Books

If you've read everything by the hilarious David Sedaris, try one of these novels, memoirs, or essay collections for more humor!

If you enjoy the American Girl Smart Girl's Guide series, you might enjoy these other books about growing up, health and wellness, fun things to do, and inspirational people.

In a world where people spend more time engaging through screens than in real-life interaction, showing basic human kindness can feel like a lost art. Be Kind is a compilation of actionable things kids can do in their daily lives to make the world a kinder place.

Step into your power by Jamia Wilson

A guide for girls instructs them in how to harness their own power to succeed and grow, discussing the importance of community, making good choices, action, and self-care.

Looking for a suspenseful read with twist and turns? These thrillers and mysteries will have you turning pages late into the night!

Too close to breathe by Olivia Kiernan

Canton Seniors Book Discussion Group: October

Join us for a live virtual program on Thursday, October 22, 2020 at 2:00PM via Zoom video conference as the Canton Seniors Book Discussion Group discusses:

Their eyes were watching God by Zora Neale Hurston
Also available in: e-book | audiobook | e-audiobook

One of the most important and enduring books of the twentieth century, Their Eyes Were Watching God brings to life a Southern love story with the wit and pathos found only in the writing of Zora Neale Hurston. Out of print for almost thirty years--due largely to initial audiences' rejection of its strong black female protagonist--Hurston's classic has since its 1978 reissue become perhaps the most widely read and highly acclaimed novel in the canon of African-American literature.​

This book is immediately available on Hoopla in e-book and e-audiobook formats. If you have registered for the program and would like to reserve a print copy, please call 734-397-0999 and select option 4.

Registered participants will receive an email one day before the program with a link to attend the discussion. To help you make the most of your virtual program experience we have compiled some tips and resources.
 

Upcoming sessions

There are no upcoming sessions available.

Canton Seniors Book Discussion Group: September

Join for a live virtual program on Thursday, September 24, 2020 at 2:00PM via Zoom video conference as the Canton Seniors Book Discussion Group discusses:

The bean trees : a novel by Barbara Kingsolver
Also available in: e-book | audiobook | e-audiobook

The Bean Trees is bestselling author Barbara Kingsolver's first novel, now widely regarded as a modern classic. It is the charming, engrossing tale of rural Kentucky native Taylor Greer, who only wants to get away from her roots and avoid getting pregnant. She succeeds, but inherits a 3-year-old native-American little girl named Turtle along the way, and together, from Oklahoma to Tucson, Arizona, half-Cherokee Taylor and her charge search for a new life in the West.

Written with humor and pathos, this highly praised novel focuses on love and friendship, abandonment and belonging as Taylor, out of money and seemingly out of options, settles in dusty Tucson and begins working at Jesus Is Lord Used Tires while trying to make a life for herself and Turtle. 

This book is available immediately on Hoopla in e-book and e-audiobook formats. If you would like to reserve a print copy, please call 734-397-0999 and select option 4.

Registered participants will receive an email one day before the program with a link to attend the discussion. To help you make the most of your virtual program experience we have compiled some tips and resources.

Upcoming sessions

There are no upcoming sessions available.

Get inspired by the lives of real people whose curiosity and drive led them to become scientists, inventors, makers, and creators.

Dear Benjamin Banneker by Andrea Davis Pinkney
Also available in: e-book

Throughout his life Banneker was troubled that all blacks were not free. And so, in 1791, he wrote to Secretary of State Thomas Jefferson, who had signed the Declaration of Independence. Banneker attacked the institution of slavery and dared to call Jefferson a hypocrite for owning slaves. Jefferson responded. This is the story of Benjamin Banneker--his science, his politics, his morals, and his extraordinary correspondence with Thomas Jefferson. For more on Benjamin Banneker, look up JBIO BANNEKER.

Also available in: e-book | e-audiobook

Patricia Bath made significant contributions to ophthalmology and laser surgery. For more on Patricia Bath, look up JBIO BATH.

 

Looking for a book that will keep you turning pages? This list features unique fiction titles, many with strong female protagonists, for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Taylor Jenkins Reid, Jonathan Safran Foer, and Tara Westover.

Also available in: e-book | audiobook | e-audiobook | large print

For years, rumors of the "Marsh Girl" haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals suspect Kya Clark, the so-called Marsh Girl. But Kya is not what they say. Sensitive and intelligent, she has survived for years alone in the marsh that she calls home, finding friends in the gulls and lessons in the sand. Her interactions with other people, however, leave her open to suspicion.

The vanishing half by Brit Bennett
Also available in: e-book | large print

Weaving together multiple generations, from the Deep South to California, from the 1950s to the 1990s, Brit Bennett produces a story that is both a riveting, emotional family story and a brilliant exploration of the history of passing. The Vanishing Half considers the lasting influence of the past as it shapes a person's decisions, desires, and expectations, and explores the multiple reasons and realms in which people feel pulled to live as something other than their origins.

Adult Contemporary Book Discussion December

Join us for a live virtual program on Monday, December 21, 2020, at 7:00PM via Zoom video conference as the Adult Contemporary Book Discussion Group discusses: 

Little women by Louisa May Alcott
Also available in: e-book | audiobook | e-audiobook

Set during the Civil War, the March family is left with no men in their household when the father is sent off to war. The remaining house full of women is left to manage on their own. The four March sisters grow from little girls to respectable young women. Each sister carries unique hopes for her future, but Meg, Jo, Beth, and Amy learn that life often has other plans in store. Their coming-of-age stories are filled with hilarity, humility, friendship, heartbreak, and duty. 

This book is available immediately on Hoopla in e-book format. If you would like to reserve a print copy, please call 734-397-0999 and select option 4. Or visit us during Limited Browsing Hours and Curbside Service is now available.

Registered participants will receive an email two days before the program with a link to attend the discussion. To help you make the most of your virtual program experience we have compiled some tips and resources.

Upcoming sessions

There are no upcoming sessions available.

Adult Contemporary Book Discussion November

Join us for a live virtual program on Monday, November 16, 2020, at 7:00PM via Zoom video conference as the Adult Contemporary Book Discussion Group discusses: 

The mountains sing : a novel by Nguyen Phan Que Mai
Also available in: e-book | e-audiobook

An enveloping, multigenerational tale of the Trần family, set against the backdrop of the Việt Nam War. Trần Diệu Lan, who was born in 1920, was forced to flee her family farm with her six children during the Land Reform as the Communist government rose in the North. Years later in Hà Nội, her young granddaughter, Hương, comes of age as her parents and uncles head off down the Hồ Chí Minh Trail to fight in a conflict that tore not just her beloved country, but her family apart. Vivid, gripping, and steeped in the language and traditions of Việt Nam, The Mountains Sing brings to life the human costs of this conflict from the point of view of the Vietnamese people themselves, while showing us the true power of kindness and hope.

This book is available immediately on Hoopla in e-book and e-audiobook format. If you would like to reserve a print copy, please call 734-397-0999 and select option 4. Or visit us during Limited Browsing Hours and Curbside Service is now available.

Registered participants will receive an email two days before the program with a link to attend the discussion. To help you make the most of your virtual program experience we have compiled some tips and resources.

Upcoming sessions

There are no upcoming sessions available.

Adult Contemporary Book Discussion October

Join us for a live virtual program on Monday, October 18, 2020, at 7:00PM via Zoom video conference as the Adult Contemporary Book Discussion Group discusses: 

Also available in: e-book | e-audiobook

Robin Windsor has spent most of her life under an assumed name, running from her family's ignominious past. She thought she'd finally found sanctuary in her rather unremarkable used bookstore just up the street from the marina in River City, Michigan. But the store is struggling and the past is hot on her heels. When she receives an eerily familiar book in the mail on the morning of her father's scheduled execution, Robin is thrown back to the long-lost summer she met Peter Flynt, the perfect boy who ruined everything. That book--a first edition Catcher in the Rye--is soon followed by the other books she shared with Peter nearly twenty years ago, with one arriving in the mail each day. But why would Peter be making contact after all these years? And why does she have a sinking feeling that she's about to be exposed all over again? With evocative prose that recalls the classic novels we love, Erin Bartels pens a story that shows that words--the ones we say, the ones we read, and the ones we write--have more power than we imagine.

This book is available immediately on Hoopla in e-book format. If you would like to reserve a print copy, please call 734-397-0999 and select option 4.

Registered participants will receive an email two days before the program with a link to attend the discussion. To help you make the most of your virtual program experience we have compiled some tips and resources.

Upcoming sessions

There are no upcoming sessions available.

Subscribe to RSS - Books