1st Grade

Interested in reading a story that takes place in a different time period? Try checking out one of these historic tales. Books are suggested for First Grade, but remember that each Reader is different, and might find something interesting at another level.

Back of the bus by Aaron Reynolds

From the back of the bus, an African American child watches the arrest of Rosa Parks.

Boxes for Katje by Candace Fleming

After a young Dutch girl writes to her new American friend in thanks for the care package sent after World War II, she begins to receive increasingly larger boxes.

The 18 penny goose by Sally M Walker

Eight-year-old Letty attempts to save her pet goose from marauding British soldiers in New Jersey during the Revolutionary War.

Looking for a good read in a comic book format? Try checking out one of these daring graphic novels. Books are suggested for First Grade, but remember that each reader is different, and might find something interesting at another level.

Arf and the metal detector by Philip Wooderson

When a package for his neighbor shows up at his house, Arf has to see what's inside. The package leads him to more trouble including the discovery of a couple of crooks and buried treasure.

Chi's sweet home. Vol. 4 by Kanata Konami

Chi is a mischievous newborn kitten who on a leisurely stroll with her family finds herself lost and alone. Seperated from the warmth and protection of her mother, she desperately attempts to reunite with her family of feral cats. When the kitten feels all hope is lost, she is found in a park by a young boy named Yohei and his mother. 

What’s the best day for an alien invasion? Halloween, of course. When Eek and Ack visit Earth during the ghoulish holiday, they fit right in with the other trick-or-treaters. Unfortunately, so does Wolfy the Wolfman! Now, the terrible twosome must fight off this frightful furball or fail to conquer Earth once again.

A collection of five stories about a family of silly people, based on noodle folklore from America, India, Japan, Korea, and the Arabian Nights.

Amelia Bedelia by Peggy Parish

A literal-minded housekeeper causes a ruckus in the household when she attempts to make sense of some instructions.

Amelia Bedelia suggests that her Mom, who is feeling blue, go on a play date while Amelia Bedelia is doing the same, and then enlists her friends to help make chalk drawings on the house, sidewalk, and more to brighten Mom's day with her favorite things.

Two brothers get two giant hissing cockroaches as pets and then must figure out a way to deal with the resulting population explosion.

 

Looking for action, adventure, or survival? Try checking out one of these daring tales. Books are suggested for First Grade, but remember that each reader is different and might find something interesting at another level.

The Adventures of Tom Sawyer by Catherine Nichols

Follow the adventures of a mischievous boy in a Mississippi River town and his friends as they run away from home, paint a fence, and find treasure in a cave.

Humphrey goes on a backyard camping adventure with his classmates and meets all kinds of outdoor creatures -- even some scary ones.

Ike's Incredible Ink by Brianne Farley

Cleaning his room and talking to his best friend while preparing to write what he knows will be an incredible story, little Ike discovers that he is missing just the right ink to get his project underway, a need that requires extraordinary effort to fulfill.

Aliens attack! by Lisa Shea

When aliens attack Earth, Iron Man, Thor, Captain America, and Hulk must stop the aliens from taking over the world.

The amazing adventures of Bathman! by Andrew Thomas Pelletier

Bathman saves rubber Ducky from the evil Cap'n Squeegee.

Big hero 6 by Laura Hitchcock

When a criminal threatens to destroy the fast-paced, high-tech city of San Fransokyo, Hiro designs robotic suits and enhancements for himself and his friends so that they can save the day.

When a gusting wind blows the laundry off the clothesline, Charlie travels the world searching for his favorite scarlet superhero underpants.

Possum loves hanging upside down. It makes him feel new. When Alien tries hanging upside down, the electricity rushes to its head. But these friends stick together, and that's what counts!

On their first assignment, two young tooth fairy sisters journey by night into the huge world of humans to collect Daniel Dangerfield's tooth and fly it safely home.

Barbie and the secret door by Mary Tillworth

Shy princess Alexa works together with a mermaid and a fairy who have lost their powers to save all the magic in the land.

When Fluffy the class guinea pig goes home with Wade for the weekend, Wade loses a tooth and Fluffy learns about the Tooth Fairy.

 

The following titles may be enjoyed by First Graders. All readers are at different levels and have different interests, so not all titles will appeal to, or be appropriate for, all readers. For additional recommendations ask at the Children's Reference Desk.

Fiction

Fiction books for First Grade can be found in a variety of locations, including J PICTURE BOOK, J READER, and KIDS GRAPHIC NOVEL. Click on each title for location and availability.

While Ballet Cat and Sparkles the Pony are trying to decide what to play, they each share an important secret. This story will appeal to fans of Elephant and Piggie who are looking for something a little harder. Also check out Narwal and Jelly in the KIDS GRAPHIC NOVEL section.

 

Truth is sometimes stranger than fiction. Explore these fascinating stories about real people. Books are suggested for First Grade, but remember that each Reader is different, and might find something interesting at another level.

This inspirational tribute to Anne Frank describes how, after being deprived of the outdoors for years, she found hope and courage while hiding in the secret annex by glimpsing the branches of a tall chestnut tree through an attic window.

This biography of astronomer Annie Jump Cannon describes how she helped develop the system for classifying the temperature of stars. Other astronomers of interest include: Henrietta Leavitt, Galileo, and Eratosthenes.

Farmer Will Allen and the Growing Table by Jacqueline Briggs Martin

Explore the story of former basketball star and current urban farmer and activist, Will Allen, whose vision of gardening from abandoned urban sites led to a grassroots feeding craze.

Subscribe to RSS - 1st Grade