Homework Help

May We Suggest?This blog provides customized book recommendations to our patrons. To get your own, just fill out the May We Suggest form and you can expect results within 10 days. You can also like May We Suggest on facebook.

Year 2013 Top Non-Fiction Picks

Canton Public Library's Information Services Librarians share their favorite 2013 non-fiction read(s), a mixture of Adult, Teen, and Children's fiction books.

Dallas 1963 by Bill Minutaglio and Steven L. Davis

The antidote: happiness for people who can't stand positive thinking by Oliver Burkeman

Going clear: Scientology, Hollywood, and the prison of belief by Lawrence Wright

Junius and Albert's adventures in the Confederacy: a Civil War odyssey by Peter Carlson

One summer: America, 1927 by Bill Bryson

Dystopian Science Fiction for Fifth Grade

Students in the fifth grade at Hoben have an assignment to read a science fiction book that has a dystopian theme. Here is a selection to get them started.

Archon by Lana Krumwiede

The Resisters by Eric Nylund

Sky jumpers by Peggy Eddleman

Wake up missing by Kate Messner

Earthfall by Mark Walden

Time snatchers by Richard Ungar

Christmas Romances

Romance authors love to pen novels and stories set in and around Christmas and we love to read them. This year there is a bumper crop of these seasonal tales, so grab your hot cocoa and enjoy.

Sleigh bells in the snow by Sarah Morgan

The Christmas he loved her by Juliana Stone

Carla Kelly's Christmas collection: four stories filled with romance and Christmas cheer by Carla Kelly

The cowboy's Christmas baby by Carolyn Brown

Lady Jenny's Christmas portrait by Grace Burrowes

Murder Will Out: December 2013

2013 Award Winning Mysteries you may have missed:

The beautiful mystery by Louise Penny — Best Novel: Anthony Award & Macavity Award

Don't ever get old by Daniel Friedman — Best First Novel: Macavity Award

The Blackhouse: a novel by Peter May — Best Novel: Barry Award

A killing in the hills by Julia Keller — Best First Novel: Barry Award

Taken by Robert Crais — Best Hardcover: Shamus Award

Tales of Kindness and Giving for 1st - 3rd Grade

Bagels from Benny by Aubrey Davis ; illustrated by Dusan Petricic

The legend of the bluebonnet: an old tale of Texas by retold and illustrated by Tomie dePaola

The giving tree by Shel Silverstein

Brother sun, sister moon: the life and stories of St. Francis by Margaret Mayo ; illustrated by Peter Malone

The velveteen rabbit by retold and Illustrated by Komako Sakai ; translated from the Japanese by Yuki Kaneko

Food from All Over the World

New and delightful cookbooks and memoirs highlighting cuisines from many cultures.

Mastering the art of Soviet cooking: a memoir of love and longing by Anya von Bremzen — This witty memoir captures the feasts and famines of three generations of Russian women.

Japanese soul cooking: ramen, tonkatsu, tempura, and more from the streets and kitchens of Tokyo and beyond by Tadashi Ono and Harris Salat ; photography by Todd Coleman — Comfort food Japanese-style.

Mastering the art of French eating: lessons in food and love from a year in Paris by Ann Mah — When her diplomat husband is assigned to Paris, Ann plots gastronomic adventures à deux. But when he is called to Iraq on a year-long post, Ann must stay alone in the City of Light.

John F. Kennedy Assassination 50th Anniversary

 John F. Kennedy, the 36th president of the United States was assassinated in Dallas, Texas 50 years ago this year. It was an unforgettable day for most Americans who grew up in the 1960s, leaving a lasting impression on many of them. "Where were you when you heard about President Kennedy's assassination?" would become a recurring question of the time.

New Adult Genre

The books in the New Adult Genre are designed to interest twenty-somethings. The main character will often be leaving home for the first time, going to college, or starting on their first steady job. While mostly written by twenty-somethings for twenty-somethings, these books do have crossover appeal for romance readers--even those who have left their twenties behind them.

Finding it by Cora Carmack

If you stay by Cole, Courtney

Rule: a Marked Men novel by Jay Crownover

Foreplay by The Ivy Chronicles Book 1 Sophie Jordan

Beautiful disaster: a novel by Jamie McGuire

Murder Will Out: November 2013

If you enjoy history with your mystery or like Edward Marston's or Patricia McIntosh's mysteries, try Priscilla Royal. Fans of Joan Hess or Mary Logue will want to read Annelise Ryan's Mattie Winston series. Christopher Spielberg's The Russian Donation won Germany's Friedrich Glauser prize for best debut crime novel. Foodies should try L. J. Washburn's Fresh Baked Mystery series and for something completely different Betty Webb's features Teddy Gunter, Zookeeper at Gunn Zoo.

The sanctity of hate: a medieval mystery by Priscilla Royal

Lucky stiff by Annelise Ryan

The Russian donation by Christoph Spielberg ; translated by Gerald Chapple

Wedding cake killer: a fresh-baked mystery by Livia J. Washburn

Pages