Catalog

Search our Catalog

Realistic Fiction

What We're Reading: October 2014

Lately, I've been reading non-fiction. A well-written narrative not only informs, it entertains.  Did you know Canton Public Library has a new book discussion group?  The Nonfiction Book Group will meet the third Saturday of the month.  Their first meeting is November 15 at 10:00 AM.

The First World War in 100 objects by John Hughes-Wilson ; IWM consultant, Nigel Steel ; editor, Mark Hawkins-Dady

The history of rock 'n' roll in ten songs by Greil Marcus

Music in the shadows: noir musical films by Sheri Chinen Biesen

Seven elements that changed the world: an adventure of ingenuity and discovery by John Browne

In the kingdom of ice: the grand and terrible polar voyage of the USS Jeannette by Hampton Sides

Canton Seniors Book Group: October 23, 2014

Canton Seniors Book Groups meets Thursday, October 23 from 2:00-3:00PM in Canton Public Library's Group Study Room A.  We will be discussing JoJo Moyes' ME BEFORE YOU.  Request a copy at the Information Services Desk.

ME BEFORE YOU by JoJo Moyes.  Me Before You brings to life two people who couldn't have less in common, Louisa Clark a very ordinary girl and former Master of the Universe, Will Trevor.  It's a heartbreakingly romantic novel that asks, 'What do you do when making the person you love happy also means breaking your own heart?' .

What We're Reading: September, 2014

This month is a mix of history, mystery, a book about books and reading, growing old, and second chances.

Can't we talk about something more pleasant? by Roz Chast

The Mountaintop School for Dogs and other second chances by Ellen Cooney

The 40s: the story of a decade by The New Yorker ; edited by Henry Finder with Giles Harvey ; introduction by David Remnick

The shelf: from LEQ to LES by Phyllis Rose

Buried in a bog by Sheila Connolly

Canton Seniors Book Discussion: September 25, 2014

Canton Seniors Book Group will meet on Thursday, September 25 from 2:00-3:00PM in Canton Public Library's Group Study Room A.  We will be discussing Mark Zusak THE BOOK THIEF.  Copies of the book can be requested at the Information Services Desk.

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak.  1939. Nazi Germany. Death has never been busier and is going to become even more so.  Orphaned Liesel Meminger is living outside of Munich, scratching out a meager existence for herself by stealing when she encounters something she can't resist-books. With the help of her accordion-playing foster father, Liesel learns to read and shares her stolen books with her neighbors during bombing raids as well as with the Jewish man hidden in her basement.

Read-alikes for THE LIGHT BETWEEN OCEANS

The movie rights have been purchased for M. L. Stedman's THE LIGHT BETWEEN OCEANS.  wonderful book about a lighthouse keeper and his wife. Tom is a WW I veteran, one of the 'lucky ones', he has lost a limb nor his mind but he deliberately seeks the solitude of an island off Australia.  He meets and marries, Isabel. But times on the island are tough for Isabel as she suffers multiple miscarriages and a stillbirth in just four years time. When a boat with a dead man and a young baby washes ashore, Isabel convinces Tom to let her keep the baby as their own, but the consequences to her actions may be dire.  Similar books are:

The sandcastle girls: a novel by Chris Bohjalian

The orchardist: a novel by Amanda Coplin

The secret keeper: a novel by Kate Morton

The house I loved by Tatiana de Rosnay

Look What's In Large Print: Suspense

If you enjoy the novels of Lee Child, David Baldacci, James Lee Burke, Joseph Finder, or Vince Flynn and like the readability of Large Print try...

Buried secrets [Large print] by Joseph Finder

The innocent [Large print] by David Baldacci

American assassin [Large print] by Vince Flynn

Alibi [Large print] by Joseph Kanon

Hot pursuit [Large print] by Suzanne Brockmann

The third bullet [Large print]: a Bob Lee Swagger novel by Stephen Hunter

If You Enjoy Tense Thrillers...Try These

If you enjoy tense thrillers try…



Down the darkest road by Tami Hoag

Heartless by Alison Gaylin

Silent scream by Karen Rose

Stolen by Allison Brennan

The house on Tradd Street by Karen White

Sleuth It: Dead and Done II

Historical mysteries let the reader be picked up and be transported to different times and places. A good story is a painless way to get into the period, and, if it features a unsolved crime or two, give a look at history’s darker underside.

A free man of color by Barbara Hambly

A test of wills by Charles Todd

Crocodile on the sandbank by Elizabeth Peters

Hawkwood: a Regency crime thriller by James McGee

Murphy's law: a Molly Murphy mystery by Rhys Bowen

Murder Will Out: January 2014

This month introduces four new authors to Canton Public Library's Mystery shelves and the latest in James Benn's World War II series featuring Billy Boyle, attaché to General Dwight D. Eisenhower.

Anonymous sources by Mary Louise Kelly

The abomination: a novel by Jonathan Holt

The Andalucian friend: a novel by Alexander Söderberg

Aunty Lee's delights by Ovidia Yu

A blind goddess by James R. Benn

If You Like Steve Hamilton, Harlan Coben or Robert Crais

Old bones: a Gideon Oliver mystery by Aaron Elkins

The vanished: a nameless detective novel by Bill Pronzini

Starvation Lake: a mystery by Bryan Gruley

Open season by C.J. Box

The cold dish by Craig Johnson

Black fly season by Giles Blunt

The blue edge of midnight by Jonathon King

In the bleak midwinter by Julia Spencer-Fleming

If You Like Faye Kellerman

Faye Kellerman's Peter Decker and Rina Lazarus balance jobs and family while solving crimes. Authors such as J. A. Jance, Mary Logue, Iris Johansen, J. D. Robb and Catherine Coulter couples trying to find balance in their lives between their relationship and their jobs.

Judgment call by J.A. Jance

Blood country: a Claire Watkins mystery by Mary Logue

The face of deception by Iris Johansen

Naked in death by J.D. Robb

The cove by Catherine Coulter

If You Like Legal Thrillers

Prime witness by Steve Martini

The Lincoln lawyer: a novel by Michael Connelly

Running from the law by Lisa Scottoline

The fifth assassin by Brad Meltzer

The cheater by Nancy Taylor Rosenberg

If You Like Iris Johansen

If you enjoy suspense with romantic interest, are a fan of Iris Johansen, Tami Hoag, or Catherine Coulter try...

Love me to death: a novel of suspense by Allison Brennan

Trust me by Brenda Novak

Show no mercy by Cindy Gerard

Shiver by Karen Robards

Die for me by Karen Rose

Sworn to silence by Linda Castillo

Live to tell by Wendy Corsi Staub

Cutting for Stone by A. Verghese

Cutting for Stone is a sweeping, family saga of Africa and America, doctors and patients, exile and home. Marion and Shiva Stone are twin brothers born of a secret union between a beautiful Indian nun and a brash British surgeon at a mission hospital in Addis Ababa. Orphaned by their mother's death in childbirth and their father's disappearance, bound together by a preternatural connection and a shared fascination with medicine, the twins come of age as Ethiopia hovers on the brink of revolution. Yet it will be love, not politics--their passion for the same woman--that will tear them apart and force Marion, fresh out of medical school, to flee his homeland. He makes his way to America, finding refuge in his work as an intern at an underfunded, overcrowded New York City hospital. When the past catches up to him--nearly destroying him--Marion must entrust his life to the two men he thought he trusted least in the world: the surgeon father who abandoned him and the brother who betrayed him. An unforgettable journey into one man's remarkable life, and an epic story about the power, intimacy, and curious beauty of the work of healing others.

My sister's keeper by Jodi Picoult

"My sister's keeper" is written by Jodi Picoult who is widely acclaimed for her keen insights into the hearts and minds of real people. Now she tells the emotionally riveting story of a family torn apart by conflicting needs and a passionate love that triumphs over human weakness. Anna is not sick, but she might as well be. By age thirteen, she has undergone countless surgeries, transfusions, and shots so that her older sister, Kate, can somehow fight the leukemia that has plagued her since childhood. The product of preimplantation genetic diagnosis, Anna was conceived as a bone marrow match for Kate -- a life and a role that she has never challenged...until now. Like most teenagers, Anna is beginning to question who she truly is. But unlike most teenagers, she has always been defined in terms of her sister -- and so Anna makes a decision that for most would be unthinkable, a decision that will tear her family apart and have perhaps fatal consequences for the sister she loves. My Sister's Keeper examines what it means to be a good parent, a good sister, a good person. Is it morally correct to do whatever it takes to save a child's life, even if that means infringing upon the rights of another? Is it worth trying to discover who you really are, if that quest makes you like yourself less? Should you follow your own heart, or let others lead you?

And the band played on : politics, people, and the AIDS epidemic / Randy Shilts

Upon it's first publication twenty years ago, And The Band Played on was quickly recognized as a masterpiece of investigatve reporting. An international bestseller, a nominee for the National Book Critics Circle Award, and made into a critically acclaimed movie, Shilts' expose revealed why AIDS was allowed to spread unchecked during the early 80's while the most trusted institutions ignored or denied the threat.  One of the few true modern classics, it changed and framed how AIDS was discussed in the following years. Now republished ina special 20th Anniversary edition, And the Band Played On remains one of the essential books of our time. .

Look What's In Large Print: June 2014

This month's focus is on historical novels.  A well-written historical fiction offers a good story, a strong sense of place, and provides readers an understanding of another time.