The following titles focus on sports and active play for your beginning reader.

Best friends by Margery Cuyler

When his best friend Sue finds a new friend at school, Pete feels dejected until Sue invites everyone to play together.

Baseball buzz by C. C. Joven

Jackson loves baseball, but a bee in the outfield causes him to miss a fly ball, and the game is stopped until the bee finally departs.

Part of the Starting Line Readers series.

 

 

Trying to satisfy a princess-obsessed reader? Look no further. The following titles are full of royalty and mythical creatures, and some ordinary characters with extraordinary flair. 

J READERS

In this classic fairy tale, retold with a twist, Hansel and Gretel are eat a lot of junk food and aren't very active. Their father, the woodcutter, plans a trip for them to the woods for exercise. But the children get lost and discover a hungry--but health-conscious--witch!

Part of the Tadpoles Fairy Tale Twists series.

Make-Your-Own Monster Mash Masquerade

Group of costumed children dancing in circle

 

In need of a monstrously fun movement extravaganza? Take home our make-your-own Monster Mash Masquerade kit to inspire a spooky celebration in your own home. Get creative and craft your own mask for the occasion, then use our suggested playlist to get moving and boogie down. Dancing is a great way to have fun as a family. This program is intended for walkers up to age 5.

 

Kit contains: a selection of mask-making materials, some spooky swag, and suggestions for further fun.

If you are interested in picking up a kit you will need to:

  1. Register to reserve a kit between September 24 and October 21st.
  2. An email with instructions on how to pick up your kit will be sent out after registration ends.
  3. Schedule a day and time to pick up your kit. You will have 10 days to pick up your kit.
  4. Enjoy your kit at home!

If you didn't manage to snap up a kit, you don't need to miss out on all the fun. Check out our spooky music resources and our on-demand spine-tingling story suggestions.

Upcoming sessions

There are no upcoming sessions available.

When you combine a love of animals with an appreciation for good humor, what do you get? A lot of great things to read! For readers who love Elephant and Piggie and Pig the Pug, here is a selection of fiction and nonfiction to keep you laughing.

Llama destroys the world by Jonathan Stutzman
Also available in: video

Eating too much pie causes Llama to rip his dancing pants, opening a black hole and threatening the entire universe. Check out more books by Jonathan Stutzman.

I'm Trying to Love Spiders will help you see these amazing arachnids in a whole new light, from their awesomely excessive eight eyes to the seventy-five pounds of bugs a spider can eat in a single year! Bethany Barton also tackles bees in a humorous and welcoming way.

If you are looking for suggestions for a not-yet-reader who has just begun their reading journey, browse this list for some ideas to get them started. Don't forget to keep reading together to continue building their vocabulary and reading positivity. Take a look at our Early Literacy databases or Part 2 for additional resources.

I can run by Murray Head

The I Like to Read series is a great place to start. Featuring simple storylines and simple sentences, a variety of authors and illustrators and topics give readers an abundance of choice. The newer editions have Guided Reading levels clearly printed on the cover - look for A, B, or C levels for the very easiest reads.

Today I will fly! by Mo Willems

Gerald and Piggie team up to deliver a fun, thoughtful introduction to reading. Entirely made up of dialogue, highly relevant plotlines, and a lot of repetition, the Elephant and Piggie series is delightful to read aloud, and is a fantastic way to keep reading from becoming a chore.

If you enjoy the American Girl Smart Girl's Guide series, you might enjoy these other books about growing up, health and wellness, fun things to do, and inspirational people.

In a world where people spend more time engaging through screens than in real-life interaction, showing basic human kindness can feel like a lost art. Be Kind is a compilation of actionable things kids can do in their daily lives to make the world a kinder place.

Step into your power by Jamia Wilson

A guide for girls instructs them in how to harness their own power to succeed and grow, discussing the importance of community, making good choices, action, and self-care.

Get inspired by the lives of real people whose curiosity and drive led them to become scientists, inventors, makers, and creators.

Dear Benjamin Banneker by Andrea Davis Pinkney
Also available in: e-book

Throughout his life Banneker was troubled that all blacks were not free. And so, in 1791, he wrote to Secretary of State Thomas Jefferson, who had signed the Declaration of Independence. Banneker attacked the institution of slavery and dared to call Jefferson a hypocrite for owning slaves. Jefferson responded. This is the story of Benjamin Banneker--his science, his politics, his morals, and his extraordinary correspondence with Thomas Jefferson. For more on Benjamin Banneker, look up JBIO BANNEKER.

Also available in: e-book | e-audiobook

Patricia Bath made significant contributions to ophthalmology and laser surgery. For more on Patricia Bath, look up JBIO BATH.

 

Looking for a book that will keep you turning pages? This list features unique fiction titles, many with strong female protagonists, for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Taylor Jenkins Reid, Jonathan Safran Foer, and Tara Westover.

Also available in: e-book | audiobook | e-audiobook | large print

For years, rumors of the "Marsh Girl" haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals suspect Kya Clark, the so-called Marsh Girl. But Kya is not what they say. Sensitive and intelligent, she has survived for years alone in the marsh that she calls home, finding friends in the gulls and lessons in the sand. Her interactions with other people, however, leave her open to suspicion.

The vanishing half by Brit Bennett
Also available in: e-book | large print

Weaving together multiple generations, from the Deep South to California, from the 1950s to the 1990s, Brit Bennett produces a story that is both a riveting, emotional family story and a brilliant exploration of the history of passing. The Vanishing Half considers the lasting influence of the past as it shapes a person's decisions, desires, and expectations, and explores the multiple reasons and realms in which people feel pulled to live as something other than their origins.

Dog Reading a Book by Jamie Street on Unsplash.jpg

 

Complete a READ square by reading something, or by doing something to put yourself in a literary frame of mind. So whether you already have a book in mind, or you need a little help getting started, we have some ideas for you.

 

 

Head back to the 62 Days of Summer home page for more ways to participate in the summer program.

A sparkler in Surrey Hills Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty by Jamie Street from Unsplash

 

Complete one READ square by doing one thing to renew your interest in reading or to spice up your reading life.

 

Readers of all ages, interests, and skill levels sometimes have trouble generating enthusiasm to pick up a book. Maybe you are a young reader trying to gain skills, maybe you are a reader who hasn't found a book you truly enjoy yet, or maybe you are normally an avid reader who has lost the ability to concentrate on a story.

 

Regardless of what has caused your reading rut, try a few of these tips to get your reading spark firing again. Even if your reading pace has not flagged, use these tips to bring a fun twist to your reading life.

 

  • Return to a book you love. Familiar stories can be revisited without the same level of energy required to start something new. An old favorite can also bring comfort during a stressful time.

 

  • Explore a different format. Regardless of age or interest, there are picture books and graphic novels available for every level; a visual story might be more engaging. Or dive into an audio book and just embrace the sound of words. 

 

  • Grab a book of poems. Ranging from silly to serious, poems or novels in verse use a more minimalist approach to language that might be appealing.

 

 

 

  • Pair a book with a movie. Read and then watch, and then discuss with a friend or family member. Which did you like better?

 

  • Focus on writing. Try keeping a journal, writing a poem, or writing letters to people you love and miss seeing. Get your brain thinking about words.
Bend in the path through a forest near Marl Lake, Michigan

Pages