book Club in a Bag Kit

The light between oceans: a novel [kit] by M.L. Stedman — After four harrowing years on the Western Front, Tom Sherbourne returns to Australia and becomes the lighthouse keeper on Janus Rock. To this isolated island, where the supply boat comes once a season and shore leaves are granted every other year at best, Tom brings his young wife Isabel. Years later, after two miscarriages and one stillbirth, the grieving Isabel hears a baby's cries on the wind. A boat has washed up onshore carrying a dead man and a living baby. Tom wants to report the man and infant immediately. But Isabel has taken the tiny baby to her breast. Against Tom's judgment, they claim her as their own and name her Lucy. Returning to the mainland when she is two, Tom and Isabel are reminded that there are other people in the world and discover that their choice has devastated one of them.

Dystopian Sci-Fi For Teens

The eye of minds by James Dashner


Under the never sky by Veronica Rossi


Breathe by Sarah Crossan


The darkest minds by Alexandra Bracken


The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey


Partials by Dan Wells


In the After by Demitria Lunetta


Starters by Lissa Price

Tween Sci-Fi - Fantasy - Adventure

Wild born by Brandon Mull


A dark inheritance by Chris d'Lacey


The dragonet prophecy by Tui T. Sutherland


Young samurai: the way of the warrior by Chris Bradford


The luck uglies by Paul Durham ; illustrations by Pétur Antonsson


SYLO by D.J. MacHale


The Foundry's edge by Cameron Baity & Benny Zelkowicz

Murder Will Out: 2014 Nero Wolf Award Finalists Announced

The 2014 Nero Wolf Award Finalists were announced this past week.  The winners will be announced in December at the annual Black Orchid Banquet.

Ask Not by Max Allan Collins

Murder as a Fine Art by Charles Morrell

Three can keep a secret: a Joe Gunther novel by Archer Mayor

Murder as a fine art by David Morrell

A question of honor by Charles Todd

Look What's In Large Print: July 2014

The focus is on Mystery. The Agatha Christie Estate has authorized release of the complete Agatha Christie crime novels in Large Print. If you haven't read the Queen of Mystery start with her first book, THE MYSTERIOUS AFFAIR AT STYLES which introduces Hercules Poirot. THE PAWNBROKER is the first Charlie Henry book in Aimee and David Thurlo's new series.

The mysterious affair at Styles [large print]: Poirot's first case by Agatha Christie

No man's nightingale [large print] by Ruth Rendell

Pursuit [large print] by Gene Hackman

The pawnbroker [large print] by David and Aimee Thurlo

That old black magic [large print] by Mary Jane Clark

John Green Read Alikes

If you just can't get enough of John Green's books you may want to try some of these similar titles:

If you love The Fault in Our Stars try:

If I stay: a novel by Gayle Forman

Me and Earl and the dying girl: a novel by Jesse Andrews

Bitter sweet by LaVyrle Spencer

Deadline by Chris Crutcher


Before I die
by Jenny Downham







If you love Looking For Alaska try:

Thirteen reasons why: a novel by Jay Asher

Please ignore Vera Dietz by A.S. King