Catalog

Search our Catalog
May We Suggest? This post contains recommendations from a CPL librarian. To get your own customized recommendation, just fill out the May We Suggest form — you can expect results within 10 days. All suggestions can be found on the May We Suggest blog or by liking May We Suggest on facebook.

Book Gems: Fiction

If you missed our Book Gems program last night, you can still take a peek at the titles we highlighted:

Not all tarts are apple by Pip Granger — This charming book set in 1953 London focuses on Rosie, the 7-year-old narrator, and the colorful characters in her Soho neighborhood. Try this if you like cozy British mysteries — especially if you care more about the setting and characters than the mystery itself.

Then she found me by Elinor Lipman — Restrained high school Latin teacher April Epner is dismayed when her extroverted birth mother finds her in this wry, unsentimental comedy of manners. A good choice for readers of Anne Tyler or Elizabeth Berg.

Jayber Crow: a novel by Wendell Berry — After a lonely childhood in an orphanage, Jayber Crow comes to Port William, KY in the 1930’s. A contemplative man, he remains an observer of those around him. This unhurried, lyrical portrayal of a small community rewards the reader with a clear nuanced examination of humanity and faith.

Dancing at the Rascal Fair by Ivan Doig — Angus McCaskill leaves Scotland in 1889 with his friend Rob Barclay for a new life in Montana. A saga of the Old West with all the lush description of a big, rugged country. If you like Larry McMurtry or Cormac McCarthy, try this.