Catalog

Search our Catalog

May We Suggest

May We Suggest?This blog provides customized book recommendations to our patrons. To get your own, just fill out the May We Suggest form and you can expect results within 10 days. You can also like May We Suggest on facebook.

Read-alikes for THE LIGHT BETWEEN OCEANS

The movie rights have been purchased for M. L. Stedman's THE LIGHT BETWEEN OCEANS.  wonderful book about a lighthouse keeper and his wife. Tom is a WW I veteran, one of the 'lucky ones', he has lost a limb nor his mind but he deliberately seeks the solitude of an island off Australia.  He meets and marries, Isabel. But times on the island are tough for Isabel as she suffers multiple miscarriages and a stillbirth in just four years time. When a boat with a dead man and a young baby washes ashore, Isabel convinces Tom to let her keep the baby as their own, but the consequences to her actions may be dire.  Similar books are:

The sandcastle girls: a novel by Chris Bohjalian

The orchardist: a novel by Amanda Coplin

The secret keeper: a novel by Kate Morton

The house I loved by Tatiana de Rosnay

World War I: the Campaigns

The battles of World War I were fought in Europe, the  Middle East, and the Pacific. In memory of the war's 100th anniversary, check out some of the library's many resources on this global event whose repercussions are still being felt today:

To conquer hell: the Meuse-Argonne, 1918 by Edward G. Lengel


Verdun: the longest battle of the Great War by Paul Jankowski


Castles of steel: Britain, Germany, and the winning of the Great War at sea by Robert K. Massie


Yanks: the epic story of the American Army in World War I by John S.D. Eisenhower with Joanne Thompson Eisenhower


Setting the desert on fire: T.E. Lawrence and Britain's secret war in Arabia, 1916/1918 by James Barr

Remembering Robin Williams

Beloved actor and comedian Robin Williams passed away on August 11th at the age of 63. The Canton Public Library carries a wide selection of films starring Mr. Williams including Aladdin, Good Morning Vietnam, Mrs. Doubtfire and The World According to Garp.  Feel free to laugh or cry with the work of this American legend. Follow the link for a list of his works in our collection.

Shark Week

Duh Dun, Duh Dun...

It's that time of year again: Shark Week is here! Get in on all of the fintastic action with some of these great books and DVDs all about these mysterious and amazing animals. Whether you are a Shark Week veteran or a first timer these reads will leave you hungry for more.


The blacktip reef shark
by Sara Green

Bluntnose sixgill sharks and other strange sharks by Rachel Lynette

A daredevil's guide to swimming with sharks by Amie Jane Leavitt

Sharks by Kris Hirschmann

Whale shark by Anders Hanson ; consulting editor, Diane Craig, M.A./Reading Specialist

World War I at the Movies

World War I began one hundred years ago this year, on August 1, 1914.

The African Queen [videodisc] by a Romulus-Horizon production


All quiet on the western front [videodisc] by a Universal -International presentation


The big parade [videodisc] by a Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer Picture ; a Turner Entertainment Co. and Thames Television presentation ; story by Laurence Stallings ; director, King Vidor


Darling Lili [videodisc] by Paramount Pictures presents


The dawn patrol [videodisc] by Warner Bros. Pictures presents


A farewell to arms [videodisc] by Paramount


Four sons [videodisc] by William Fox presents a John Ford production ; adapted by Philip Klein

Murder Will Out: August, 2014

A beleaguered NYPD detective, a housekeeper, a reformed hacker, a widowed FBI agent, a psychic tarot card reader, a forensic scientists, and a demoted Detective Inspector. What do they have in common?  Each is the lead character in one of these debut mysteries.

Never alone by C.J. Carpenter



Death comes to the village by Catherine Lloyd


The quantum breach by Denver Acey

Ice shear by M.P. Cooley

The White Magic Five and Dime by New York times bestselling author Steve Hockensmith with Lisa Falco

Everyone lies by A.D. Garrett

Savvy Seniors: August, 2014

10 Movie Favorites of baby boomers according to a recent blog posted on Next Avenue's Route 360 by Linda Bernstein. Best part of the survey?  The memorable lines included. 


The sound of music [videodisc] by Twentieth Century Fox

The graduate [videodisc] by an Embassy Pictures release

Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid [videodisc] by Twentieth Century Fox


Love story [videodisc]
by Paramount Pictures

The Godfather [videodisc] by [by] Mario Puzo ; Paramount Pictures presents an Albert S. Ruddy production

The paper chase [videodisc] by a Thompson-Paul production

World War I: Biographies

In memory of the 100th anniversary of the Great War check out one of these biographies of the people who lived through it:

Ace of aces: the life of captain Eddie Rickenbacker by H. Paul Jeffers


Suddenly we didn't want to die: memoirs of a World War I marine by Elton E. Mackin ; with an introduction and annotation by George B. Clark ; foreword by Victor H. Krulak


Archduke of Sarajevo: The romance and tragedy of Franz Ferdinand of Austria by Gordon Brook-Shepherd


Femme fatale: love, lies, and the unknown life of Mata Hari by Pat Shipman


Hero: the life and legend of Lawrence of Arabia by Michael Korda


Richthofen: beyond the legend of the Red Baron by Peter Kilduff