Catalog

Search our Catalog

cpl_admin's Blog

The Golden Compass

http://movies.yahoo.com/feature/thegoldencompass.html

Fans of The Chronicles of Narnia, Harry Potter, and the Lord of the Rings are getting excited about this winter's movie version of Philip Pullman's fantasy novel The Golden Compass. Check out the brand new trailer online. Read or listen before the movie is released in theatres December 7, 2007.

a fun video for little ones (and their parents)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yihq8BIhL9c

Thanks to the Canton parent who directed me to this video (her son is a big fan)!

Biography Resource Center

/database/#bio

Want to write a favorite author, find out works they've written, wondered what they look like or just want to find magazine articles about them? You can do all this and more in Biography Resource Center (BioRC) on our database page. BioRC is a comprehensive biographical database on over 340, 000 people from thoughout history, around the world and covers all disciplines and subject areas. What a great resource for students with those biography assignments! Access here in the library or remotely using your orange Canton Public Library card and get inspired.

Contest Aims to Improve American Students' Math and Science Skills

The Global Challenge's primary motivation is to prepare young people for the challenges of the 21st century by helping them build skills in disciplines necessary to succeed in a more complex, technologically-advanced world. During the school year, 58 teams of American students partnered with students from China, India and Japan to tackle technological solutions to global warming. Winners will be selected in June and will be award scholarship money. Pre-registration is open for this fall, so go to the Global Challenge website at http://www.globalchallengeaward.org/ to learn more.

Ikea Hacker

http://ikeahacker.blogspot.com/

Have you walked through our local Ikea store and wondered how to make their pieces work for you? Check out Ikea Hacker, a site devoted to repurposing Ikea products to suit your own specific needs. Perhaps you'd like to create custom built-in shelving from a basic bookshelf, or organize your home computer table to minimize clutter.

Database Culture Grams

This is the week I am assigned to blog about the database "Culture Grams". Culture Grams helps you take each country and culture on its own terms and appreciate it for the gifts it brings to the world table. There are reports on 175 countries and 50 states. One can find out about the religions, arts, traditions, peoples and languages of different countries and cultures. Major features also include information about famous people, photo gallery and also a recipe collection. It is a really neat database which would be of interest to a wide range of patrons - from the high school student who has to do a country report to the family going on a trip to a remote island off the coast of Africa. So do check it out.

Boys and Reading

Today's Detroit Free Press has an interesting article about how Plymouth-Canton schools are making changes in the way boys are taught to help them succeed in school. Boys Can Make the Grade, If They're Not Bored. The article cites the book Helping Boys Succeed in School by Richard Weinfeld for some tips to get your son interested in reading. You can also ask a librarian here at the Canton Public Library to suggest some titles that are popular with boys or visit the Children's Reading Page on the library's Internet Branch to get ideas.

Graphic Novels The Cure for The Summer TV Doldrums

Spring has arrived which means many of the best TV shows will be gone till fall. Many people will be looking for new stories to keep from dwelling on the cliff hanger endings of their favorite shows. So to help my fellow tv addicts cope with their summer withdrawls here's a list of some graphic novels that you may enjoy. Fan of Lost? Try some of the works of Brian K Vaughan. Brian K Vaughan is a comic book writer who has been nominated for multiple Eisner Awards (the highest honors in comic book world) and he recently joined the writing staff of Lost. One of Vaughan's most celebrated works is "Y the Last Man" a series that follows the exploits of Yorrick Brown and his pet monkey Ampersand.

Relay for Life

http://www.kintera.org/faf/home/default.asp?ievent=206012

Relay for Life is this weekend at Heritage Park so expect a lot of traffic around the Canton Public Library. Parking spots will be at a premium, especially on Saturday. For more information about the weekend's events, click here. The Friends of the Canton Public Library will be hosting a paperback sale with all proceeds going to the American Cancer Society during Relay for Life. Look for their tent shared with the Canton Chamber of Commerce and stock up on summer reading.

Meeting Minutes -- May 17, 2007

May 17, 2007
7:30 p.m.

The meeting was called to order by the Chairman, James Fausone, at 7:30 p.m. 

Present: J. Fausone, G. Snow, C. Van Auken, C. Young

Absent: J. Gillig, N. Williams

Also Present:  J. Tabor

What's a Spotted Peccary?

The reference here is to an especially good New Age music label, whose performers and performances go well beyond the Doonesbury-initiated tag of "air pudding" to describe the overall genre. Many of the SP recordings are sweeping, almost symphonic in nature. You'll find a few in the library's collection. Try author searches for Greg Klamt, David Helpling, Deborah Martin, John Flomer and Mark Rownd. Visit the Spotted Peccary website (http://www.spottedpeccary.com/) for information about its performers and their latest releases. (BTW, a Peccary is a pig-like mammal found in the southwestern U.S., plus Central and South America.)

do you Flickr?

http://www.flickr.com/photos/cantonpubliclibrary/

Have you used Flickr yet? It's a free site that lets you upload your photos and share them with your friends. CPL now has its own Flickr account where you can see photos of many aspects of the library. Did you know that we have a robin nesting outside? Have you ever looked at the Teen Place ceiling? Check out those photos - more are being added every week.

International Language Magazines

The Canton Public Library collects books in 21 languages in the Adult Department and now every one of those languages has at least one magazine and/or newspaper. If you read (or would like to learn) a language other than english, take a look!