Mystery Series Week

The Purple Moon Press has declared October 2-11 Mystery Series Week-2011. Of course, every mystery fan is familiar with the Sherlock Holmes series by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle and Dame Agatha Christie's Hercules Poiroit, Miss Marple, or Tommy and Tuppence. If you are looking for something new, there are dozen of series such as Ian Rankin's Inspector Rebus, or Janet Evanovich's comic Stephanie Plum. For more reading suggestions, check Canton Public Library's mystery posts and May We Suggest.

[Image Source: Google/Purple Moon Press]

Death of the Book and Other Good News

Daniel Okrent, author, editor and University of Michigan alumnus, will give a public lecture on the impact of digital revolution on bookstores, libraries, publishers, and of course, readers. He thinks that "It's the biggest change in the world of words since Gutenberg, and may turn out to be just as beneficial…"
Date: Thursday, October 6, 4:00-5:30 PM
Location: Harlan Hatcher Graduate Library, Ann Arbor

Resources for the Beginning Genealogist

Many beginning genealogists struggle to get started with their research. It's difficult to know where to begin. The Library of Michigan has a wealth of information for genealogists in all phases of their research. If you're researching here at the Canton Public Library, be sure to use our genealogy databases HeritageQuest Online and Ancestry Library Edition (in library use only). Here are some great books to start your research as well:

The handybook for genealogists: United States of America

Organizing your family history search: efficient & effective ways to gather and protect your genealogical research by Sharon DeBartolo Carmack

Evidence explained: citing history sources from artifacts to cyberspace by Elizabeth Shown Mills

How Does This Work?

Hey Kids! Are you curious about your bones and muscles? How does all those things connect in our bodies? What is a healthy snack? Join us for our How Does This Work program. It takes place on Monday, October 17, 2011 from 7:00 to 7:45 PM. Program is open to children ages 5-9 with a caregiver! Registration begins Monday, October 3, 2011.

Murder Will Out: Meet William Kent Krueger

Northwest Angle: a novel by William Kent Krueger — Meet William Kent Krueger, author of the Cork O'Connor mystery series on Thursday, October 6 at 7:00 PM at Aunt Agatha's in Ann Arbor. Mr. Krueger will discuss and sign his new Cork O'Connor novel, Northwest Angle.

Book Gems: Fiction

If you missed our Book Gems program last night, you can still take a peek at the titles we highlighted:

Not all tarts are apple by Pip Granger — This charming book set in 1953 London focuses on Rosie, the 7-year-old narrator, and the colorful characters in her Soho neighborhood. Try this if you like cozy British mysteries — especially if you care more about the setting and characters than the mystery itself.

Then she found me by Elinor Lipman — Restrained high school Latin teacher April Epner is dismayed when her extroverted birth mother finds her in this wry, unsentimental comedy of manners. A good choice for readers of Anne Tyler or Elizabeth Berg.

Jayber Crow: a novel by Wendell Berry — After a lonely childhood in an orphanage, Jayber Crow comes to Port William, KY in the 1930’s. A contemplative man, he remains an observer of those around him. This unhurried, lyrical portrayal of a small community rewards the reader with a clear nuanced examination of humanity and faith.

Family Movie Night

When the weekend weather forcast is like this weekend's — cold, rainy, and dreary — Families start looking for something to do inside. Have a movie marathon! Pop some popcorn, blend up some milkshakes, and pick up some movies from Canton Public Library. Here are a few themes to get you started:

Classics

That movie that you loved as a kid that you can't find anywhere? We may have it here.

The parent trap [videodisc] by Walt Disney Productions

Swiss family Robinson [videodisc]

The great race [videodisc] by Warner Bros. and Patricia- Jalem-Reynard Co.

Baseball

Uh, the Tigers are the AL Central Division Champs! Celebrate with some baseball themed movies:

A Dazzling Display of Dogs

A dazzling display of dogs : concrete poems by Betsy Franco ; illustrations by Michael Wertz — Do you love dogs? How about poetry? This book combines both of those fun items. With fun colorful illustrations, you can have fun reading her concrete poems aloud or to yourself. Some of the poem titles include Found at the Pound, Pug Appeal, Emmett's Ode to His Tennis Ball, and The Tail End. Happy reading!

Pages