Search our Catalog

2008 National Teacher of the Year

In the Rose Garden at the White House, President Bush announced this year's winner of the National Teacher of the Year. Michael Geisen, is a middle school teacher from Prineville, Oregon. Every year, nominations are made by students, teachers and principals at school all over the nation for State Teacher of the Year. The profiles of those winners from all 50 states are submitted to a selection committee who choose a winner amongst 4 finalists (the Michigan Teacher of the Year, June Teisan, was one of the final 4). That winner is presented the National Teacher of the Year award by the President of the United States.