May We Suggest? This post contains recommendations from a CPL librarian. To get your own customized recommendation, just fill out the May We Suggest form — you can expect results within 10 days. All suggestions can be found on the May We Suggest blog or by liking May We Suggest on facebook.

Western Writers of America Announce 2017 Spur Winners!

The Spur Awards are annual literary prizes awarded by the Western Writers of America (WWA). The Spur Awards honor writers for distinguished writing about the American West. The Spur awards began in 1953, the same year the WWA was founded.

Historical Fiction Winner


Contemporary Novel

Off the grid by C. J Box

Joe Pickett's old friend Nate Romanowski is off the grid, recuperating from wounds and lying low while the FBI search for him. But they are not the only ones looking for him and Nate finds himself confronting an elite team of special forces soldiers. They're not there to take him in - they say - but to make a deal. They need his help destroying a domestic terror cell in Wyoming's Red Desert, and in return they'll make Nate's criminal record disappear. But Joe's not sure they can be trusted. And they can't. They have a very different plan in mind, and it just may be something that takes them all down--Nate and Joe included..

Mass-Market Paperback Novel

Return to Red River by Johnny D Boggs

Juvenille Nonfiction

The wolves of Currumpaw by William Grill

A re-telling of Ernest Thompson Seton's epic wilderness drama, "Lobo, the King of Currumpaw," follows the leader of a wolf pack and the man hired to trap him, looking at how their interaction changed the hunter's life and led to wildlife conservation.

First Nonfiction Book

Drama Screenplay

A divorced West Texas dad and his ex-con brother resort to a desperate money making scheme in order to save their family's farm from foreclosure.