Catalog

Search our Catalog

Web Video

How to Earn Your Curtains Up Badge

Connect Your Summer Teaser

Leo Papa, head of Information Technology, tells us about what we can expect from this year's engaging summer program at CPL.

How to Load Library eBooks to a Kindle

Overdrive, the Library's eBook provider, has produced a quick YouTube video on how to use their site with your Kindle device.

Monkey Video Storytime

In this online storytime, Miss Sandra and Miss Katie tell stories and sing songs all about monkeys.

Goat and Penguin Storytime

In this online storytime, Miss Michelle tells us the story of the three billy goats gruff and reads a poem about five penguins.

Diwali Celebration Recap

On November 9, CPL hosted a Diwali Celebration program that featured traditional and contemporary Indian music, dance, food, and more — all centered around the festival of lights. If you couldn't make it that night, check out the video above and pictures below to get up to speed:

Diaper Drive Ends Tonight

Here's a message from Marybeth Levine, executive director of the Detroit Area Diaper Bank, who is braving the wind and snow to collect diapers during our drive.

Stuff the Truck Diaper Drive, Wednesday and Thursday!

We are pumped up for this year's diaper drive. Thanks to Canton Patch for helping us get the word out.

Bring diapers of any size or brand to CPL on Wednesday November 16 and Thursday the 17th, from 9:00 AM to 9:00 PM. The diapers will go to Detroit Area Diaper Bank, a nonprofit charitable organization that distributes diapers to Michigan support agencies.

The Monkey's Heart

In this puppet show based on an Indian trickster tale, hungry Crocodile tries to eat Monkey's heart. Will Monkey be able to trick Crocodile and get away? Watch and find out!

Book Gems: Nonfiction

On September 29, the librarians of CPL presented the hidden 'gems' in the stacks; books you might never have heard of but that you won't want to miss. In the video below, Lisa tells us about several good nonfiction titles:

Did you miss the program the first time around? Did we miss some hidden gems? Tell us if you'd like us to do this program again in the comments. Also, enjoy the full list of nonfiction books below:

Devil in the details: scenes from an obsessive girlhood by Jennifer Traig — As a teenager in California during the eighties, Traig's obsessive compulsive disorder made her disinfect everything around her. She looks back with an unflinching eye — sharing even the most painful details — but she does it with humor and compassion. If you like memoirs/essays of David Sedaris or Augusten Burroughs, or Rhoda Janzen’s Mennonite in a little black dress this is for you.


Truck: a love story
by Michael Perry — In this delightful memoir Michael Perry describes a year of his life in rural Wisconsin with the understated writing style typical of a northerner. The truck in the title is a decrepit 1951 L-120 International pickup and its history and repairs are woven in to Perry’s life as he muses on a variety of topics including: growing vegetables, writing, and falling in love. For readers of Garrison Keillor’s books or Barbara Kingsolver’s Animal, Vegetable, Miracle.

Michigan eLibrary

Michigan eLibrary, or MeL for short, is a great site for students that features many sources of information like full text articles, genealogy, reading advice and online resources, just to name a few. Or check out a YouTube video tutorial which gives a good overview of MeL resources that targets middle/high school students through freshman/sophomores in college.

Book Gems

Join us Thursday, September 29, from 7:00-8:00 PM for Book Gems. Our staff will explore some great hidden-in-plain-sight reads in Canton Public Library's fiction and nonfiction collections. Discover new and interesting titles for your book group or reading stack.

ABC Activity Time

ABC Activity Time is an informal session where parents, caregivers, children and babies meet together in a relaxed environment. This drop-in playtime includes sensory activities, puzzles, and matching games for children ages birth to 5, with caregiver. No registration required.

Program Dates and Times (September 12-October 15):
  • Mondays-Saturdays, 10:30-11:00AM
  • Mondays, 1:30-2:00PM
  • Tuesday & Wednesday, 7:30-8:00PM

Online Storytime: Weather

Miss Marianne and Miss Kristel tell stories and sing a song all about clouds, rain, and the Sun.

Thorndyke Thoughts

Hey Kids!
So LB and I have earned our next Connect Your Summer badge. LB had an adventure in Seattle, and we earned the Adventurer Badge! Before he left, I started reading all sorts of books about Washington State, so I knew where LB was going. It's quite a cool state! There are lots of mountains, and ocean. LB even saw a seal!

But the real adventure happened at Pike Place Fish Market. The Market is a lot like Canton's Farmers Market, except that it's open every day and is a lot bigger than ours. And they sell fish! They don't just sell fish, however, they also THROW them! When LB went to the market, they were throwing more than just fish. Here's a video to prove it!

Man. LB gets to have all the fun. Over on Flickr you can see all the other fun things LB did in Seattle, including his visit to Seattle Public Library. LB's just itching to get to go on another adventure soon. I can't wait to see where he goes next!

Goodness! The summer is almost half over! I'm going to have to start working double time on my badges to have them all earned by the end of the summer! Hope you are having fun earning all of yours! Until next time!
Bear Hugs!
Thorndyke.

CoverSpy

If you watched, and liked, the viral Youtube video Hey You! What Song are you Listening to? NEW YORK, you might be interested to find out that a Tumblr has been doing the same thing with New Yorkers, but for books; and they've been at it for a long time. CoverSpy is "A team of publishing nerds hits the subways, streets, parks & bars to find out what New Yorkers are reading right now." Here are some spied covers from the site, linked here to the CPL catalog:

Mountains beyond mountains by Tracy Kidder — At CoverSpy — (F, 20s, circle-patterned dress, C train)

The fountainhead by Ayn Rand, with an afterword by Leonard Peikoff — At CoverSpy — (M, 20s, ordered iced coffee w/ just a tiny bit of milk, Grey Dog on Carmine)

Fire and rain: the Beatles, Simon & Garfunkel, James Taylor, CSNY, and the lost story of 1970 by David Browne — At CoverSpy — (F, 30s, brown hair in ponytail, orange laptop bag, Swedish Hasbeens, L train)

Canton Parks


Brad disc golfing at Freedom Park
Canton Township prides itself on providing an excellent system of parks which offer a variety of activities for residents, plus a place for families to gather for picnics and other outdoor activities:

How to Use the Optelec Viewer

Canton Public Library's Optelec viewer provides magnification, color and contrast support, and other benefits for visual accessibility. In this video, Elaine shows us how to use the viewer to reader a book.

You can find the Optelec machine between the fireplace are and the fiction books, not far from the Web Express computer stations.

Ebay Selling — An Introduction

Most people have a stash of unused items at home. Maybe you received a gift that didn't quite fit, or have things leftover from an old hobby or collection. Join us in the Internet Lab on March 15th at 7:00PM for our Ebay Selling Class! We will teach you how to turned those unwanted items into cold hard cash! This class will cover Ebay selling basics and cover topics like researching your item, listing fees, collecting payment and other tips for running a successful sale. Hurry registration is limited.

Look! In the Sky!


It's Super Grover 2.0! This week on Sesame Street is all about the new and improved super monster, who is faster, braver, and cuter than ever! Can't get enough of the loveable, furry blue guy? Check out one of Canton Public Library's Sesame Street movies starring his alter ego. Have fun!