The Canton Public Library Board of Trustees has approved the following change:

The June Board Meeting will take place on Thursday, June 17 at 7:30 pm

 

Celebrate the 16th annual Endangered Species Day on Friday, May 20. Taking place on the third Friday of May each year, Endangered Species Day seeks to celebrate, inform, and take action to protect endangered species. Organizations--zoos, schools, aquariums, wildlife refuges--hold special programs to enhance awareness.

The Endangered Species Coalition has a list of activities, featured events, and an event map highlighting activities around the globe. Interested in testing your knowledge on your favorite endangered animal? The World Wildlife Fund has animal trivia!

Check out the books below on animals currently on the endangered species list...

In 2007 only thirty Amur leopards remained in the wild. Scientists knew they needed to do more to help these big cats. However, details of the leopards' wild lives in their high-altitude forest home were still a mystery. With the help of new technology and the cooperation of scientists and governments around the world, people have learned more than ever before about these rare cats. An innovative plan is under way to give Amur leopards a more secure future. Can these cats rebound from the brink before it's too late?

Orangutan houdini by Laurel Neme

This is the true story of Fu Manchu, an adult male orangutan, who relishes outsmarting his friend, zookeeper Jerry Stones. He does just that when he escapes his enclosure at will and spends sunny days with the elephants in another part of the zoo. At first Jerry believes his staff's carelessness allowed the crafty ape to get out. But when that assumption proves wrong, he launches an all-out surveillance mission to discover how Fu manages his getaways. Jerry soon discovers that Fu can open the locked door, but can't figure out how he does it. The zookeeper removes every twig and stick that could be used as a lock pick, but Fu continues to escape. Eventually, Fu reveals to Jerry how he did it, and is rewarded with honorary membership in the American Association of Locksmiths.

 

Poetry gets a good amount of attention in April during National Poetry Month, but poetry can (and should!) be experienced year-round. For a great resource to sample and celebrate a wide range of poets, take a look at Out of Wonder, the 2018 Coretta Scott King Illustrator Award Winner. It's a great jumping off point, and to further investigate the poets featured in Out of Wonder, check out the rest of this list.

Also available in: e-audiobook | video | e-video

Presents a collection of twenty poems written in tribute to well-known poets from around the world. Browse the list below to find additional resources on each of the twenty poets featured -- there are both poetry collections and a few short biographies.

My First Book of Haiku Poems introduces children to inspirational works of poetry and art that speak of our connection to the natural world. Includes poems from Matsuo Basho.

Cooking can be fun for the whole family when you learn how to play with your food! Connect in the kitchen by making something sweet or trying an edible experiment. These projects work for all ages and are guaranteed to bring smiles to your plates. To set the mood, check out this special food-themed playlist on Spotify!

Fun At Home

  • With just a few sweets like Fruit by the Foot and Rice Krispies Treats, you can make candy sushi at home! 
  • Learn how to make edible slime with this list of 14 recipes from Abrazo and Coze.
  • Get inspired by amazing food art! Red Hong Yi makes art using everyday items, including foods like tea leaves, beans, and seeds. Artist Jason Mecier makes portraits using candy, cereal, and more! What art can you make out of food?
  • These edible science experiments from We Are Teachers prove that science can be fun and delicious.
  • You can cook a whole meal with just a coffee mug! Try making pizza in a mug and delicious chocolate cake for dessert. 
  • See what you can build using only food. Graham crackers, frosting, and candy can be the building blocks to start you off!
  • Patience pays off when you make rock candy at home! This delicious treat is a perfect kitchen science experiment. 

CPL Resources

  • Try a brand new recipe featured in a cookbook. We've collected both physical and ebook picks!
  • Use Your library card to access AtoZ World Food. Learn about food culture, national cuisines and ingredients, and save recipes in an interactive digital cookbook.
  • Music can set the stage for a fantastic meal. If you're trying out a dish from another country, check out these world music picks from hoopla!

CPL Programs and Grab & Go kits

 

Image "two pineapples with gold party hats" by Pineapple Supply Co on Unsplash. 

 

Head back to the 62 Days of Summer home page for more ways to participate in the summer program!

It's another great day in the Mitten State! There are so many great places to visit and fun things to see and do all over our great state that hopefully you will get to enjoy at least one or two of those items this summer. Hopefully, these books will give you some great ideas!

Books Set in North America

Many people are excited to think about future trips this year.  You can also travel the world while sitting in your favorite comfy chair by choosing books from this list.  Enjoy your adventure!

Many people are excited to think about future trips this year.  You can also travel the world while sitting in your favorite comfy chair by choosing books from this list.  Visit any one of these continents to experience a new setting and enjoy your adventure!

Read Around the World - Africa
Read Around the World - Asia
Read Around the World - Europe and the United Kingdom
Read Around the World - North America 
Read Around the World - Oceania
Read Around the World - South America 

 

For Kids:

Read Around the World--Kids Nonfiction

Read Around the World--Kids Fiction

 

Head back to 62 Days of Summer for more ways to participate in the summer program!

Following someone's journey through life can be inspiring, powerful and heartbreaking all at the same time.  Walk a mile in someone else's shoes by reading these memoirs.  

When breath becomes air by Paul Kalanithi
Also available in: e-book | audiobook | e-audiobook | large print

At the age of thirty-six, on the verge of completing a decade's worth of training as a neurosurgeon, Paul Kalanithi was diagnosed with stage IV lung cancer. One day he was a doctor treating the dying, and the next he was a patient struggling to live. And just like that, the future he and his wife had imagined evaporated. When Breath Becomes Air chronicles Kalanithi's transformation from a naive medical student "possessed," as he wrote, "by the question of what, given that all organisms die, makes a virtuous and meaningful life" into a neurosurgeon at Stanford working in the brain, the most critical place for human identity, and finally into a patient and new father confronting his own mortality. 

The glass castle : a memoir by Jeannette Walls
Also available in: e-book | audiobook | e-audiobook

In the tradition of Mary Karr's The Liars' Club and Rick Bragg's All Over But the Shouting, Walls has written a stunning and life-affirming memoir about surviving a willfully impoverished, eccentric, and severely misguided family.

Books Set in South America

Many people are excited to think about future trips this year.  You can also travel the world while sitting in your favorite comfy chair by choosing books from this list.  Enjoy your adventure!

Books Set in Oceania

Many people are excited to think about future trips this year.  You can also travel the world while sitting in your favorite comfy chair by choosing books from this list.  Enjoy your adventure!

 

 

Pages