Canton Seniors Book Group: November 20, 2014

Canton Seniors Book Group meets Thursday, November 20 from 2:00-3:00PM in Canton Public Library's Group Study Room A.  Request a copy of the book from a librarian at the Information Desk.     NOTE: We meet a week earlier this month.

      DALLAS, 1963 by Bill Minutaglio and Steven L. Davis.  Here at long last is an accurate understanding of what happened in the weeks and months leading to John F. Kennedy's assassination. DALLAS 1963 is not only a fresh look at a momentous national tragedy but a sobering reminder of how radical, polarizing ideologies can poison a city-and a nation. Winner of the PEN Center USA Literary Award for Research Nonfiction

What We're Reading: December 2013

Books the Canton Public Library staff are reading and believe deserve a moment in the spotlight - fiction, non-fiction, old and new:

Dallas 1963 by Bill Minutaglio and Steven L. Davis

No escape by Mary Burton

The particular sadness of lemon cake: a novel by Aimee Bender

The system: the glory and scandal of big-time college football by Jeff Benedict and Armen Keteyian

Johnny Carson by Henry Bushkin

Murder Will Out: November 2013

If you enjoy history with your mystery or like Edward Marston's or Patricia McIntosh's mysteries, try Priscilla Royal. Fans of Joan Hess or Mary Logue will want to read Annelise Ryan's Mattie Winston series. Christopher Spielberg's The Russian Donation won Germany's Friedrich Glauser prize for best debut crime novel. Foodies should try L. J. Washburn's Fresh Baked Mystery series and for something completely different Betty Webb's features Teddy Gunter, Zookeeper at Gunn Zoo.

The sanctity of hate: a medieval mystery by Priscilla Royal

Lucky stiff by Annelise Ryan

The Russian donation by Christoph Spielberg ; translated by Gerald Chapple

Wedding cake killer: a fresh-baked mystery by Livia J. Washburn

Look What's In Large Print August 2013

Sunny days, cooling nights, romance is in the air...

Two of a kind [Large print] by Susan Mallery

Bannon brothers [large print]: triumph by Janet Dailey

Betrayal [large print]: a Bella Terra deception novel by Christina Dodd

The comforts of home [Large print] by Jodi Thomas

Devil's cub [Large print] by Georgette Heyer

What We're Reading July 2013

Happy Birthday, Jamie Lee Burke

The Neon Rain by James L. Burke — James Lee Burke, author of the award-winning Dave Ribocheaux series and a series featuring Billy Bob Holland, Texas attorney and his cousin, Texas sheriff Hackberry Holland, was born this month on December 5, 1936.

Subscribe to RSS - Texas