Catalog

Search our Catalog

Blog

Three Days of Peace and Music

"By the time we got to Woodstock, we were half a million strong." Those words, written by Joni Mitchell in her famous song about the event, perfectly captured the feelings about the music festival for those who were there. It was forty five years ago on August 15, 1969, that thousands of people gathered in rural Bethel, New York to attend what would become an historic outdoor concert. For those who attended - and even like Mitchell - those who could not, Woodstock became a defining moment. Richie Havens, Jimi Hendrix, Janis Joplin, Creedence Clearwater Revival, Santana, Neil Young, Jefferson Airplane, the Who and Crosby, Stills & Nash were just some of the musicians who performed that weekend.

Special Needs Storytime: Folktale Fridays

Please join us on Friday, September 5 at 4:00 PM in the Community Room for Folktale Fridays. This is an interactive, sensory-friendly storytime filled with folktales and fairytales especially designed for older children (ages 13 and over) and adults with developmental delays and/or other special needs. Families and caregivers are welcome after completing the registration process. Registration begins August 22. This program has been funded through the Dollar General Literacy Foundation grant.

Read-alikes for THE LIGHT BETWEEN OCEANS

The movie rights have been purchased for M. L. Stedman's THE LIGHT BETWEEN OCEANS.  wonderful book about a lighthouse keeper and his wife. Tom is a WW I veteran, one of the 'lucky ones', he has lost a limb nor his mind but he deliberately seeks the solitude of an island off Australia.  He meets and marries, Isabel. But times on the island are tough for Isabel as she suffers multiple miscarriages and a stillbirth in just four years time. When a boat with a dead man and a young baby washes ashore, Isabel convinces Tom to let her keep the baby as their own, but the consequences to her actions may be dire.  Similar books are:

The sandcastle girls: a novel by Chris Bohjalian

The orchardist: a novel by Amanda Coplin

The secret keeper: a novel by Kate Morton

The house I loved by Tatiana de Rosnay

Lauren Bacall

Legendary Hollywood actress Lauren Bacall has passed away at the age of 89. She made her first film - To Have and  Have Not -  in 1944 with future husband Humphrey Bogart. They went on to star together in several more films including The Big Sleep and Key Largo. Her many film roles ranged from the comedic to the dramatic, as well as musical. She also enjoyed  great success on Broadway, where she won two Tony Awards - for Applause in 1970 and Woman of the Year in 1981.


Dark passage [videodisc] by First National Pictures, Inc., Warner Bros. Pictures, Inc.


Harper [videodisc] by Warner Bros. Pictures presents a Gershwin-Kastner production

World War I: the Campaigns

The battles of World War I were fought in Europe, the  Middle East, and the Pacific. In memory of the war's 100th anniversary, check out some of the library's many resources on this global event whose repercussions are still being felt today:

To conquer hell: the Meuse-Argonne, 1918 by Edward G. Lengel


Verdun: the longest battle of the Great War by Paul Jankowski


Castles of steel: Britain, Germany, and the winning of the Great War at sea by Robert K. Massie


Yanks: the epic story of the American Army in World War I by John S.D. Eisenhower with Joanne Thompson Eisenhower


Setting the desert on fire: T.E. Lawrence and Britain's secret war in Arabia, 1916/1918 by James Barr

Remembering Robin Williams

Beloved actor and comedian Robin Williams passed away on August 11th at the age of 63. The Canton Public Library carries a wide selection of films starring Mr. Williams including Aladdin, Good Morning Vietnam, Mrs. Doubtfire and The World According to Garp.  Feel free to laugh or cry with the work of this American legend. Follow the link for a list of his works in our collection.

Connect Your Summer Feedback

Canton Public Library’s mission is Connecting Your Community. Connect Your Summer aims to be an exciting way to bring the community together to share their summer experiences and their summer reading, and to emphasize the library as an important resource for all.

Because Connect Your Summer is the mainstay of our summer library programming, we are asking you to help us learn and improve by sharing feedback about your Connect Your Summer experience. The survey will take about five minutes to complete:

The surveys will remain available until August 31, so tell your friends! Thank you in advance for sharing your thoughts with us. As a token of our appreciation, there may even be something badge-y in it for you.

Shark Week

Duh Dun, Duh Dun...

It's that time of year again: Shark Week is here! Get in on all of the fintastic action with some of these great books and DVDs all about these mysterious and amazing animals. Whether you are a Shark Week veteran or a first timer these reads will leave you hungry for more.


The blacktip reef shark
by Sara Green

Bluntnose sixgill sharks and other strange sharks by Rachel Lynette

A daredevil's guide to swimming with sharks by Amie Jane Leavitt

Sharks by Kris Hirschmann

Whale shark by Anders Hanson ; consulting editor, Diane Craig, M.A./Reading Specialist

Nixon Resignation

This year marks the 40th anniversary of the resignation of Richard Nixon. It was on August 9, 1974 that Nixon became the first president in U.S. history to resign the office. As revelations related to the Watergate scandal continued to escalate, he resigned in the face of almost certain impeachment.

The final days by Bob Woodward, Carl Bernstein


Nixonland: the rise of a president and the fracturing of America by Rick Perlstein


The Nixon Defense: What He Knew and When He Knew It by Dean, John W


The conviction of Richard Nixon: the untold story of the Frost/Nixon interviews by James Reston, Jr

What is An App? Find out at your library!

Are you considering taking the plunge into the world of "smartphones"?  Are you befuddled by a new tablet computer?  Do you keep hearing that "there's an app for that" but don't quite know what that means?  We can help!  Join us in the Community Room onTuesday, October 14 at 10:30 AM for an introduction to the world of apps, and why they're everywhere these days, from your phone to your tablet and beyond! No Registration Required!
(Note: This program will not be covering the how-tos of specific apps, and cannot recommend specific tablets or apps for purchase.)

Library Board Meeting Agenda — Thursday, August 21, 2014

Monday, July 21, 2014, 7:30 PM
  • Call the Meeting to Order
  • Call to Audience (5 min. maximum)
  • Approval of Agenda
  • Approval of General Meeting Minutes
  • Communications
  • Report of the Library Director
  • Committee Reports
    • None
  • Unfinished Business and General Orders
    • None
  • New Business
    • Select Special Meeting dates for Board vacancy interviews
    • Review of applications for Board vacancy
    • Draft 2015 Budget (2nd look)
    • Proposed revision of Employee Policy Handbook (2nd reading)
    • Community Survey results (presentation by L. Golden)
  • Call to Audience (5 min. maximum)
  • Adjourn

Murder Will Out: Bill Morris at Nicola's Books

Author Talk:  Thursday, August 14 at 7:00PM

Detroit native Bill Morris will be at Nicola's Books in Ann Arbor for a reading and signing of his new novel, 'Motor City Burning'. Detroit comes alive in a powerful and thrilling novel set amidst the chaos of the race riots and the serenity of Tiger Baseball on Opening Day 1968.

World War I on Film

In memory of the 100th anniversary of World War I:

The first World War 1914-1918 [videodisc]

The Great War 1918 [videodisc]

War horses of WWI [videodisc] by produced by Testimony Films ; directed by George Pagliero

Killing fields [videodisc]: the first World War, by a co -production of WGBH Boston and British Broadcasting Corporation ; produced and directed by Bill Treharne Jones

Gallipoli [videodisc] by produced by Hamdi Doker Burak Ornek

The Christmas truce [videodisc]

Last voyage of the Lusitania [videodisc] by produced and directed by Peter Schnall

Savvy Seniors

Wayne County Regional Library for the Blind and Physically Handicapped's Brown Bag Book Club will meet Tuesday, August 12, Noon to 2 PM.

This month they are discussing The Chaperone by Laura Moriarty and Orange is the New Black by Piper Kerman.

 Coffee will be served. Please bring your own lunch. Meetings are typically held on the second Tuesday of each month at the Library for the Blind, 30555 Michigan Avenue in Westland.

New Features for OverDrive eBooks

OverDrive has just released two new features to help with the ease of reserving popular eBook titles.  

The first, automatic borrowing, allows eBooks and eAudio titles to be automatically checked out when a book becomes available.  While placing a title on hold, click the 'Automatically borrow this title when it becomes available' option.  For more information, be sure to read the OverDrive article.  

The second feature, suspending a hold, ensures the reader that they won't lose their place in the holds queue if they want to temporarily suspend a hold on a title.  This is helpful if the reader is in on a waiting list for a title and is currently reading another. The reader will continue to move up the wait list but the hold will not be filled for an amount of time specified by them.  More information on this can be found in the OverDrive blog.  

World War I at the Movies

World War I began one hundred years ago this year, on August 1, 1914.

The African Queen [videodisc] by a Romulus-Horizon production


All quiet on the western front [videodisc] by a Universal -International presentation


The big parade [videodisc] by a Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer Picture ; a Turner Entertainment Co. and Thames Television presentation ; story by Laurence Stallings ; director, King Vidor


Darling Lili [videodisc] by Paramount Pictures presents


The dawn patrol [videodisc] by Warner Bros. Pictures presents


A farewell to arms [videodisc] by Paramount


Four sons [videodisc] by William Fox presents a John Ford production ; adapted by Philip Klein