Search our Catalog

Meeting Minutes — November 15, 2012

Thursday, November 15, 2012, 7:30 PM

The Chairperson, Don Turner, called the meeting to order at 7:30 pm.

Present: J. Fausone, M. Siegrist, K. Schulz, D. Turner, C. Van Auken
Absent: G. Snow
Also Present: E. Davis, K. Gladden

Call To Audience

(T. Bennett, L. Brock, Y. Brooks, R. Chastang, N. Eggenberger, M. Farell, S. Foster, T. Hartnett, L. Papa, S. Rzetelny, D. Slavens, M. Slavens, N. Szczepanski,)

Approval Of Agenda

The agenda was approved by unanimous consent.

Approval Of General Meeting Minutes

The minutes were approved by unanimous consent.


E. Davis shared a letter received from Jim Seidel, director of the Woodlands Library Cooperative, thanking her for her participation in a recent workshop.

She also shared an invitation received from the Pinckney library for a ceremonial book move to their new building in December.

A situation (detailed in a previous email from Davis to the trustees) regarding an unhappy patron was resolved the previous day. The patron appreciated Davis’ efforts; anything further may be addressed with the next revision of the circulation policy.

This year’s diaper drive donations already surpassed the previous year’s record.

Davis will be a guest deejay on WSDP (the high school radio station) on Friday, November 16 from 4-5:30 PM.

Davis distributed copies of a fundraising letter being mailed to residents later in the week, requesting the trustees feedback.

Director's Report


Committee Reports


Unfinished Business & General Orders


Board Comments

Trustee J. Fausone expressed to the four outgoing Board members his feeling that the work they have done on the Board should not go without comment; he offered his thanks for their years of service, noting that some of those years were not easy years in which to serve.

New Business

Canton Township Clerk Terry Bennett conducted the swearing in ceremony for the six newly-elected trustees: Nancy Eggenberger; Michelle Farell; Jim Fausone and Kim Schulz; Sommer Foster; and Thomas Hartnett.

E. Davis presented the outgoing trustees with framed pen and ink drawings of the library.

Nomination and Election of Interim Officers – J. Fausone moved and K. Schulz supported a motion to elect K. Schulz as Chair, J. Fausone as Vice-Chair, and N. Eggenberger as Secretary/Treasurer for the newly constituted board for the remainder of 2012.

The motion passed unanimously, 12/11-15-1

Call To Audience

No comments


The meeting was adjourned at 7:54 PM.