Catalog

Search our Catalog

madame librarian's Blog

Shamus Award Nominees Announced

The Private Eye Writers of America announced the nominees for the 28th. Annual Shamus Awards on Friday. Eleven of the fifteen novels nominated are available at our library. Which book(s) do you choose for the three categories: Best Hardcover, Best First PI Novel, and Best Paperbook?

To Be Read

I recently 'stumbled' upon Goodreads and added it to my list of websites for TBR [To Be Read] suggestions. Of course, that's the whole idea of this blog, so when a request for historical mysteries writers came up, these authors immediately came to mind: Alys Clare, Peter Tremayne, Margaret Frazer, Ariana Franklin, and Alan Gordon.

Fifth Annual Western Wayne County Senior Olympics

Men and women, 50 years and older, will compete in the Western Wayne Senior Olympics August 17 through August 21, 2009. A complete schedule of events is available at Canton Seniors Leisure Services.

Kay Scarpetta On Film

Patricia Cornwell's Kay Scarpetta mystery series is coming to the big screen. None other than Angelina Jolie will play Ms. Scarpetta. Producers Mark Gordon and Geyer Kosinski are hoping for a franchise out of Ms. Cornwell's books, though none of the films will necessarily follow the plotline of any particular tome. According to Variety,

This film won't be tied to a specific Cornwell mystery title. Much the way that Jason Bourne morphed into an action hero in plots not rigidly locked into the Robert Ludlum book series, the opera-loving coroner Scarpetta will be the lead in a suspense thriller in the vein of "The Silence of the Lambs" and "Seven."

Third Strike

William G. Tapply, author of the Boston lawyer-turned crime-solver Brady Coyne mystery series, died of leukemia Tuesday, July 28 at his Hancock, NH home. He was 69. He was known also for his collected essays, a book about his father, and his articles and columns in "Field & Stream" and other magazines. Mr. Tapply had also introduced a new series featuring Stoney Calhoun in 2004. The third book in this series will be published posthumously, this fall.

In the Shadow of Gotham

In the Shadow of Gotham, Stefanie Pintoff's debut, won the first Minotaur Books/MWA Best First Crime Novel award. It's the Twentieth Century and crime detection has begun to take advantage of the new sciences available: fingerprints, profiling. Detective Simon Ziele has moved to Dobson, a small town in New York's Westchester county, a train-ride from New York City, following the tragic death of his fiance in the wreck of the steamship General Slocum in 1904. Ziele had been one of the NYC detectives called to scene to rescue survivors, but he was unable to save Rachel, his fiance.

Growing Bolder as You Grow Older

Catch the podcast about 89 year old Rachel Veitch on Growing Bolder and her 1964 Mercury Caliente. She's the original owner, she's put over 550,000 miles on it traveling around the country, and as she points out, her car has lasted longer than her 3 marriages. Rachel puts a lot of TLC into the car: tune-ups on schedule and purchasing parts with life-time warranties. She's replaced 6 car batteries over the past 35 years at no cost. (Image: Google Images)

Canton Senior Book Discussion 2009 - November 18

The Art of Mending by Elizabeth Berg. Laura Bartone anticipates her annual family reunion in Minnesota with a mixture of excitement and wariness. Yet this year’s gathering will prove to be much more trying than either she or her siblings imagined. As soon as she arrives, Laura realizes that something is not right with her sister. Forever wrapped up in events of long ago, Caroline is the family’s restless black sheep. When Caroline confronts Laura and their brother, Steve, with devastating allegations about their mother, the three have a difficult time reconciling their varying experiences in the same house. But a sudden misfortune will lead them all to face the past, their own culpability, and their common need for love and forgiveness.

Canton Seniors Book Discussion - September 23, 2009

March by Geraldine Brooks. From Louisa May Alcotts beloved classic Little Women, Geraldine Brooks has taken the character of the absent father, March, who has gone off to war, leaving his wife and daughters to make do in mean times. In her telling, March emerges as an idealistic chaplain in the little known backwaters of a war that will test his faith in himself and in the Union cause as he learns that his side, too, is capable of acts of barbarism and racism. As he recovers from a near mortal illness, he must reassemble his shattered mind and body and find a way to reconnect with a wife and daughters who have no idea of the ordeals he has been through. Pulitzer Prize Winner for Fiction (2006). Beginning August 26, you can pick up a copy of MARCH at the Adult Reference Desk.

Canton Seniors Book Discussion - October 18, 2009

Blink: The Power of Thinking Without Thinking by Malcolm Gladwell. In this best-seller, Malcolm Gladwell, a staff writer for The New Yorker, weighs the factors that determine good decision-making. Drawing on recent cognitive research, Gladwell concludes that those who quickly filter out extraneous information generally make better decisions than those who discount their first impressions.

Best of the National Book [Fiction] Awards 1950 - 2008

To celebrate the 60th year of the National Book Awards, the National Book Foundation will present a book-a-day blog on the Fiction winners from 1950 to 2008.Then, on September 21st, you will have a chance to select The Best of the National Book Awards Fiction and win two tickets to the 2009 National Book Awards by visiting the Foundation’s web site at www.nationalbook.org for the first time in its history the Awards will open to a public vote.

Older Adults: Help With Medicare Part B Available

If you, or someone you know, are having difficulty paying for prescriptions or Medicare Part B, trained MMAP Counselors are available to walk you through the application process step by step. By calling 1-800-803-7174, individuals will be routed to their local MMAP office. An additional service MMAP Counselors can offer is to explain the available Medicare Part D Prescription plans so that the consumer can make an educated decision on which plan will work best for them.

National Ice Cream Month

I scream, you scream, we all scream for ice cream!  In case you missed National Ice Cream Day (July 19), don't  fear, the whole month of July is National Ice Cream Month!  So thank President Reagan for designating this month to a fun and nutritious food enjoyed by over 90% of the nation's population when you dig into that bowl of vanilla ice cream, the nation's favorite flavor.  To learn more about the history of ice cream read Marilyn Powell's Ice Cream: A History or make your own ice cream.  

Crime Writers Association Announces Winners

Colin Cotterill has won the Crime Writers Association's Dagger in the Library award. This annual award is given to "the author of crime fiction whose work is currently giving the greatest enjoyment to library users"; authors are nominated by United Kingdom libraries and Readers’ Groups and judged by a panel of librarians. In making the award to Colin, the judges said 'An unusual hero in an unusual setting. Quirky, funny and very appealing. His books are a truly beautiful read.' Dr.

What Do You Want from Your Career?

"Determining What You Want From Your Career" is one of the many job resources available in the LearningExpress Library database. With completion of the questionnaire, you will learn more about yourself and the work environment you want. Once you know this information, you will be able to focus your job-search efforts better. As a result, you will save considerable time and energy because you will apply only for jobs that you are qualified to fill, that you are interested in, that you will be happy pursuing, and that will help you achieve your goals.