Catalog

Search our Catalog

daviscrl's Blog

Jeffrey Zaslow, 1958-2012

Best-selling author and long-time columnist, Jeffrey Zaslow, died on Friday, February 10th from injuries suffered after a car crash in northern Michigan. Internationally known for his humorous and empathetic columns as well as his non-fiction books including The Girls from Ames and The Last Lecture, the West Bloomfield based author was scheduled to appear at Canton Public Library on February 23rd to discuss his most recent book, The Magic Room.

Winter Classic Comes to Michigan

It's official: The Red Wings and Maple Leafs will face-off in Ann Arbor at the Big House in the 2013 Bridgestone Winter Classic on New Year’s Day. Stay connected to receive future updates. Meanwhile, continue cheering the Wings on as they move forward in their quest to beat the NHL record of 20 straight home game victories. Don't forget that the library has loads of books and dvds on the Red Wings, and even a couple on the Leafs.

Forever Hockeytown!: how the 2008 Red Wings reclaimed the Stanley Cup by editor, Mark Francescutti

New Orleans

Mardi Gras falls on Tuesday, February 21, 2012 and the crowds will be gathering in New Orleans for the festivities. Whether you're planning on joining them, or thinking about a trip to The Big Easy later in the year, we have books to help you Laissez les bons temps rouler.

Orleans embrace: with the secret gardens of the Vieux Carre by TJ Fisher, Roy F. Guste, Jr.

Eyewitness travel top 10 New Orleans by Paul Greenberg

Adult Writers' Group

Interested in writing? Join other adults to share your work, get feedback and discuss the craft of writing. We will meet on March 24 at 2:00 PM.

Romances On Order

These new romances are on order and will be coming in soon. Get your name on the hold list now.

Run from Fear by Alden, Jami

Darkness Bound by Cameron, Stella

I Want Candy by Donovan, Susan

Adult Writers' Group

Interested in writing? Join other adults to share your work, get feedback and discuss the craft of writing. We will meet on Saturday, February 25 from 2:00-3:00 PM in the Purple Room.

Finding International Language Books

If you don't find what you're looking for in CPL's International Language Collection, use this handy list to check out what other area libraries have.

International language books can also be found on MeLCat. This system lets CPL cardholders search for books all over Michigan and have them delivered right to the Checkout Desk.

If you want more details, give us a call or stop by the Help Desk.

Writers' Group

Interested in writing? Join other adults to share your work, get feedback and discuss the craft of writing. We will meet on Saturday, January 28 from 2:00-3:00 PM in the Purple Room.

Holiday Readings

Take a delightful holiday romance, a creamy glass of eggnog, and one crackling fire (roasting chestnuts optional). Settle down into a comfy chair and you have the recipe for a perfect snowy evening.

Holly Lane: a destiny novel by Toni Blake

A Texas Christmas by Jody Thomas ... [et. al.]

New Japanese Books

Come in and take a look at the great new Japanese books we've added to the collection in 2011. Recently received titles include:

Inemuri sensei by Ijūin Shizuka

Idai naru shurarabon by Makime Manabu

Banbatsuki by Miyabe Miyuki

Sanpi ryōron kasahara masahiro no gohan no tomo 110: Kantansugiru umasugiru by Kasahara Masahiro

New Books in Kannada

Our 2011 books in Kannada are on the shelf and waiting to be checked out. Titles include:

Citādanta : [rōcaka kādambari] by Ke. En. Gaṇēśayya

Ivarellarū Bhārata ratna ru by Ji. Eṃ. Kr̥ṣṇamūrti

Kathā samaya : purāṇa jagattina beragina kathegaḷu by Jōgi

Nēhala : kathegaḷu by Ke. En. Gaṇēśayya

Book Gems: Nonfiction

On September 29, the librarians of CPL presented the hidden 'gems' in the stacks; books you might never have heard of but that you won't want to miss. In the video below, Lisa tells us about several good nonfiction titles:

Did you miss the program the first time around? Did we miss some hidden gems? Tell us if you'd like us to do this program again in the comments. Also, enjoy the full list of nonfiction books below:

Devil in the details: scenes from an obsessive girlhood by Jennifer Traig — As a teenager in California during the eighties, Traig's obsessive compulsive disorder made her disinfect everything around her. She looks back with an unflinching eye — sharing even the most painful details — but she does it with humor and compassion. If you like memoirs/essays of David Sedaris or Augusten Burroughs, or Rhoda Janzen’s Mennonite in a little black dress this is for you.


Truck: a love story
by Michael Perry — In this delightful memoir Michael Perry describes a year of his life in rural Wisconsin with the understated writing style typical of a northerner. The truck in the title is a decrepit 1951 L-120 International pickup and its history and repairs are woven in to Perry’s life as he muses on a variety of topics including: growing vegetables, writing, and falling in love. For readers of Garrison Keillor’s books or Barbara Kingsolver’s Animal, Vegetable, Miracle.

New Bengali Books

Looking for books in Bengali? We have them. New Bengali books received in 2011 include:

Ādhunika ramaṇīdera ādhunika rānnā by Sādiẏā Rahamāna Munnī

Bandha darajā kholā darajā by Sunīla Gaṅgopādhyāẏa

Karporeṭa bhālobāsā by Śahīdula Haka Khāna

Saṃsiddha: galpagrantha = Sangshiddha = Accomplished by Runu Haka, Śabanama Āmīra, Sāherā Āphajā, Phārajānā Āhmeda, Pheradausa Jesamīna

Adult Writers' Group

Interested in writing fiction, all types of media or genres? Join us on Thursday, November 17th from 6:00-7:00 PM for our Adult Writers' Group. Dave Richards, a library assistant and a freelance writer for the Eisner Award winning website, Comic Book Resources, moderates. Dave has completed an unpublished science fiction mystery novel and is currently writing a horror novel.