New Bengali Books

Looking for books in Bengali? We have them. New Bengali books received in 2011 include:

Ādhunika ramaṇīdera ādhunika rānnā by Sādiẏā Rahamāna Munnī

Bandha darajā kholā darajā by Sunīla Gaṅgopādhyāẏa

Karporeṭa bhālobāsā by Śahīdula Haka Khāna

Saṃsiddha: galpagrantha = Sangshiddha = Accomplished by Runu Haka, Śabanama Āmīra, Sāherā Āphajā, Phārajānā Āhmeda, Pheradausa Jesamīna

Book Gems: Fiction

If you missed our Book Gems program last night, you can still take a peek at the titles we highlighted:

Not all tarts are apple by Pip Granger — This charming book set in 1953 London focuses on Rosie, the 7-year-old narrator, and the colorful characters in her Soho neighborhood. Try this if you like cozy British mysteries — especially if you care more about the setting and characters than the mystery itself.

Then she found me by Elinor Lipman — Restrained high school Latin teacher April Epner is dismayed when her extroverted birth mother finds her in this wry, unsentimental comedy of manners. A good choice for readers of Anne Tyler or Elizabeth Berg.

Jayber Crow: a novel by Wendell Berry — After a lonely childhood in an orphanage, Jayber Crow comes to Port William, KY in the 1930’s. A contemplative man, he remains an observer of those around him. This unhurried, lyrical portrayal of a small community rewards the reader with a clear nuanced examination of humanity and faith.

New Gujarati Books

Take a look at the new Gujarati books we've received in 2011. Brand-new titles include:

Motano sāmāna: rahasyakathā by Vrajalāla Hirajī Joshī

Nishadhapati: [aitihāsika navalakathā] by Mohanalāla Cunīlāla Dhāmī

Praśāmmu by Jayanta Gāḍīta

Saunā hr̥dayamāṃ harahammeśa Maheśa-Nareśa: jīvanasambhāraṇānnī śabdayātrā by ālekhaka, Jī. ema. Hirāgara

Śrīmatīnī ḍāyarī by Dāmu Sāṅgāṇī

Books by the Hundreds

Our May We Suggest Facebook page reached triple digits with 100 followers. In honor of this, here's an eclectic list of books which also have a hundred — of something. Join us on Facebook to get awesome suggestions every week.

One hundred names for love: a stroke, a marriage, and the language of healing by Diane Ackerman

The one hundred: a guide to the pieces every stylish woman must own by Nina Garcia; illustrations by Ruben Toledo

One hundred days: my unexpected journey from doctor to patient by David Biro

Secret wars: one hundred years of British intelligence inside MI5 and MI6 by Gordon Thomas

Romances Set in Scotland

With less than two weeks left in the Connect Your Summer program, you may not have time to plan and go on a trip to Scotland. But you can still read a book to earn your Traveler Badge! As an added advantage, reading about the cool, misty Highlands might help you get through the current heat wave.

Highland heat by Mary Wine

Highland master by Amanda Scott

Highland protector by Hannah Howell

Desiring the Highlander by Michele Sinclair

New Hindi Books

We have our 2011 shipment of Hindi books on the shelves and waiting to be checked out. And, remember, you could read one of these books to earn your Multicultural Badge in the Connect Your Summer program! New titles include:

Pages