Catalog

Search our Catalog

Fiction

Fiction books

Lunch and a Book 2014 Reading List

Lunch and a Book meets the second Thursday of the month from 12:00-1:00PM.  No registration required, participation encouraged.

Quiet: the power of introverts in a world that can't stop talking by Susan Cain — January 9th


Defending Jacob: a novel by William Landay — February 13th





Before you know kindness: a novel by Chris Bohjalian — March 13th

The dog stars by Peter Heller — April 10th


The round house by Louise Erdrich — May 8th

If You Like Alice Hoffman...

If you like Alice Hoffman may we suggest...

A bigamist's daughter by Alice McDermott

Buster Midnight's Cafe by Sandra Dallas


Echo by Francesca Lia Block



Flight behavior: a novel by Barbara Kingsolver

The round house by Louise Erdrich

The flight of Gemma Hardy: a novel by Margot Livesey

The mercy rule by Perri Klass

The beginner's goodbye: a novel by Anne Tyler

New Book Club in a Bag Kit

And the mountains echoed [kit] by Khaled Hosseini — An unforgettable novel about finding a lost piece of yourself in someone else. Khaled Hosseini has written a new novel about how we love, how we take care of one another, and how the choices we make resonate through generations. In this tale revolving around not just parents and children but brothers and sisters, cousins and caretakers, Hosseini explores the many ways in which families nurture, wound, betray, honor, and sacrifice for one another; and how often we are surprised by the actions of those closest to us, at the times that matter most. Following its characters and the ramifications of their lives and choices and loves around the globe — from Kabul to Paris to San Francisco to the Greek island of Tinos — the story expands gradually outward, becoming more emotionally complex and powerful with each turning page.

What We're Reading: October 2014

Lately, I've been reading non-fiction. A well-written narrative not only informs, it entertains.  Did you know Canton Public Library has a new book discussion group?  The Nonfiction Book Group will meet the third Saturday of the month.  Their first meeting is November 15 at 10:00 AM.

The First World War in 100 objects by John Hughes-Wilson ; IWM consultant, Nigel Steel ; editor, Mark Hawkins-Dady

The history of rock 'n' roll in ten songs by Greil Marcus

Music in the shadows: noir musical films by Sheri Chinen Biesen

Seven elements that changed the world: an adventure of ingenuity and discovery by John Browne

In the kingdom of ice: the grand and terrible polar voyage of the USS Jeannette by Hampton Sides

Canton Seniors Book Group: October 23, 2014

Canton Seniors Book Groups meets Thursday, October 23 from 2:00-3:00PM in Canton Public Library's Group Study Room A.  We will be discussing JoJo Moyes' ME BEFORE YOU.  Request a copy at the Information Services Desk.

ME BEFORE YOU by JoJo Moyes.  Me Before You brings to life two people who couldn't have less in common, Louisa Clark a very ordinary girl and former Master of the Universe, Will Trevor.  It's a heartbreakingly romantic novel that asks, 'What do you do when making the person you love happy also means breaking your own heart?' .

For Those Who Liked Eragon

The false prince by Jennifer A. Nielsen


Sabriel by Garth Nix


The Amulet of Samarkand by Jonathan Stroud


Dragon keeper by Carole Wilkinson


Dragonflight by Anne McCaffrey


The eye of the world by Robert Jordan


Dragons of autumn twilight by Margaret Weiss and Tracy Hickman ; poetry by Michael Williams ; interior art by Denis Beauvais

New Book Club in a Bag Kit

1984: a novel [kit] by George Orwell ; with an afterword by Erich Fromm — Written in 1948, George Orwell's classic novel created a chilling future where Big Brother and the Thought Police monitored every move. And while the year 1984 has come and gone, Orwell's haunting vision of the world remains timeless.

Murder Will Out: September 2014

As a mystery reader, have you noticed how often food is described in the story?  Someone is always sitting down to a meal or being called from a meal.  The following feature caterers, bakers, and recipes.

What We're Reading: September, 2014

This month is a mix of history, mystery, a book about books and reading, growing old, and second chances.

Can't we talk about something more pleasant? by Roz Chast

The Mountaintop School for Dogs and other second chances by Ellen Cooney

The 40s: the story of a decade by The New Yorker ; edited by Henry Finder with Giles Harvey ; introduction by David Remnick

The shelf: from LEQ to LES by Phyllis Rose

Buried in a bog by Sheila Connolly

If you like Christopher Paolini, Terry Goodkind and J.R.R. Tolkien

try these:

Joust by Mercedes Lackey


The eye of the world by Robert Jordan


Lamentation by Ken Scholes


Acacia: a novel by David Anthony Durham


A game of thrones by George R.R. Martin

Lunch and a Book September 2014

On Thursday, September 11 at noon, we will be discussing:

1984: a novel by George Orwell ; with an afterword by Erich Fromm — Written in 1948, George Orwell's classic novel created a chilling future where Big Brother and the Thought Police monitored every move. And while the year 1984 has come and gone, Orwell's haunting vision of the world remains timeless.

For more insight on this work, take a look at these interviews with Cory Doctorow or Christopher Hitchens.

Canton Seniors Book Discussion: September 25, 2014

Canton Seniors Book Group will meet on Thursday, September 25 from 2:00-3:00PM in Canton Public Library's Group Study Room A.  We will be discussing Mark Zusak THE BOOK THIEF.  Copies of the book can be requested at the Information Services Desk.

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak.  1939. Nazi Germany. Death has never been busier and is going to become even more so.  Orphaned Liesel Meminger is living outside of Munich, scratching out a meager existence for herself by stealing when she encounters something she can't resist-books. With the help of her accordion-playing foster father, Liesel learns to read and shares her stolen books with her neighbors during bombing raids as well as with the Jewish man hidden in her basement.

Read-alikes for THE LIGHT BETWEEN OCEANS

The movie rights have been purchased for M. L. Stedman's THE LIGHT BETWEEN OCEANS.  wonderful book about a lighthouse keeper and his wife. Tom is a WW I veteran, one of the 'lucky ones', he has lost a limb nor his mind but he deliberately seeks the solitude of an island off Australia.  He meets and marries, Isabel. But times on the island are tough for Isabel as she suffers multiple miscarriages and a stillbirth in just four years time. When a boat with a dead man and a young baby washes ashore, Isabel convinces Tom to let her keep the baby as their own, but the consequences to her actions may be dire.  Similar books are:

The sandcastle girls: a novel by Chris Bohjalian

The orchardist: a novel by Amanda Coplin

The secret keeper: a novel by Kate Morton

The house I loved by Tatiana de Rosnay

Murder Will Out: Bill Morris at Nicola's Books

Author Talk:  Thursday, August 14 at 7:00PM

Detroit native Bill Morris will be at Nicola's Books in Ann Arbor for a reading and signing of his new novel, 'Motor City Burning'. Detroit comes alive in a powerful and thrilling novel set amidst the chaos of the race riots and the serenity of Tiger Baseball on Opening Day 1968.

Savvy Seniors

Wayne County Regional Library for the Blind and Physically Handicapped's Brown Bag Book Club will meet Tuesday, August 12, Noon to 2 PM.

This month they are discussing The Chaperone by Laura Moriarty and Orange is the New Black by Piper Kerman.

 Coffee will be served. Please bring your own lunch. Meetings are typically held on the second Tuesday of each month at the Library for the Blind, 30555 Michigan Avenue in Westland.

Murder Will Out: August, 2014

A beleaguered NYPD detective, a housekeeper, a reformed hacker, a widowed FBI agent, a psychic tarot card reader, a forensic scientists, and a demoted Detective Inspector. What do they have in common?  Each is the lead character in one of these debut mysteries.

Never alone by C.J. Carpenter



Death comes to the village by Catherine Lloyd


The quantum breach by Denver Acey

Ice shear by M.P. Cooley

The White Magic Five and Dime by New York times bestselling author Steve Hockensmith with Lisa Falco

Everyone lies by A.D. Garrett

New Book Club in a Bag Kit

The light between oceans: a novel [kit] by M.L. Stedman — After four harrowing years on the Western Front, Tom Sherbourne returns to Australia and becomes the lighthouse keeper on Janus Rock. To this isolated island, where the supply boat comes once a season and shore leaves are granted every other year at best, Tom brings his young wife Isabel. Years later, after two miscarriages and one stillbirth, the grieving Isabel hears a baby's cries on the wind. A boat has washed up onshore carrying a dead man and a living baby. Tom wants to report the man and infant immediately. But Isabel has taken the tiny baby to her breast. Against Tom's judgment, they claim her as their own and name her Lucy. Returning to the mainland when she is two, Tom and Isabel are reminded that there are other people in the world and discover that their choice has devastated one of them.