Search our Catalog

The Flowers


Recommended by tagrant, a patron of the Canton Public Library.

Check our other Fave Five lists, too!

Flowers in the Attic

by V.C. Andrews
1009826.jpg It is the first book in the Dollanganger series. It is the story from the point of view of a young girl, but very adult content. Cathy and her three siblings are locked in an attic following the death of her father. Her mother begins to scheme and connive as a way to be put into her fathers will. An evil grandmother treats the children with harsh discontent. Murder, incest and hate are all dealt with in this book. The author did a wonderful job helping you relate to the characters.

Petals on the Wind

by V.C. Andrews
1012955.jpg The continuation of the story of Cathy from the first book. The author shows the effects that the events in book one had on the lives of the children as they began to mature. Love, revenge and guilt are the main themes in this story.

If There Be Thorns

by V.C. Andrews
1012974.jpg Once again this is a part of the Dollanganger series. This book shows the effects that Cathy's anger has on her kids, from the viewpoint of the two young boys.

Seeds of Yesterday

by V.C. Andrews
1043043.jpg Cathy and her brother return to the place where they where imprisoned. She begins back down a spiral and it shows the effects that her past actions had on her childrens future. This is the conclusion of the Dollanganger story.

Garden of Shadows

by V.C. Andrews 1023316
1023316.jpg This is the prequel to the Dollanganger series. This explains a lot of the drama that occurred in the first book, and even gives sympathy to a surprising character. Remembering throughout this series that all causes result in an action will allow you to see the characters in a realistic fashion.