May We Suggest?

May We Suggest?This blog provides customized book recommendations to our patrons. To get your own, just fill out the May We Suggest form and you can expect results within 10 days. You can also like May We Suggest on facebook.

 

Truth is sometimes stranger than fiction. Explore these fascinating stories about real people. Books are suggested for Kindergarten, but remember that each Reader is different, and might find something interesting at another level.

Aretha Franklin by Ma Isabel (María Isabel) Sánchez Vegara

Discover the life of Aretha Franklin, The Queen of Soul. The fourth of five children, Aretha was born in Tennessee and took the stage at an early age in her fathers church choir. She went on to become the bestselling rhythm and blues singer of all time, and the first woman to be installed in the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. 

Tells the story of puppeteer Tony Sarg, the man who first invented the helium balloons that have become the trademark of the annual Macy's Thanksgiving Day Parade.

 

The following titles may be enjoyed by First Graders. All readers are at different levels and have different interests, so not all titles will appeal to, or be appropriate for, all readers. For additional recommendations ask at the Children's Reference Desk or try our May We Suggest service.

Fiction

Fiction books for First Grade can be found in a variety of locations, including J PICTURE BOOK, J READER, and KIDS GRAPHIC NOVEL. Click on each title for location and availability.

 

Fans of Goddess Girls, Whatever After, and Harry Potter can look here for more magical, mythical, and fairytale style adventures.

Possessing an ability to talk with magical creatures, including griffins, unicorns, and Fuzzles, Pip uses her talent to update a magic reference book and investigate a fuzzles invasion in spite of her friend Tomas' allergies. Part of the Pip Bartlett series.

The fairy-tale detectives by Michael Buckley

Orphans Sabrina and Daphne Grimm are sent to live with an eccentric grandmother that they have always believed to be dead. Mystery, adventure, and a daring rescue ensue. Part of the Sisters Grimm series.

 

Have you made your way through Dragon Masters and Last Firehawk, and need more series to read? Into fantasy and adventure? Give these titles a try.

A young dragon named Ella convinces her twin brother Owen to join her on a bold quest to find a wizard that will help cure Owen of his flaming cold. Part of the Ella and Owen series.

Grilled cheese and dragons by Nancy E Krulik

Princess Serena, who wants to be a knight instead of a princess, must perform good deeds on a Quest of Kindness to prove to her father that she deserves to go to knight school. Part of the Princess Pulverizer series.

Watchmen and Schitt$ Creek slayed all the competition and rightfully so. But Baby Yoda definitely got robbed. Check out these shows and all the other great series' nominated for the 2020 Emmys!

2020 Emmy Winners

 

The following titles focus on sports and active play for your beginning reader.

Best friends by Margery Cuyler

When his best friend Sue finds a new friend at school, Pete feels dejected until Sue invites everyone to play together.

Baseball buzz by C. C. Joven

Jackson loves baseball, but a bee in the outfield causes him to miss a fly ball, and the game is stopped until the bee finally departs.

Part of the Starting Line Readers series.

 

 

Trying to satisfy a princess-obsessed reader? Look no further. The following titles are full of royalty and mythical creatures, and some ordinary characters with extraordinary flair. 

J READERS

In this classic fairy tale, retold with a twist, Hansel and Gretel are eat a lot of junk food and aren't very active. Their father, the woodcutter, plans a trip for them to the woods for exercise. But the children get lost and discover a hungry--but health-conscious--witch!

Part of the Tadpoles Fairy Tale Twists series.

Looking for some fiction and non-fiction picture books about fall, harvest, and farms? Here are a few picture books that you can read with your K-2nd grade child. 

Fall Stories

Hush up and hibernate! by Sandra Markle

Love Kids Graphic Novels but feel like you are ready for a longer story? Here are some awesome Kids and Teen Graphic Novels to reignite your love of the format. Enjoy!

All together now by artist Hope Larson

When you combine a love of animals with an appreciation for good humor, what do you get? A lot of great things to read! For readers who love Elephant and Piggie and Pig the Pug, here is a selection of fiction and nonfiction to keep you laughing.

Llama destroys the world by Jonathan Stutzman
Also available in: video

Eating too much pie causes Llama to rip his dancing pants, opening a black hole and threatening the entire universe. Check out more books by Jonathan Stutzman.

I'm Trying to Love Spiders will help you see these amazing arachnids in a whole new light, from their awesomely excessive eight eyes to the seventy-five pounds of bugs a spider can eat in a single year! Bethany Barton also tackles bees in a humorous and welcoming way.

Pages