Book Gems: Fiction

If you missed our Book Gems program last night, you can still take a peek at the titles we highlighted:

Not all tarts are apple by Pip Granger — This charming book set in 1953 London focuses on Rosie, the 7-year-old narrator, and the colorful characters in her Soho neighborhood. Try this if you like cozy British mysteries — especially if you care more about the setting and characters than the mystery itself.

Then she found me by Elinor Lipman — Restrained high school Latin teacher April Epner is dismayed when her extroverted birth mother finds her in this wry, unsentimental comedy of manners. A good choice for readers of Anne Tyler or Elizabeth Berg.

Jayber Crow: a novel by Wendell Berry — After a lonely childhood in an orphanage, Jayber Crow comes to Port William, KY in the 1930’s. A contemplative man, he remains an observer of those around him. This unhurried, lyrical portrayal of a small community rewards the reader with a clear nuanced examination of humanity and faith.

Family Movie Night

When the weekend weather forcast is like this weekend's — cold, rainy, and dreary — Families start looking for something to do inside. Have a movie marathon! Pop some popcorn, blend up some milkshakes, and pick up some movies from Canton Public Library. Here are a few themes to get you started:

Classics

That movie that you loved as a kid that you can't find anywhere? We may have it here.

The parent trap [videodisc] by Walt Disney Productions

Swiss family Robinson [videodisc]

The great race [videodisc] by Warner Bros. and Patricia- Jalem-Reynard Co.

Baseball

Uh, the Tigers are the AL Central Division Champs! Celebrate with some baseball themed movies:

A Dazzling Display of Dogs

A dazzling display of dogs : concrete poems by Betsy Franco ; illustrations by Michael Wertz — Do you love dogs? How about poetry? This book combines both of those fun items. With fun colorful illustrations, you can have fun reading her concrete poems aloud or to yourself. Some of the poem titles include Found at the Pound, Pug Appeal, Emmett's Ode to His Tennis Ball, and The Tail End. Happy reading!

The Food Lover's Garden

The food lover's garden by Mark Diacono ; photography by Mark Diacono ; recipe photography by Laura Hynd ; recipe development by Debora Robertson — Did you know that you can eat daylilies and nasturtiums? Do you ever find yourself overwhelmed with produce from the garden but aren't sure how to prepare it? This book has a mix of growing information, tips and info about a variety of types of produce and recipes for how to use it all. Who wants to make some nasturtium risotto?

Conquering Your Pain the Holistic Way

The Doctor is In! Please join us on Thursday, September 29 from 7:00-8:00PM in the Purple Room for a special presentation, Conquering Your Pain the Holistic Way, by Livonia's own "Dr. Phil," Dr. Philip Hoehn, DC, CCSP. Learn how chiropractic care can provide a healthy and natural approach to relieving pain from sports injuries and other ailments.

Selznick Creates Another Masterpiece

You will enter a world of breath-taking beauty and spellbinding mystery when you open Wonderstruck, a world so rich and captivating that you won't want to leave it even when you come to the last page. Two stories revolving around hearing-impaired characters are artfully intertwined. One is set in 1977, is told in text and follows Ben, who suddenly loses his mother and never knew his father. The second, depicted richly in shaded pencil drawings that act like a camera, opens in 1927 as young Rose plans to run away from her stifling father and find her glamorous mother in Manhattan. Ben soon flees his aunt's house in Gunflint Lake, Minn. in a attempt to find his father in New York City. Thus begin the dramatic tales of two coming-of-age, angst-filled, somewhat angry, and challenged young teens. Both stories are compelling and impeccably paced, but are seamlessly interwoven throughout so that their final connection is like the ending of a symphonic work. Replete with mystery, suspense, emotion, and fascinating historical facts and details, this page-turning graphic and prose delight will truly leave you wonder-struck.

ZooZical a Musical Story

Have you ever wondered what zoo animals do when the visitors go home? Do they go to sleep, eat lots of food, play games? Well the zoo animals of ZooZical decide to put on a musical after all their visitors go home. In their musical, they sing some classic songs, but in a new, zooified way. Check out ZooZical, and enjoy they amazing talents of the giraffes, lions, kangaroos and one very special hippo.

This may even inspire you to read about more talented animals!

We the People

The Obama Administration has launched a new website called We the People where ordinary citizens can petition the White House to take up any issue of importance to them. Participants must be 13 years or older and have an account on Whitehouse.gov. Once a petition is submitted, the creator must work to gather support. If a petition meets the 5,000 signature threshold in 30 days or less, the issue will be reviewed by the White House.

Pages