Catalog

Search our Catalog

daviscrl's Blog

Adults Writing Childrens' Lit Group

The Adults Writing Children's Lit Group will meet on Saturday, November 19th from 2:00-3:00 PM in the Purple Room. If you are interested in writing for children, join us as we share our work, get feedback and discuss the craft of writing.

Adults Writing Children's Lit Group

The Adults Writing Children's Lit Group will meet on Saturday, October 22nd from 2:00-3:00 PM in the Purple Room. If you are interested in writing for children, join us as we share our work, get feedback and discuss the craft of writing.

Adult Writers' Group

Interested in writing fiction, all types of media or genres? Join us on Thursday, October 27th from 6:00-7:00 PM for our Adult Writers' Group. Dave Richards, a library assistant and a freelance writer for the Eisner Award winning website, Comic Book Resources, moderates. Dave has completed an unpublished science fiction mystery novel and is currently writing a horror novel.

Book Gems: Fiction

If you missed our Book Gems program last night, you can still take a peek at the titles we highlighted:

Not all tarts are apple by Pip Granger — This charming book set in 1953 London focuses on Rosie, the 7-year-old narrator, and the colorful characters in her Soho neighborhood. Try this if you like cozy British mysteries — especially if you care more about the setting and characters than the mystery itself.

Then she found me by Elinor Lipman — Restrained high school Latin teacher April Epner is dismayed when her extroverted birth mother finds her in this wry, unsentimental comedy of manners. A good choice for readers of Anne Tyler or Elizabeth Berg.

Book Gems

Join us Thursday, September 29, from 7:00-8:00 PM for Book Gems. Our staff will explore some great hidden-in-plain-sight reads in Canton Public Library's fiction and nonfiction collections. Discover new and interesting titles for your book group or reading stack.

Adult Writers' Group

Interested in writing fiction, all types of media or genres? Join us on Thursday, September 22nd from 6:00-7:00PM for our Adult Writers' Group. Dave Richards, a library assistant and a freelance writer for the Eisner Award winning website, Comic Book Resources, moderates. Dave has completed an unpublished science fiction mystery novel and is currently writing a horror novel.

Adults Writing Children's Lit Group

The Adults Writing Children's Lit Group will meet on Saturday, September 24th from 2:00-3:00PM in the Purple Room. If you are interested in writing for children, join us as we share our work, get feedback and discuss the craft of writing.

New Gujarati Books

Take a look at the new Gujarati books we've received in 2011. Brand-new titles include:

Motano sāmāna: rahasyakathā by Vrajalāla Hirajī Joshī

Nishadhapati: [aitihāsika navalakathā] by Mohanalāla Cunīlāla Dhāmī

Praśāmmu by Jayanta Gāḍīta

Saunā hr̥dayamāṃ harahammeśa Maheśa-Nareśa: jīvanasambhāraṇānnī śabdayātrā by ālekhaka, Jī. ema. Hirāgara

New Chinese Books

We have a wide variety of Chinese books starting to arrive for 2011. Come in and check some out. New titles include:

Bai xing jia chang cai by Jinlong Xia

Xi xia de cang lang by Mo Xue

Zhongguo yan yuan fang tan lu by Yi Lijing zhu

Books by the Hundreds

Our May We Suggest Facebook page reached triple digits with 100 followers. In honor of this, here's an eclectic list of books which also have a hundred — of something. Join us on Facebook to get awesome suggestions every week.

One hundred names for love: a stroke, a marriage, and the language of healing by Diane Ackerman

The one hundred: a guide to the pieces every stylish woman must own by Nina Garcia; illustrations by Ruben Toledo

Romances Set in Scotland

With less than two weeks left in the Connect Your Summer program, you may not have time to plan and go on a trip to Scotland. But you can still read a book to earn your Traveler Badge!

New Hindi Books

We have our 2011 shipment of Hindi books on the shelves and waiting to be checked out. And, remember, you could read one of these books to earn your Multicultural Badge in the Connect Your Summer program! New titles include:

Cool Food in the Summertime

Summer is the perfect time for entertaining. Local produce is plentiful and the sunny skies let us enjoy outside entertaining. Have a party in your backyard and use these books to impress your guests with your amazing culinary skills. And you can earn your Connect Your Summer Foodie Badge while you enjoy!

Icebox cakes: simply irresistible no-bake desserts by Lauren Chattman; photography by Duane Winfield

BBQ 25 by Adam Perry Lang

Adults Writing Children's Lit Group

The Adults Writing Children's Lit Group will meet on Saturday, July 16th from 2:00-3:00PM in the Purple Room. If you are interested in writing for children, join us as we share our work, get feedback and discuss the craft of writing. No registration required.

Adult Writers' Group

Interested in writing fiction, all types of media or genres? Join us on Thursday, July 28th from 6:00-7:00PM for our Adult Writers' Group.
Dave Richards, a library assistant and a freelance writer for the Eisner Award winning website, Comic Book Resources, moderates. Dave has completed an unpublished science fiction mystery novel and is currently writing a horror novel.