Kids Book Lists

You can also view this list alphabetically by title.

Have you read all of the stories about a certain curious little monkey? Looking for some more fun reads? Check out this list of books that are like Curious George and even has some that are maybe a little different.

Secret pizza party by 1983- Adam Rubin

Looking for a new series to read? Check out these newer series for readers who love to read with a continuing cast of characters! See read-alike suggestions next to each book to pick a great new series today.

The haunted house next door by Andres Miedoso

This series is about a ghost hunting investigator and is recommended for lovers of Eerie Elementary and The Haunted Library. 

Upbeat STEAM-based fiction with a lovable cast of characters perfect for fans of Pete the Cat and Mercy Watson. 

Each year, the Eisner Awards are given to the best Graphic Novels for kids, teens, and adults. Here are your 2020 nominees in the Kids Graphic Novels:

Best Publication for Early Readers

Dancer in Brazil by Diego Rosa on Unsplash.jpg

 

 

Looking for inspiration to start your next dance party? Maybe you just need a rest from an endless succession of dance breaks?

Try some of the dance-themed reads listed below. Those intended for older audiences are further down. Those at the beginning might be appreciated by all ages.

And of course, there are always more dance books to be found in our library catalog. Use the search options to browse our collections, you can use keywords and subject headings to find different lists of items to browse. You can also ask a librarian for assistance.

Flora and the peacocks by Molly Schaar Idle
Also available in: e-book

In this wordless book with interactive flaps, a little girl named Flora forms a friendship with two peacocks as the three learn to dance together. You can find Flora in many other books if you can't get enough. She's also on Hoopla.

 

Can't get enough stories about literature and people who create and distribute it? Explore the following titles that touch on topics like the importance of books and libraries, the hidden lives of authors and librarians, and more. Books at the top of list may appeal to a wide age range, books at the end of the list are geared more for an adult audience.

How to read a book by Kwame Alexander
Also available in: e-audiobook

A poetic and beautiful journey about the experience of reading. Begins with planting oneself beneath a tree and leads to a book party one hopes will never end.

Dreamers by Yuyi Morales
Also available in: e-book | audiobook | e-audiobook | video | e-video

A celebration of making your home with the things you always carry: your resilience, your dreams, your hopes and history. It's the story of finding your way in a new place, where one beacon of hope and support is the local library.

Thorndyke the Large Brown Bear Typing at the Computer

 

Complete this 62 Days activity by learning something you didn’t know before about the Canton Public Library, or by asking us your questions about how the library works. 

 

Exercise Your Curiosity about the Library

  • Write a letter to Thorndyke. Our resident bear loves seeing your faces and hearing about you. Thorndyke will respond to a selection of questions  and comments he receives weekly on his blog. Simply address your letter to
          Thorndyke the Bear  
          1200 S. Canton Center Road
          Canton, MI  48188
  • Use the “Ask a Librarian” option on our Contact Us form to ask a reference question remotely.
  • Use Social Media to ask us a question, tell us how we are doing, or learn more. Find and follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.

 

Meet the Staff

  • Learn more about Thorndyke, our library bear. You can find his life story on Flickr, or you can take a look at his family album.
  • Learn more about the folks who make the library tick. Explore a limited staff directory and meet a few of the people who keep CPL up and running.

 

Explore Hidden Gems of the Library

  • Have you noticed the art located in and around the library? For a full tour, take our art walk online. 
  • Get a quick look at our sorting room, our hub for all returning materials. This is where all the books that are returned via our outdoor Book Drop.

 

Learn about Library Beginnings

Take a Deeper Dive into Libraries

Explore these resources to learn even more about libraries beyond the Canton Public Library. We are just a small part of a larger tradition of community service.

Schomburg : the man who built a library by Carole Boston Weatherford
Also available in: e-audiobook | video | e-video

Amid the scholars, poets, authors, and artists of the Harlem Renaissance stood an Afro-Puerto Rican named Arturo Schomburg. This law clerk's life's passion was to collect books, letters, music, and art from Africa and the African diaspora and bring to light the achievements of people of African descent through the ages.

Looking to start a conversation with your children about the importance of hygiene, hand washing, and preventing the spread of germs? Check out these Juvenile Fiction and Nonfiction selections below. Click on the titles for exact location and availability.

Juvenile Fiction

Reaching for the Moon book cover

 

Katherine Johnson was a talented mathematician in a field dominated by white men.

After graduating high school at the age of 15 in the midst of the Great Depression, she earned a full scholarship to West Virginia State Institute's math department. Johnson briefly taught high school and then in 1940 was one of the first Black graduate students chosen to integrate West Virginia University.

In 1953 she began work as a research mathematician for what would become NASA. Katherine Johnson shattered barriers for all women, but particularly for Black women, earning the Presidential Medal of Freedom in 2015.

To celebrate the inspirational life of Katherine Johnson, check out the resources below or explore NASA's website. Learn about her and other amazing barrier-breaking mathematicians and scientists.

This is Johnson's autobiography, but there are many books to introduce readers to her life in the Children's Biography collection.

With Valentine's Day coming, there is a giant focus on all things love. For Storytime today, we decided to expand on that idea into the world of Kindness. Luckily, both of these themes are something you can put to very good use everyday, not just on a holiday! Happy Hugging!

Stories and Songs from Storytime

The Wuhan coronavirus outbreak is dominating the news of late as health experts try to prevent  this deadly virus from becoming an epidemic. So far, there are confirmed cases in the U.S., Australia, Asia and France. Coronavirus is part of a large family of viruses that severely debilitates the respiratory system. Across the U.S. and in China, scientists are racing to create a vaccine. The NIH and WHO recommends the general public heed travel advisories and to seek medical attention if any signs and symptoms appear. Good advice! Want to learn more? Here's some suggestions...

How close are we to having another worldwide health crisis? Epidemiologists predict that another pandemic is coming--one that could kill hundreds of millions of people. Learn about factors that contribute to the spread of disease by examining past pandemics and epidemics. Examine case studies of potential pandemic diseases, and discover how scientists strive to contain and control the spread of disease both locally and globally. See how human activities such as global air travel and the disruption of animal habitats contribute to the risk of a new pandemic. And investigate the challenges we face with antibiotic-resistant bacteria and mutating viruses. Can scientists control the spread of disease and prevent the next pandemic?

Ever since the 1918 Spanish influenza pandemic, scientists have dreamed of preventing catastrophic outbreaks of infectious disease. Yet despite a century of medical progress, viral and bacterial disasters continue to take us by surprise, inciting panic and dominating news cycles. From the Spanish flu to the 1924 outbreak of pneumonic plague in Los Angeles to the 1930 "parrot fever" pandemic, through the more recent SARS, Ebola, and Zika epidemics, the last one hundred years have been marked by a succession of unanticipated pandemic alarms.In The Pandemic Century, a lively account of scares both infamous and less known, Mark Honigsbaum combines reportage with the history of science and medical sociology to artfully reconstruct epidemiological mysteries and the ecology of infectious diseases. We meet dedicated disease detectives, obstructive or incompetent public health officials, and brilliant scientists often blinded by their own knowledge of bacteria and viruses. We also see how fear of disease often exacerbates racial, religious, and ethnic tensions--even though, as the epidemiologists Malik Peiris and Yi Guan write, "'nature' remains the greatest bioterrorist threat of all."Like man-eating sharks, predatory pathogens are always present in nature, waiting to strike; when one is seemingly vanquished, others appear in its place. These pandemics remind us of the limits of scientific knowledge, as well as the role that human behavior and technologies play in the emergence and spread of microbial diseases.

Pages