Catalog

Search our Catalog

Texas

Canton Seniors Book Group: November 20, 2014

Canton Seniors Book Group meets Thursday, November 20 from 2:00-3:00PM in Canton Public Library's Group Study Room A.  Request a copy of the book from a librarian at the Information Desk.     NOTE: We meet a week earlier this month.

      DALLAS, 1963 by Bill Minutaglio and Steven L. Davis.  Here at long last is an accurate understanding of what happened in the weeks and months leading to John F. Kennedy's assassination. DALLAS 1963 is not only a fresh look at a momentous national tragedy but a sobering reminder of how radical, polarizing ideologies can poison a city-and a nation. Winner of the PEN Center USA Literary Award for Research Nonfiction

Murder Will Out: November 2013

If you enjoy history with your mystery or like Edward Marston's or Patricia McIntosh's mysteries, try Priscilla Royal. Fans of Joan Hess or Mary Logue will want to read Annelise Ryan's Mattie Winston series. Christopher Spielberg's The Russian Donation won Germany's Friedrich Glauser prize for best debut crime novel. Foodies should try L. J. Washburn's Fresh Baked Mystery series and for something completely different Betty Webb's features Teddy Gunter, Zookeeper at Gunn Zoo.

The sanctity of hate: a medieval mystery by Priscilla Royal

Lucky stiff by Annelise Ryan

The Russian donation by Christoph Spielberg ; translated by Gerald Chapple

Wedding cake killer: a fresh-baked mystery by Livia J. Washburn

The llama of death: a Gunn Zoo mystery by Betty Webb

Happy Birthday, Jamie Lee Burke

The Neon Rain by James L. Burke — James Lee Burke, author of the award-winning Dave Ribocheaux series and a series featuring Billy Bob Holland, Texas attorney and his cousin, Texas sheriff Hackberry Holland, was born this month on December 5, 1936.

Thorndyke Thoughts

Hey Kids!
Nope, that's not me in that picture! That's my Little Buddy, LB! He get's out more than I do. In fact, in this picture, he's all the way down in Texas! He went there with Miss Kristen a little while back. They did a lot of fun things! They went camping and went to the park, and, as you can tell, LB made some new friends! There's lots of fun things to do in Texas! You can visit the Alamo, pretend you're a cowboy, or eat chili! Did you know that this animal is the state animal of Texas? Did you know that we have a stuffed animal one here in the library? Are you curious to learn more about Texas? There are lots of book about it here in the library!
Man, LB is so lucky! Now that it is warm out, he has all kinds of adventures planned. I'm just staying home. But I'm okay with that because it's my favorite time of year...Summer Reading! I can't wait until you all start coming in to get your reading log! It's only 20 days away you know! Woohoo! I'm so excited! See you SOON!
Bear Hugs!
Thorndyke