Search our Catalog

Annual Thumbs Up! Award voting underway

The Teen Services Division of the Michigan Library Association is pleased to announce that voting is underway for the 2007 Thumbs Up! Award. Since 1986, the Thumbs Up! Award has honored the best teen title published during the previous year. Since 2001, the Thumbs Up! Award has included a teen vote. This year votes are due by May 25, 2007. The title with the most teen votes will automatically be an honor title if it is not selected as the winner by the Thumbs Up! Award Committee. The winning title and honor titles will be announced in June 2007. The Thumbs Up! Award committee considered more than 300 teen titles first published in the U.S. between January 1 and December 31, 2006. Our hardworking committee has narrowed that list to the Top Twenty titles, and we ask that teens help us in selecting the best teen book of the year. The Top Twenty ballot (PDF) is available on the Michigan Library Association website. You may email votes to Anne Heidemann, Thumbs Up! Award committee chair, at aeheidemann at gmail dot com. Be sure to submit your votes by May 25, 2007! The Top Twenty list, in alphabetical order by author: * The Astonishing Life of Octavian Nothing, Traitor to the Nation, Volume One: The Pox Party by MT Anderson * Scrambled Eggs at Midnight by Brad Barkley & Heather Hepler * Pieces of Georgia by Jen Bryant * Nick & Norah's Infinite Playlist by Rachel Cohn & David Levithan * Just Listen by Sarah Dessen * Golden by Cameron Dokey * Copper Sun by Sharon Draper * What Happened to Cass McBride by Gail Giles * Saint Iggy by K.L. Going * An Abundance of Katherines by John Green * Rash by Pete Hautman * Sold by Patricia McCormick * Dairy Queen by Catherine Gilbert Murdock * Between Mom and Jo by Julie Ann Peters * King Dork by Frank Portman * Notes from the Midnight Driver by Jordan Sonnenblick * It's Kind of a Funny Story by Ned Vizzini * Skin by Adrienne Maria Vrettos * The Storm Thief by Chris Wooding * The Book Thief by Markus Zusak Teens are encouraged to vote early and vote often! Just be sure to submit your votes by May 25, 2007!