Veterans

Murder Will Out: Harry Bosch Returns

Look for the return of Bosch to amazon.com's streaming series on February 13.  Featuring the character from Michael Connelly’s best-selling Harry Bosch series, amazon.com Prime tested the waters last Fall with a one hour Bosch videocast.  If you haven't read this award-winning series try it now.

The black echo by Michael Connelly

Read-alikes for THE LIGHT BETWEEN OCEANS

The movie rights have been purchased for M. L. Stedman's THE LIGHT BETWEEN OCEANS.  wonderful book about a lighthouse keeper and his wife. Tom is a WW I veteran, one of the 'lucky ones', he has lost a limb nor his mind but he deliberately seeks the solitude of an island off Australia.  He meets and marries, Isabel. But times on the island are tough for Isabel as she suffers multiple miscarriages and a stillbirth in just four years time. When a boat with a dead man and a young baby washes ashore, Isabel convinces Tom to let her keep the baby as their own, but the consequences to her actions may be dire.  Similar books are:

The sandcastle girls: a novel by Chris Bohjalian

The orchardist: a novel by Amanda Coplin

The secret keeper: a novel by Kate Morton

Time Was...Time is... May 2013

May is a month full of celebrations: National Teachers' Day, Mothers' Day, Memorial Day, Older Adults Month...

I'd like to apologize to every teacher I ever had: my year as a rookie teacher at Northeast High by Tony Danza

The shared wisdom of mothers and daughters: the timelessness of simple truths by Alexandra Stoddard

The legacy: Honor Flight Michigan by Timothy W. Downey ; with Melissa Downey, Catherine Kavanaugh, Gabe Downey

30 lessons for living: tried and true advice from the wisest Americans by Karl Pillemer

Celebrations: rituals of peace and prayer by Maya Angelou

Canton Seniors Book Discussion August 23, 2012

Canton Seniors Book Discussion group will meet on Thursday, August 23 from 2:00-3:00 PM in Canton Public Library's Group Study Room A. This month we are reading:

One was a soldier: a Clare Fergusson/Russ van Alstyne mystery by Julia Spencer-Fleming

Book Club Choices: May 2011

Has your book group tried our Book Club in a Bag kits? Each kit has 8 books, a resource guide with book discussion questions, author information, and articles relating to the book. A complete list of kits is available at: Book Club in a Bag. To reserve a kit for your group, contact the Adult Reference Desk at (734) 397-0999.

An unfinished life [Large print kit] by Mark Spragg

Water for elephants: [kit] a novel by Sara Gruen

Wicked: the life and times of the wicked witch of the West [kit] by Gregory Maguire

The year of magical thinking [kit] by Joan Didion

Murder Will Out - November 2010

"In war, there are no unwounded soldiers." -José Narosky.
Some of these mystery stories take place in a time of war, some in its aftermath. No one is unscathed…

Blood Alone by James R. Benn

Bitterroot by James Lee Burke

Thirteenth Night: a Medieval Mystery by Alan Gordon

The War Against Miss Winter by Kathryn Miller Haines

Faded Coat of Blue by Owen Parry

Subscribe to RSS - Veterans