May We Suggest

May We Suggest?This blog provides customized book recommendations to our patrons. To get your own, just fill out the May We Suggest form and you can expect results within 10 days. You can also like May We Suggest on facebook.

Murder Will Out: December 2013

2013 Award Winning Mysteries you may have missed:

The beautiful mystery by Louise Penny — Best Novel: Anthony Award & Macavity Award

Don't ever get old by Daniel Friedman — Best First Novel: Macavity Award

The Blackhouse: a novel by Peter May — Best Novel: Barry Award

A killing in the hills by Julia Keller — Best First Novel: Barry Award

Taken by Robert Crais — Best Hardcover: Shamus Award

Tales of Kindness and Giving for 1st - 3rd Grade

Bagels from Benny by Aubrey Davis ; illustrated by Dusan Petricic

The legend of the bluebonnet: an old tale of Texas by retold and illustrated by Tomie dePaola

The giving tree by Shel Silverstein

Brother sun, sister moon: the life and stories of St. Francis by Margaret Mayo ; illustrated by Peter Malone

The velveteen rabbit by retold and Illustrated by Komako Sakai ; translated from the Japanese by Yuki Kaneko

Food from All Over the World

New and delightful cookbooks and memoirs highlighting cuisines from many cultures.

Mastering the art of Soviet cooking: a memoir of love and longing by Anya von Bremzen — This witty memoir captures the feasts and famines of three generations of Russian women.

Japanese soul cooking: ramen, tonkatsu, tempura, and more from the streets and kitchens of Tokyo and beyond by Tadashi Ono and Harris Salat ; photography by Todd Coleman — Comfort food Japanese-style.

Mastering the art of French eating: lessons in food and love from a year in Paris by Ann Mah — When her diplomat husband is assigned to Paris, Ann plots gastronomic adventures à deux. But when he is called to Iraq on a year-long post, Ann must stay alone in the City of Light.

John F. Kennedy Assassination 50th Anniversary

 John F. Kennedy, the 36th president of the United States was assassinated in Dallas, Texas 50 years ago this year. It was an unforgettable day for most Americans who grew up in the 1960s, leaving a lasting impression on many of them. "Where were you when you heard about President Kennedy's assassination?" would become a recurring question of the time.

New Adult Genre

The books in the New Adult Genre are designed to interest twenty-somethings. The main character will often be leaving home for the first time, going to college, or starting on their first steady job. While mostly written by twenty-somethings for twenty-somethings, these books do have crossover appeal for romance readers--even those who have left their twenties behind them.

Finding it by Cora Carmack

If you stay by Cole, Courtney

Rule: a Marked Men novel by Jay Crownover

Foreplay by The Ivy Chronicles Book 1 Sophie Jordan

Beautiful disaster: a novel by Jamie McGuire

Murder Will Out: November 2013

If you enjoy history with your mystery or like Edward Marston's or Patricia McIntosh's mysteries, try Priscilla Royal. Fans of Joan Hess or Mary Logue will want to read Annelise Ryan's Mattie Winston series. Christopher Spielberg's The Russian Donation won Germany's Friedrich Glauser prize for best debut crime novel. Foodies should try L. J. Washburn's Fresh Baked Mystery series and for something completely different Betty Webb's features Teddy Gunter, Zookeeper at Gunn Zoo.

The sanctity of hate: a medieval mystery by Priscilla Royal

Lucky stiff by Annelise Ryan

The Russian donation by Christoph Spielberg ; translated by Gerald Chapple

Wedding cake killer: a fresh-baked mystery by Livia J. Washburn

Canton Seniors Book Discussion Group January-June 2014

Looking for a lively book discussion? The Canton Seniors Book Discussion Group meets on the fourth Thursday of the month from 2:00-3:00PM in Group Study Room A at Canton Public Library. 

January 23              Annie's Ghosts: A Journey into a Family's Secret by Steve Luxenberg

February 27           The Closers by Michael Connelly

March 27                Detroit: An American Autopsy by Charlie LeDuff

April 24                   The Sandcastle Girls by Chris Bohjalian

May 22                     Crank by Ellen Hopkins

June 26                    The Elegance of the Hedgehog by Muriel Barbery

Lunch & a Book November 2013

On Thursday November 14 at noon, we will be discussing:

The Paris wife: a novel by Paula McLain — Hadley Richardson is a quiet twenty-eight-year-old who has all but given up on love and happiness-until she meets Ernest Hemingway. Following a whirlwind courtship and wedding, the pair set sail for Paris, where they become the golden couple in the fabled Lost Generation. Though deeply in love, the Hemingways are ill prepared for the hard-drinking and fast-living life of Jazz Age Paris. Surrounded by beautiful women and competing egos, Ernest struggles to find the voice that will earn him a place in history, pouring all the richness and intensity of his life with Hadley and their circle of friends into the novel that will become The Sun Also Rises. Hadley, meanwhile, strives to hold on to her sense of self as the demands of life with Ernest grow costly and her roles as wife, friend, and muse become more challenging.

Pages