Catalog

Search our Catalog

family secrets

Read-alikes for THE LIGHT BETWEEN OCEANS

The movie rights have been purchased for M. L. Stedman's THE LIGHT BETWEEN OCEANS.  wonderful book about a lighthouse keeper and his wife. Tom is a WW I veteran, one of the 'lucky ones', he has lost a limb nor his mind but he deliberately seeks the solitude of an island off Australia.  He meets and marries, Isabel. But times on the island are tough for Isabel as she suffers multiple miscarriages and a stillbirth in just four years time. When a boat with a dead man and a young baby washes ashore, Isabel convinces Tom to let her keep the baby as their own, but the consequences to her actions may be dire.  Similar books are:

The sandcastle girls: a novel by Chris Bohjalian

The orchardist: a novel by Amanda Coplin

The secret keeper: a novel by Kate Morton

The house I loved by Tatiana de Rosnay

Shanghai Girls Book Discussion on January 16

Shanghai girls: a novel by Lisa See — Join us on Monday, January 16 at 7:00 PM in the Purple Room to discuss this historical thriller: Pearl and May are beautiful girls in Shanghai, "the Paris of Asia." Their carefree days are over when their father informs them that to pay off his debts, he must sell his daughters as wives. As bombs fall on Shanghai and the world goes to war, the sisters flee to America to start new lives with their husbands. Along the way, they have to make sacrifices and promise to keep a secret that threatens to tear them apart.

Shanghai Girls Book Discussion on January 16

Shanghai girls: a novel by Lisa See — Join us on Monday, January 16 at 7:00 PM to discuss this historical thriller. Pearl and May are beautiful girls in Shanghai, "the Paris of Asia." Their carefree days are over when their father informs them that to pay off his debts, he must sell his daughters as wives. As bombs fall on Shanghai and the world goes to war, the sisters flee to America to start new lives with their husbands. Along the way, they have to make sacrifices and promise to keep a secret that threatens to tear them apart.

Book Club in a Bag Kit

Annie's ghosts: a journey into a family secret by Steve Luxenberg  Combining the power of reportage with the intrigue of mystery, "Annie's Ghosts" explores the nature of self-deception and self-preservation. The result is equal parts memoir and riveting detective story as one son seeks to uncover family secrets. Set in Detroit, this makes for a great discussion with local interest.

The Weight of Silence

One August morning two seven-year-old girls go missing — Calli Clark, a sweet, gentle girl suffering from selective mutism brought on by a tragedy when she was a toddler; Petra Gregory, Calli's best friend, and her voice. Gudenkauf deftly weaves the threads of suspense, and eventually reveals the answers lie trapped in the silence of unspoken secrets. You can find this book and Gudenkauf's new title These Things Hidden as well as other psychological fiction in the library's collection.