Catalog

Search our Catalog

May We Suggest

May We Suggest?This blog provides customized book recommendations to our patrons. To get your own, just fill out the May We Suggest form and you can expect results within 10 days. You can also like May We Suggest on facebook.

December: Tis the season for...

Holiday Romance Anthologies! Popular authors serve up frothy holiday fun in these seasonal short story collections. Mary Balogh, Nicola Cornick, and Courtney Milan penned stories for The heart of Christmas. That holiday feeling is written by perennial favorites Debbie Macomber, Sherryl Woods, and Robyn Carr. Find more tinsel-filled tales in a variety of genres under Christmas stories.

Suspense, Mystery, Murder

Fans of Denise Mina or Minette Walters should try:

Holiday Handiwork

Wondering what gifts to buy for this gift-giving season? Well, why not make your own gifts like some celebrants of Kwanzaa do. You could make ornaments, dolls, treasure boxes or candle out of old jewelry, marbles, yarn, string or other small pieces you already have around. Here are some craft books to help you along.

All new crafts for Kwanzaa by Kathy Ross; illustrated by Sharon Lane Holm

Chinese New Year crafts by Karen E. Bledsoe

Holiday Reads

Hey kids, did you spend the day doing holiday shopping with the grown-ups? You probably need some down time after navigating through all those crowds at the stores! Come to the library and grab something (free!) to read and wind down. I'm feeling Christmas-y, so here are some of my favorite easy-to-read Christmas tales to get you in the spirit:

Arthur's Christmas cookies by words and pictures by Lillian Hoban

Aunt Eater's mystery Christmas by story and pictures by Doug Cushman

The African Experience: An Audiobook Selection

Here is where the landscape, the country, and the people all play a part in forming life-changing experiences in the real and fictional worlds of Africa!

Gentle Romances

Want books with plenty of romance, but no hanky-panky? Try the Regency romances of Georgette Heyer, Shirley Marks or Barbara Metzger. If you like historicals set in America, check out Carolyn Brown or Nancy J. Parra. Hate historicals, but love contemporaries? Take a look at Holly Jacobs or Elisabeth Rose.

Steampunk?

Steampunk appears to be gaining steam… but what exactly is it? Well, here is a definition from Wikipedia: "Steampunk is a sub-genre of fantasy and speculative fiction that came into prominence in the 1980s and early 1990s. The term denotes works set in an era or world where steam power is still widely used—usually the 19th century, and often Victorian era England — but with prominent elements of either science fiction or fantasy, such as fictional technological inventions like those found in the works of H. G. Wells and Jules Verne, or real technological developments like the computer occurring at an earlier date.

El Dia de los Muertos

Celebrate Day of the Dead with crafts! Make paper marigolds, a skull mask or an Aztec animal decoration with Paper Crafts for Day of the Dead. Make your own Q-tip skeleton with these instructions. To get you in the holiday spirit, read Clatter Bash!: a Day of the Dead Celebration by Richard Cleminson Keep and Ghost Wings by Barbara M. Joosse.

Storytime at Home

Bummed that storytime is on break until November 9th? Share these stories at home with your children to tide them over with some great story fun!

Princess Pig by written by Eileen Spinelli; illustrated by Tim Bowers — when the Pickle Princess's sash blows away from her parade and lands on Pig, things change around the barnyard. As Pig begins to explore the possibilies of royalty, Pony reminds her that you don't have to be a princess to be special.

Traction Man is here! by Mini Grey — the hilarious domestic adventures of a boy and his action figure.

In the Heart of the Canyon

For those of you who have wanted to do some adventure travel, you will want to read Elizabeth Hyde's new fiction book — In the Heart of the Canyon. Everyone who signs on to this trip gets more than they bargained for, the elements of heat and white water being only the parts they planned on, the rest comes from their fellow travelers. As a reader you will hold your breath at times for the next turn in the river and be grateful you are safe at home reading the book. This will make you view your fellow travelers in a whole new light as you learn the reasons and secrets of our adventurers on this trip. Enjoy!