The Witcher Book Series

The popular game series, The Witcher, is now getting a Netflix adaptation! Did you know both the video game and the TV show are based on a book series? The fantasy novels, Saga o Wiedźminie, are written by Polish writer Andrzej Sapkowski. Check out the first book today, "The Last Wish" and follow along with the suggested reading order.

Read this first: This is a collection of short stories that introduces the Witcher, Geralt of Rivia. This also explains how Yennefer and Geralt are bonded. 

Sword of destiny by Andrzej Sapkowski

Read this second: This is another collection of short stories that explains Geralt's connection to Ciri. 

Blood of elves by Andrzej Sapkowski

Read this third: This is first book in the Witcher Saga and follows the events of the previous two short story collections. This book focuses on Ciri's childhood. From the beginning of war, her training, and her connections with Geralt and Yennefer.

The time of contempt by Andrzej Sapkowski

Read this fourth: War is spreading, a coup is attempted, and Ciri is in the middle.

Baptism of fire by Andrzej Sapkowski

Read this fifth: Geralt must recover from his injuries and find Ciri, no matter the cost.

The tower of swallows by Andrzej Sapkowski

Read this sixth: Surrounded by war with all sides hunting her, will Ciri make it to safety?

The lady of the lake by Andrzej Sapkowski

Read this seventh: Ciri has traveled to the land of the elves and must find her way back to Geralt. 

Season of storms by Andrzej Sapkowski

2 Options: After "The Last Wish" or Last. This book is a prequel to the series and takes place during the events of "The Last Wish." However, to best understand the events that take place in the book it is best to read it last.