Kids Book Lists

You can also view this list alphabetically by title.

Two letters received by Thorndyke the Bear in July 2020

 

Hey Kids,

You might know how exciting it is to get letters in the mail. It is a great way to stay connected to people you love, and a fun way to be creative as well. I am so delighted because I got mail this summer: an extra special envelope with ONE letter and ONE super cool drawing. The letter was bittersweet (that means both happy and sad) because I was glad to read that I am missed, but I am also upset that I have not been able to see any of you. The drawing was super cool because it reminded me of a trip I took many years ago to the Novi Public Library when I saw a racecar IN PERSON. 

The fact is, I miss all of you. I miss hearing about the books you are reading, I miss seeing you put on puppet shows, I miss watching you say hello to the fish (they are lonely, too). I miss meeting brand new patrons and I really miss seeing my old friends. It is really hard to stay cheerful even though there has been a lot that I am thankful for, like the sunny days of summer, the wildlife that roams around the library, the library staff who are working so hard to keep the library shipshape for your return. So sometimes I am sad.

But getting a piece of mail has reminded me that one day I will see you all again, and I continue to look forward to that day. In the meantime, I have included some photos from the archive that might be of interest and of course, some books you might like about sending and receiving letters.

Bear Hugs,

Thorndyke

Thorndyke the Bear at the Novi Public Library next to a racecar
Thorndyke the Bear in a Mask on the Childrens Reference Desk

 

Hey Kids,

I've been at the library for a long time, which means I have a lot of memories about the library. These memories include the outfits I've worn, the programs I've attended, the librarians I've worked with, and all the improvements that have taken place at the library. Do you have library memories? I would love to get a letter or drawing about your memories in the mail

I've had a lot of time to think about my library memories lately. Recently I wrote a little bit about how difficult change can be, but one of the good parts of change is that it gives you a reason to revisit old memories. Sometimes these are memories of another person, or a place, or of yourself when you were younger. Sometimes they are sad, but they can be funny or happy, too. Sometimes you might feel differently about the memory than you did during the actual experience. Sometimes two people have different memories about the same experience.

It can be very fun to ask your parents, grandparents, or other family members about their memories and stories from their childhood. But memories are not just about the past: you are making new memories RIGHT NOW. You can help your future self remember by writing down what happens to you, or by making a memory book.

Below, I included some memories of the different Reference Desks: do you remember these? There are also some books about memories you can put on hold and check out. Enjoy your stroll down memory lane!

Bear Hugs,

Thorndyke

Thorndyke Sitting at the Reference Desk

Have you read all of the stories about a certain curious little monkey? Looking for some more fun reads? Check out this list of books that are like Curious George and even has some that are maybe a little different.

Secret pizza party by 1983- Adam Rubin

Looking for a new series to read? Check out these newer series for readers who love to read with a continuing cast of characters! See read-alike suggestions next to each book to pick a great new series today.

The haunted house next door by Andres Miedoso

This series is about a ghost hunting investigator and is recommended for lovers of Eerie Elementary and The Haunted Library. 

Upbeat STEAM-based fiction with a lovable cast of characters perfect for fans of Pete the Cat and Mercy Watson. 

Each year, the Eisner Awards are given to the best Graphic Novels for kids, teens, and adults. Here are your 2020 nominees in the Kids Graphic Novels:

Best Publication for Early Readers

Dancer in Brazil by Diego Rosa on Unsplash.jpg

 

 

Looking for inspiration to start your next dance party? Maybe you just need a rest from an endless succession of dance breaks?

Try some of the dance-themed reads listed below. Those intended for older audiences are further down. Those at the beginning might be appreciated by all ages.

And of course, there are always more dance books to be found in our library catalog. Use the search options to browse our collections, you can use keywords and subject headings to find different lists of items to browse. You can also ask a librarian for assistance.

Flora and the peacocks by Molly Schaar Idle
Also available in: e-book

In this wordless book with interactive flaps, a little girl named Flora forms a friendship with two peacocks as the three learn to dance together. You can find Flora in many other books if you can't get enough. She's also on Hoopla.

 

Can't get enough stories about literature and people who create and distribute it? Explore the following titles that touch on topics like the importance of books and libraries, the hidden lives of authors and librarians, and more. Books at the top of list may appeal to a wide age range, books at the end of the list are geared more for an adult audience.

How to read a book by Kwame Alexander
Also available in: e-audiobook

A poetic and beautiful journey about the experience of reading. Begins with planting oneself beneath a tree and leads to a book party one hopes will never end.

Dreamers by Yuyi Morales
Also available in: e-book | audiobook | e-audiobook | video | e-video

A celebration of making your home with the things you always carry: your resilience, your dreams, your hopes and history. It's the story of finding your way in a new place, where one beacon of hope and support is the local library.

Thorndyke the Large Brown Bear Typing at the Computer

 

Complete this 62 Days activity by learning something you didn’t know before about the Canton Public Library, or by asking us your questions about how the library works. 

 

Exercise Your Curiosity about the Library

  • Write a letter to Thorndyke. Our resident bear loves seeing your faces and hearing about you. Thorndyke will respond to a selection of questions  and comments he receives weekly on his blog. Simply address your letter to
          Thorndyke the Bear  
          1200 S. Canton Center Road
          Canton, MI  48188
  • Use the “Ask a Librarian” option on our Contact Us form to ask a reference question remotely.
  • Use Social Media to ask us a question, tell us how we are doing, or learn more. Find and follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.

 

Meet the Staff

  • Learn more about Thorndyke, our library bear. You can find his life story on Flickr, or you can take a look at his family album.
  • Learn more about the folks who make the library tick. Explore a limited staff directory and meet a few of the people who keep CPL up and running.

 

Explore Hidden Gems of the Library

  • Have you noticed the art located in and around the library? For a full tour, take our art walk online. 
  • Get a quick look at our sorting room, our hub for all returning materials. This is where all the books that are returned via our outdoor Book Drop.

 

Learn about Library Beginnings

Take a Deeper Dive into Libraries

Explore these resources to learn even more about libraries beyond the Canton Public Library. We are just a small part of a larger tradition of community service.

Schomburg : the man who built a library by Carole Boston Weatherford
Also available in: e-audiobook | video | e-video

Amid the scholars, poets, authors, and artists of the Harlem Renaissance stood an Afro-Puerto Rican named Arturo Schomburg. This law clerk's life's passion was to collect books, letters, music, and art from Africa and the African diaspora and bring to light the achievements of people of African descent through the ages.

Looking to start a conversation with your children about the importance of hygiene, hand washing, and preventing the spread of germs? Check out these Juvenile Fiction and Nonfiction selections below. Click on the titles for exact location and availability.

Juvenile Fiction

Reaching for the Moon book cover

 

Katherine Johnson was a talented mathematician in a field dominated by white men.

After graduating high school at the age of 15 in the midst of the Great Depression, she earned a full scholarship to West Virginia State Institute's math department. Johnson briefly taught high school and then in 1940 was one of the first Black graduate students chosen to integrate West Virginia University.

In 1953 she began work as a research mathematician for what would become NASA. Katherine Johnson shattered barriers for all women, but particularly for Black women, earning the Presidential Medal of Freedom in 2015.

To celebrate the inspirational life of Katherine Johnson, check out the resources below or explore NASA's website. Learn about her and other amazing barrier-breaking mathematicians and scientists.

This is Johnson's autobiography, but there are many books to introduce readers to her life in the Children's Biography collection.

Pages