Catalog

Search our Catalog

Fiction

Fiction books

Lunch and a Book 2014 Reading List

Lunch and a Book meets the second Thursday of the month from 12:00-1:00PM.  No registration required, participation encouraged.

Quiet: the power of introverts in a world that can't stop talking by Susan Cain — January 9th


Defending Jacob: a novel by William Landay — February 13th





Before you know kindness: a novel by Chris Bohjalian — March 13th

The dog stars by Peter Heller — April 10th


The round house by Louise Erdrich — May 8th

Read-alikes for THE LIGHT BETWEEN OCEANS

The movie rights have been purchased for M. L. Stedman's THE LIGHT BETWEEN OCEANS.  wonderful book about a lighthouse keeper and his wife. Tom is a WW I veteran, one of the 'lucky ones', he has lost a limb nor his mind but he deliberately seeks the solitude of an island off Australia.  He meets and marries, Isabel. But times on the island are tough for Isabel as she suffers multiple miscarriages and a stillbirth in just four years time. When a boat with a dead man and a young baby washes ashore, Isabel convinces Tom to let her keep the baby as their own, but the consequences to her actions may be dire.  Similar books are:

The sandcastle girls: a novel by Chris Bohjalian

The orchardist: a novel by Amanda Coplin

The secret keeper: a novel by Kate Morton

The house I loved by Tatiana de Rosnay

Murder Will Out: Bill Morris at Nicola's Books

Author Talk:  Thursday, August 14 at 7:00PM

Detroit native Bill Morris will be at Nicola's Books in Ann Arbor for a reading and signing of his new novel, 'Motor City Burning'. Detroit comes alive in a powerful and thrilling novel set amidst the chaos of the race riots and the serenity of Tiger Baseball on Opening Day 1968.

Savvy Seniors

Wayne County Regional Library for the Blind and Physically Handicapped's Brown Bag Book Club will meet Tuesday, August 12, Noon to 2 PM.

This month they are discussing The Chaperone by Laura Moriarty and Orange is the New Black by Piper Kerman.

 Coffee will be served. Please bring your own lunch. Meetings are typically held on the second Tuesday of each month at the Library for the Blind, 30555 Michigan Avenue in Westland.

Murder Will Out: August, 2014

A beleaguered NYPD detective, a housekeeper, a reformed hacker, a widowed FBI agent, a psychic tarot card reader, a forensic scientists, and a demoted Detective Inspector. What do they have in common?  Each is the lead character in one of these debut mysteries.

Never alone by C.J. Carpenter



Death comes to the village by Catherine Lloyd


The quantum breach by Denver Acey

Ice shear by M.P. Cooley

The White Magic Five and Dime by New York times bestselling author Steve Hockensmith with Lisa Falco

Everyone lies by A.D. Garrett

New Book Club in a Bag Kit

The light between oceans: a novel [kit] by M.L. Stedman — After four harrowing years on the Western Front, Tom Sherbourne returns to Australia and becomes the lighthouse keeper on Janus Rock. To this isolated island, where the supply boat comes once a season and shore leaves are granted every other year at best, Tom brings his young wife Isabel. Years later, after two miscarriages and one stillbirth, the grieving Isabel hears a baby's cries on the wind. A boat has washed up onshore carrying a dead man and a living baby. Tom wants to report the man and infant immediately. But Isabel has taken the tiny baby to her breast. Against Tom's judgment, they claim her as their own and name her Lucy. Returning to the mainland when she is two, Tom and Isabel are reminded that there are other people in the world and discover that their choice has devastated one of them.

Dystopian Sci-Fi For Teens

The eye of minds by James Dashner


Under the never sky by Veronica Rossi


Breathe by Sarah Crossan


The darkest minds by Alexandra Bracken


The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey


Partials by Dan Wells


In the After by Demitria Lunetta


Starters by Lissa Price

Tween Sci-Fi - Fantasy - Adventure

Wild born by Brandon Mull


A dark inheritance by Chris d'Lacey


The dragonet prophecy by Tui T. Sutherland


Young samurai: the way of the warrior by Chris Bradford


The luck uglies by Paul Durham ; illustrations by Pétur Antonsson


SYLO by D.J. MacHale


The Foundry's edge by Cameron Baity & Benny Zelkowicz

Murder Will Out: 2014 Nero Wolf Award Finalists Announced

The 2014 Nero Wolf Award Finalists were announced this past week.  The winners will be announced in December at the annual Black Orchid Banquet.

Ask Not by Max Allan Collins

Murder as a Fine Art by Charles Morrell

Three can keep a secret: a Joe Gunther novel by Archer Mayor

Murder as a fine art by David Morrell

A question of honor by Charles Todd

Look What's In Large Print: July 2014

The focus is on Mystery. The Agatha Christie Estate has authorized release of the complete Agatha Christie crime novels in Large Print. If you haven't read the Queen of Mystery start with her first book, THE MYSTERIOUS AFFAIR AT STYLES which introduces Hercules Poirot. THE PAWNBROKER is the first Charlie Henry book in Aimee and David Thurlo's new series.

The mysterious affair at Styles [large print]: Poirot's first case by Agatha Christie

No man's nightingale [large print] by Ruth Rendell

Pursuit [large print] by Gene Hackman

The pawnbroker [large print] by David and Aimee Thurlo

That old black magic [large print] by Mary Jane Clark

John Green Read Alikes

If you just can't get enough of John Green's books you may want to try some of these similar titles:

If you love The Fault in Our Stars try:

If I stay: a novel by Gayle Forman

Me and Earl and the dying girl: a novel by Jesse Andrews

Bitter sweet by LaVyrle Spencer

Deadline by Chris Crutcher


Before I die
by Jenny Downham







If you love Looking For Alaska try:

Thirteen reasons why: a novel by Jay Asher

Please ignore Vera Dietz by A.S. King

New Book Club in a Bag Kit

Mr. Penumbra's 24-hour bookstore [kit] by Robin Sloan — A gleeful tale of global conspiracy, complex code-breaking, high-tech data visualization, young love, rollicking adventure, and the secret to eternal life--mostly set in a hole-in-the-wall San Francisco bookstore. The Great Recession has shuffled Clay Jannon out of his job as a Web-design drone--and serendipity, sheer curiosity, and the ability to climb a ladder like a monkey has landed him a new gig working the night shift at Mr. Penumbra's 24-Hour Bookstore. But after just a few days on the job, Clay begins to realize that this store is even more curious than the name suggests.

New Comic Book Rack

Kids, do you love reading comic books? We have an amazing
selection of comic books thatcomic book rack you can check out for 1 week.  Some of the titles we have include The Powerpuff Girls, Transformers, Star Wars, the Simpsons, Godzilla, and Archie. Be sure to check out our new rack and find some gems for you to read this summer! Enjoy!

Get your Game On!

Here are some great titles to get you on the path to earning your Game On Badge!

Running loose by Chris Crutcher


Screaming quietly by Evan Jacobs


Dairy queen [sound recording]: a novel by Catherine Gilbert Murdock


The game of triumphs by Laura Powell


The killing woods by Lucy Christopher


Panic by Lauren Oliver


Z by Michael Thomas Ford

Game On Fiction

Calico Joe by John Grisham



For love of the game: a novel by Michael Shaara






Foul lines: a novel about the NBA by Jack MacCallum and Jon Wertheim



Miracle cure by Harlan Coben



Dream breakers by Elizabeth Gill



Hide & seek: a novel by James Patterson






Running the rift: a novel by Naomi Benaron

Great Outdoor Fiction

Winter study by Nevada Barr



Prodigal summer: a novel by Barbara Kingsolver



The call of the wild by Jack London



Once upon a river: a novel by Bonnie Jo Campbell



True north: a novel by Jim Harrison



Ordinary wolves by Seth Kantner

Curtains Up Fiction

Messy: a novel by Heather Cocks & Jessica Morgan

Hollyweird by Terri Clark

The art of wishing by Lindsay Ribar

Broadway lights: a novel by Jen Calonita

Love me by Rachel Shukert

So much it hurts by Monique Polak

Starstruck by Rachel Shukert

The trouble with flirting by Claire LaZebnik