Search our Catalog

Newbery, Caldecott, Printz, many other awards announced this morning

I'm currently attending the American Library Association Midwinter Meeting in Philadelphia, and was delighted to go to this morning's Press Conference. This press conference is the place that all the big media awards are announced, including the Newbery, the Caldecott, the Printz, and many others. The ALA Press Release has all the details, and here is a list of all the winners and honors in the order they were announced. Alex Awards American Shaolin by Matthew Polly Bad Monkeys by Matt Ruff Essex County Vol. 1 by Jeff Lemire Genghis by conn Iggulden The God of Animals by Aryn Kyle A Long Way Gone by Ishmael Beah Mister Pip by Lloyd Jones The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss The Night Birds by Thomas Maltman The Spellman Files by Lisa Lutz Schneider Family Book Awards Children's: Kami and the Yaks by Andrea Stenn Stryer, illustrated by Bert Dodson Middle Grades: Reaching for Sun by Tracie Vaughn Zimmer Teen: Hurt Go Happy by Ginny Rorby Coretta Scott King Book Awards CSK John Steptoe Award for New Talent: Sundee T. Frazier, author of Brendan Buckley's Universe and Everything in It CSK Author Honor Books: November Blues by Sharon M. Draper; Twelve Rounds to Glory by Charles R. Smith, Jr. CSK Author Award: Christopher Paul Curtis, author of "Elijah of Buxton" CSK Illustrator Honor Books: The Secret Olivia Told Me illustrated by Nancy Devard and written by N. Joy; Jazz on a Saturday Night illustrated and written by Leo and Diane Dillon CSK Illustrator Award : Ashley Bryan, illustrator and author of Let It Shine Margaret A. Edwards Award Orson Scott Card: Ender's Game, Ender's Shadow Michael L. Printz Award Printz Honor Books: Dreamquake by Elizabeth Knox, One Whole and Perfect Day by Judith Clarke, Repossessed by A.M. Jenkins, Your Own, Sylvia by Stephanie Hemphill Printz Award: The White Darkness by Geraldine McCaughrean Odyssey Award Honor Audio Books: Listen and Live: Bloody Jack, Weston Woods: Dooby Dooby Moo, Scholastic: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, HarperCollins: Skulduggery Pleasant, Treasure Island Audio Book Award: Live Oak Media: Jazz May Hill Arbuthnot Honor Lecture Award Walter Dean Myers: Where Does the Day Go?, Fallen Angels, Scorpions, Monster, Jazz, Blues Journey Mildred L. Batchelder Award Batchelder Honor Books: Milkweed Editions: The Cat, or How I Lost Eternity by Jutta Richter; Phaidon Press: Nicholas and the Gang by Rene Goscinny and Jean-Jacques Sempe Batchelder Award Book: Viz Media: Brave Story by Miyuki Miyabe Robert F. Sibert Medal Sibert Honor Books: Nic Bishop Spiders by Nic Bishop; Lightship by Brian Floca Sibert Award: The Wall by Peter Sis Pura Belpre Award Belpre Illustrator Honor Books: My Name is Gabito illustrated by Raul Colon and written by Monica Brown; My Colors, My World/Mis colores mi mundo by Maya Christina Gonzales Belpre Illustrator Award: Yuyi Morales for Los Gatos Black on Halloween written by Marisa Montes Belpre Author Honor Books: Frida by Carmen T. Bernier-Grand; Martina the Beautiful Cockroach illustrated by Michael Austin retold by Carmen Agra Deedy; Los Gatos Black on Halloween by Marisa Montes illustrated by Yuyi Morales Belpre Author Award: Margarita Engle, author of The Poet Slave of Cuba, illustrated by Sean Qualls Andrew Carnegie Medal Medal winner: Jump In! Freestyle Edition Theodor Seuss Geisel Award Geisel Honor Books: First the Egg by Laura Vaccaro Seeger; Hello, Bumblebee Bat by Darris Lunde illustrated by Patricia J. Wynne; Jazz Baby by Lisa Wheeler illustrated by R. Gregory Christie; Vulture View by April Pulley Sayre illustrated by Steve Jenkins Geisel Award: Mo Willems author of There is a Bird on Your Head! Randolph Caldecott Medal Caldecott Honor Books: Henry's Freedom Box illustrated by Kadir Nelson and written by Ellen Levine; First the Egg illustrated and written by Laura Vaccaro Seeger; The Wall illustrated and written by Peter Sis; Knuffle Bunny Too illustrated and written by Mo Willems Caldecott Medal: The Invention of Hugo Cabret illustrated and written by Brian Selznick John Newbery Medal Newbery Honor Books: Elijah of Buxton by Christpher Paul Curtis; The WEdnesday Wars by Gary D. Schmidt; Feathers by Jacqueline Woodson Newbery Medal: Good Masters! Sweet Ladies! Voices from a Medieval Village by Laura Amy Schlitz